Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Diarmuid B

That was a harrowing watch. Scandalous to think the department oversees all of this (approving companies for transport etc etc and not doing on spot checks while they’re in transit) and how in the name of god there isn’t 10+ department officials at the calf marts in gortatlea/castle island to name a few when they know there’s a couple of thousand calves coming through daily in the spring. Tough for every one of us here that take pride in our animals and do everything we can to keep them alive at birth to see how they’re treated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭sonnybill

Hard to watch alright. Embarrassing also .. we didn’t see it coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Whole premise of the show was worthless dairy bull calves, yet the truck they followed had mostly Angus. Which passed off without comment. Didn't fit the agenda I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Silly question but what percentage of calves exported are non freisan? I thought the majority were freisan, but when they looked in the lorry they all seemed AA's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭DrPsychia

I often wonder how inspections take place in marts. As much time as I've spent in marts and abatoirs around the country I've never seen a department inspector. Do they rock up with a high viz and make themselves known so everyone is on good behaviour? I presume it's probably like how every other inspection in this country is done, from education, to hospitality, to healthcare, Advanced notice is given by inspectors so everything can be in decent order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

I think it would be fair to say a lot saw it coming over the past few years, it's been spoken about on a number of occasions here. Positive changes are happening but won't happen overnight and will add significant costs to those who became accustomed to dumping those calves at the first opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭farmertipp

it's only right and proper that all animals should be treated properly.

it can't be good for people mentally to just throw away calves for nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,852 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Department office in our local mart. I'm not there often but would see an official there most times. Only a small mart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭green daries

Stop talking shite about something you obviously know f all about like a good lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭50HX

The scheme that's coming is a quota imo

It will be wearing a different mask but it will be a quota in one form or another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,765 ✭✭✭straight

See they said 20% of fish kills were caused by agriculture. Fair going I thought for 80% of fish kills not to be caused by agriculture considering the huge land area.

Can't catch a calf by ear or tail. Ha - Good luck with that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,418 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Didn’t think there was anything in the program that hasn’t been flagged on here or in the media in recent years.

It’s terrible PR for dairy. That’s a given. But Fran, for all his sad eyes and slow violin music, didn’t produce a smoking gun.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

It sounds to me you grew up on a farm buts that’s about as much as you know

I’ve siblings and cousins who I would class in the same group as you.

They know a bit and claim to know alot more till they open there mouth

There was some bad behaviour throwing calves and the like but jeez they could have done a bit of research into their subject. There was so much inaccurate information reported as fact.

Whenever I hear such lies I wonder are the "exposés" on other stuff just as inaccurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,874 ✭✭✭893bet

If that’s the worst footage they had……:The had to show the old French footage multiple times to try add some drama.

Ah but the water trough was too high for the calves. And it wasn't like. One calf even had a lie down in Kanturk mart. Sure god help us. I'd like to see Fran's expenses receipts from his and his crews french/Spanish holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭farmertipp

wonder how he's perceived around Longford? George Lee seems very quiet lately? for a man that judiciously went after pat Smith for being paid too much and done hatchet job on ifa over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

B0A83BC7-7E7E-415F-8341-6BCB7FFB7ADB.png

this is the reality of rearing calves to weaning and selling.

A pure loss making operation, that’s why dairy farmers don’t do it. The only hope you have would be to bring them all the way to finish

Majority of dairy farmers have no interest in that unless they have the spare sheds, land and labour available and more often than not it’s down to land available

dairy is way more profitable and creates a viable full time job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

The water trough looked fine to me, the worst footage was from new Zealand like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Not AA but AAX

(the X being a modern freisean/Holstein)

There's a big difference.

Easy calving small Angus bulls are the go to for first timers in the dairy herd.

The resulting difference between a traditional butty Angus calf or continental cross and the some/many modern dairy AAX's is stark.

A good long muscular Angus/Hereford bull crossed with a square tall traditional British freisean made a grand calf in general. It's continuously getting harder to find such calves these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,874 ✭✭✭893bet

I lolled at the calf lying down. Made sound like he was falling down due to over crowding when he was really doing a very careful sit down that you see calves doing. Seen another stressed calf chewing the cud.

A little selected editing. I genuinely thought the footage they had would be a lot worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,697 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Can't catch a calf by ear or tail. Ha - Good luck with that.

In the past 41 years I've bought and reared several thousands of dairy/ dairy x beef calves and I've never caught any of them by the ear or tail. Ye need to have patience handling young calves and if you don't then unfortunately the calves are going to be handled inappropriately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,520 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It's probably not loss making it just lower profitability. It's immaterial anyway as of next year calves will have to be kept until they are of a saleable value. Board bia is putting a maximum of 4% mortality on dairy farms

Within 2-3 years calves will have to be held to at least 4-6 weeks of age. If it's unprofitable to rear calves then it up to dairy farmers to sort it.

Shipping will probably be gone within 3 years as well

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,938 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

+1 on the above. If you took the older French lairage footage and the New Zealand Bobby calf footage out of it then there isn't much to be seen that isn't the inside of a mart or the outside of a lorry. Granted there was a few lad's that could do with staying away from handling calves but there wasn't much harrowing viewing imo.

Did anyone inform Fran and Co that calves die from time to time on Irish soil. The 2 dead calves at the veal unit at the end were there for a few weeks prior to there demise and you'll have losses with livestock under the best of conditions as we all know. I suppose I'll be accused of making excuses and what not but of all the heinous things that happen to man and beast worldwide on a daily basis I don't think any of what they documented would make the top 10,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭lmk123

I h

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

When you look at it ,it comes down to calf handling training and facilities .I ll hold up my hand and say I did not know it was illegal to move a calf by the tail but many of the problems are created by poor design of facilities in marts and a poor understanding of handling calves.you would have to ask questions as to wether its appropriate to trade calves that ultimately end up being exported through the mart.the amount of time and extra handling added to the system cannot be afforded given the overall distance that has to be travelled. I didn't like the way it was portrayed that assembly point s were somehow shady when it offers massive animal welfare improvements over going through the ring.every thing should be done to streamline and improve the process and I think the dairy industry should embrace any changes that positively improve ca.lf welfare.just one thing that struck me is the quote that the Netherlands exports 90 % of its veal and I don't understand why it can't be done here to so e extent.one last thing is I cant understand how any calves survive if the practices shown are wide spread because if they were subjected to that management on farms they all be dead .bottom line everyone involved must work to improve the welfare of the calves that are exported

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

The thing that Fran didn’t state when he was on about the temperature in France was the trailers all have fans on them and nipple water drinkers and are all inspected to be used as livestock transportation, the Hynes come out of looking bad that she didn’t know what was happening when they sold their calves, they must be related to someone in Rte. the marts using the sticks have no one to blame only themselves, also no input by IFA the main farming body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭DBK1

I thought it would have been a lot worse with all the “build up” to it over the weekend.

Yes there’s definitely a few men that need reprimanding in it but you can be sure they didn’t just spend 10 minutes recording the footage. There was probably hours of footage from various different marts, and if them few short clips were the worst of what they found it hardly justified a trip to France and Spain for Fran and his team at the expense of the tax payer.

Record enough of hours of footage in any workplace dealing in the care of animals or people and I’m sure there’ll be incidents that shouldn’t happen but do.

It’s a bit strange to be making the assembly points and lairages out to be some sort of dirty secret. If anything the way to improve the transport situation is to have more lairages so the lorry’s can pull in and let the calves out for an hour along the way.

Showing a calf lying down chewing his cud in a straw bedded pen in a mart is great to see if you ask me, that pen of calves were under very minimal stress.