Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enough is enough? Dublin north inner city crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,435 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

CCTV isn't the silver bullet people seem to think it is, unless their face is visible and a Garda knows them it's useless. All you have is a video of a lad getting a kicking.

Especially in the city centre, it could be lads from anywhere in the city so you're relying on Gardai from somewhere else in the city that knows them seeing the CCTV. The issues in the city centre aren't just from locals, again as people seem to think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,751 ✭✭✭saabsaab

True. Yet you still quite a few here on boards saying that it's not that bad, never felt unsafe. Even worse some blame those frightened or attacked saying they shoud be more street smart/tougher or some such. Didn't an Olympic kickboxer get attacked!

There is no rehabilitating one of the Anto's with 100+ convictions. They're a lost cause.

And why does someone who had caused brain damage to an innocent tourist visiting our country deserve rehabilitation? That poor man won't every be rehabilitated, his life is ruined.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

If there were 100 extra gardai in the streets, it acts as a deterrent, more uniform presence, less crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

Naive. Any extra guards on the street would just be attacked by these thugs. Remember last year thugs attacked two guards on East Wall beat them to a pulp. The issue is the Guards have to follow woke nonsense guidelines meaning the criminals have no respect or fear of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,596 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

One man's Botticelli is another man's Hieronymus Bosch my good man!

Some people spend a lot of time in Dublin City centre and don't find it dangerous, have never been assaulted, touched, harmed or injured.

Some people visit once and are terrified, have many close shaves, almost lose their lives on a few occasions, come to within a millimetre of receiving life long injuries, manage to make it out unscathed and write about their experiences on boards.ie

But we're all in agreement. Dublin needs to invest in itself, massive massive cash injection, metro Gardai, Metro North and more civic amenities.

The Garda car that drive into cherry orchard and got turned into a pinball would disagree with you there.

The scum of Dublin have no respect for the Gards, because if they get caught committing any crimes they see absolutely zero punishment.

Out you go Anto you little scamp, that's 100 times you've been convicted now but sure head on out into town, hop on the Luas without paying a fare, collect your dole, and we'll see you back here in the Four Courts again next week for conviction number 101.

CCTV isn’t much use if there’s nothing being done with the footage either. It’s just a camera on a pole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,352 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Sure if the gardai do their job they get penalised by GSOC.

Look at the Garda getting sanctioned for the flambéd trio of scrotes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

The political class and their families will never be victim to this, so they don't care and never will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,031 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Problem is the gangs there days are going to shoot people who do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭DownByTheGarden

I had some relatives over from the US a few months ago. Brought them into the city center. They liked Grafton street and Guinnesses.

Not so much the walking dead, Henry street, O'Connell street or an street off it. We saw some shocking sights around where that day.

Then getting the dart home about 8pm left O'Connell street. The place has a feel of manace about it and not a cop to be seen. Scumbags going around looking for money off people. A beggar outside every shop and beside every cash machine. Young wans shouting and screaming at each other.

Dont think they'll be recommending Dublin to anyone when they go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

You are basically proving my point.

The minister for justice is not responsible for every crime that happens in the state.

People get mugged, it is ugly, but not as ugly as people making it a political issue for their own political agenda.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Not one bit naive, what are you talking about?

Yes Gardai get assaulted everyday unfortunately, that has nothing to do with their presence being a deterrent, which it is to many.

Go and flip off with your guards have to follow woke nonsense. Gardai follow the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

She talks a good game but Helen McEntee has no plan to sort this, nor does SF. I'm around Connolly Station every day and the sheer amount of little skanger cnuts strutting around causing trouble with impunity is absolutely scandalous. The way we have left our capital city to fall to this should be a source of shame to everybody in this country.

I hope the man - a tourist and a welcome guest in our country - makes a swift recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

It's not just a north city centre Dublin problem, Cork and Galway have also gotten worse for anti social behaviour in the city centre since covid as well. Soft sentences from the judiciary and lack of garda resources are a serious issue. According to Drew Harris when he was speaking to the retail traders in Cork, it won't be getting better any time soon, because the guards are struggling to hire new recruits.

