Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour de France 2023 ***spoilers*** Warning in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,845 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Looks like the peleton are happy for 3 to be away, hard to see them being given enough time and having the strength to go all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,845 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Pog will surely just stay in vgg wheel and not allow him anymore time, he must feel that he has the measure of vgg on the big hills

Its up to jumbo to try and put more time into the lead maybe with a strong pace at the front for the last 70/80km and also for bora to try something but nobodybhas put anyone up the road so every chance of a bunch finish and gc strolling over the line or minimal time gained / lost in the last 3k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,569 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

It's very unusual to see Tim DeClercq in a breakaway... normally he's the person leading the peloton trying to chase them down. I wonder will he do all the work at the front of the breakaway 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭arsebiscuits82

Cav gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭nc6000

Carlton is very sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,339 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

You would think someone is after running over their dogs !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭nc6000

I'm expecting a minutes silence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭De Bhál

Ah that's shite for him. Crap way to finish, not even a sprint crash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,339 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

You would feel sorry for him. He seemed a much less unlikeable fellow in later years

When you look at the camera angle from the motorcycle at the head of the peleton looking back, Vingegaard looks like a 14yr old boy surrounded by adult men.

Carlton needs a stiff whiskey

Thanks everyone for providing an interesting and entertaining thread helping me and others keep up-to-date with the goings-on Tour de France.

Is there an app or website. I could download/go to keep up-to-date with what is going on during the race and possibly hear the commentary? I was hoping to have my broadband installed and ready to go today, but after the third time Eir still haven't managed to put in a phone line, so I'm stuck using a crappy 5G connection which gives me a whole 3 Mb per second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

I'm very disappointed for Cavendish; will miss him in these stages between mountains. And there was more than a slim chance of a stage victory. All gone. Retirement beckons.

Meanwhile, though it is a sad moment, I switched on GCN and I thought I was getting commentary from the Queen's funeral....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,081 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Except when he is berating his mechanics. Still sorry to see him go out like that and does take something from the race. The whole will he or won't he was engaging all the same.

I don't think you are going to get commentary for free but Pro Cycling Stats is decent enough for live updates. Also the official site is ok too and if you join the TDF Club for free you can also get live race radio for the whole race although not much of it will be in english.

If I remember correctly from the commentary the day before yesterday, isn't there a British rider in the race who raised money to compete by flipping second-hand watches on eBay if I remember correctly, he was wearing a pink jersey number 40 something?

I hope he is doing well.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,081 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I think you may have gotten your wires crossed as riders are entered by way of being chosen to participate for their team and the team will be paying for everything. Maybe it was a charity thing? Also of note you won't find anyone with a number ending in zero in the race as all teams start at 1. E.g. last years winner will be number 1 and his team mates 2, 3, 4, 5 etc. The next team, UAE in this case, will start at 11 and in true sporting superstition they skip 13 although thankfully they don't tie black cats to the back wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

He's on about James Shaw from EF I think. He used to buy and sell watches to make a living before signing for EF I think.

Thanks for the clarification. Perhaps the commentator was talking about the rider before he became a professional sponsored by a team and thus had to finance his own expenses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke

Terrible to see Cavendish go out this way. He definitely had a chance to get 1 stage and it's a story line which has now been removed from the race. Granted the GCN guys well overdid it with him and it will leave more space for them to talk about others, but it's not every year that you get someone challenging a Merkx record.

I didn't want to see him get the record, as I think that Merck deserves to remain at the top and I like sprinters less than all other types of riders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,841 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Gutted for Cav

With Cav gone we can look to Bini to provide the story when it comes to sprints. In some ways a more interesting narrative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,978 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Jumbo are burning a lot of matches imo

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke

Definitely, everyone's got a good story to them. I'm now in the anyone but Phillipsen camp.

Jaysus I think it's unfortunate Cav is out but good lord the guff on Eurosport would almost make you glad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,507 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Pog was 10th!

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Apparently Carlton is setting up a book of condolences on rip.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,569 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Another good option is www.cyclingnews.com for live text updates.

The official Twitter feed for the Tour de France frequently posts video clips during the stage.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,999 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

TG4 and there is a few radio channels if you aren't good with the cupla focal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

I watched it again and while Girmay was on Cavs wheel at the start of that move, Cavs sudden acceleration opened a gap of a metre back to Girmay and Philipsen just jammed himself in there.