In Cork there seems to be a mixture of local and Dublin junkies on the streets. I've actually renamed the Cork to Dublin train the junkie express at this stage! Funnily enough any time i encountered a junkie in Galway, they always spoke with a Dublin accent.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

that would be unviable due to cost and they would still just travel to cause the trouble.

not to mention that would effectively be cleansing and creating the same ghettoisation of the past that didn't work ultimately.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭mikethecop

its very worrying that the minster for justice is so detached from reality and the situation that is her main responsibility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭TedBundysDriver

How? You can't force someone to sell up and move out of their home.

Amnesty International’s new investigation shows that Israel imposes a system of oppression and domination against Palestinians across all areas under its control: in Israel and the OPT, and against Palestinian refugees, in order to benefit Jewish Israelis. This amounts to apartheid as prohibited in international law.

the reality is probably most of us do not want local government/local democracy/local accountability as it means us paying out more money.

as well as that, you only need to look at the UK to know local government isn't all that it is cracked up to be, and chances are, that is the model we would follow.

no point in a small country like ourselves having multiple layers of government to be honest.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Certainly not naïve, it's a numbers game. A group of scumbags may try it on with 1 or 2 guards but if a van load of public order cops arrive it generally quietens them.. not always.

If they do then kick off at least they will be dealt with appropriately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,596 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Lol. Dublin addicts barely move out of their postal code, they always stay in their comfort zone & where there's support and services. Addicts from the rest of the country go to where the pickings are rich, where there's support and services. Dublin.

Good story though.

all that would do is move problems elsewhere, costing me more money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭TedBundysDriver

Plenty of my neighbours have bought their former council homes, the majority are salt of the earth decent folk but yeah some are wasters who I'd love to see gone. How do you hope to see these people thrown out on the street? Tell me go on...

Amnesty International’s new investigation shows that Israel imposes a system of oppression and domination against Palestinians across all areas under its control: in Israel and the OPT, and against Palestinian refugees, in order to benefit Jewish Israelis. This amounts to apartheid as prohibited in international law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭rogber

All those Antos should be sterilised so their genes are at least not passed on. Total waste of space, contribute nothing, parasites on society

We are not that small. Completely comparable to Denmark and so on. Ireland inherited its shite system of local government from the UK and made it even worse. It’s not a benchmark by any means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Dublin addicts regularly travel to Cork, Galway and other places on the train or bus on the free travel pass. Anyone who lives in these places would agree with me, but there seems to be little point in conversing with you any further. You seem to happy enough in your own little bubble!

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,292 ✭✭✭✭briany

I remember once, about 10 years ago, there was an AH thread about the scumbags who came out to Portmarnock beach during the heatwave that Summer and caused what was described as a riot. The indignation over it got to the point where people were suggesting some sort of forced sterilisation programme for this class of people. Even now, in the wake of this particular outrage, you might get people saying that's a worthy idea. I would say it's very easy to get whipped up into hysteria.

Yes, what happened to that tourist is an utter travesty. Yes, there needs to be better policing. Yes, there needs to be tougher sentencing for anyone caught committing serious crimes. No, Dublin is not Baghdad. It is not a 'no-go area'. Despite subjective claims that it is a terrible, terrible place, millions of tourists will come to the city, stay and have a good time without incident. That doesn't really generate headlines, though, and it's a fact which gets in the way of a good old mob mentality.

Unfortunately, these kinds of incidents happen and are certainly not unique to Dublin.

Google "tourist beaten in [large city]' and chances are you will find a recent enough example. Maybe Western cities are just no-go areas in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭mikethecop

this is totally untrue , I personally know at least 12 gardai with 5 or more years service and many many more considering their options . it as previously almost unheard of for some one to abandon a career like that , younger members have increasingly walked when they finally realized how bad the justice situation really is .

If you want to attract competent candidates for the gardai you have to provide a liveable work environment which the government or upper garda management most certainly have not .

After years of gardai warning that the situation is spiraling out of control people have the gaul to show surprise when they look around and notice that its out of control out there