Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What happened to Boards.ie - genuine question

What's so complicated about it?

If someone says that they've observed posters behaving vindictively, this can be met with "you're only saying that because you dislike their views" - yes Rapidash said that, as did Tell Me How to another member. It's most dismissive.

I've observed one member who calls everything she doesn't like "trolling", but it's rare in my experience. Most of the time trolling is trolling. Or posting in bad faith is posting in bad faith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I'm not sure what you're trying to actually say here; some if not the majority of the posters you're alluding to I have had contentious exchanges with in one subject, I have had agreements with them in others. Hell some I have both agreed and disagreed with in this same thread. And there has been more than one effort on this thread to have a go at me, personally, and regularly unprompted.

You speak to me about "snarling and biting back at people" and you speak to another user about "someone who is baiting you," you can act like these thinly veiled generalizations don't convey what your true opinions are about the issue, but IMHO it is plain. Let me know what you're actually trying to say here first though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I think the Internet in general has in the last 5 years generally become full of lots of arguments, resentment, anger, inability to have differing viewpoints and polarised. It isn't just Boards. 15/20 years ago there were lots of really great friendly online communities that have all disappeared. In the lgbt space we had lots of great spaces with fora like gaire, queerid, angry potato, gcn, gaycork, sapphicireland - they are all gone.

They were killed by Twitter and Facebook and never really replaced.

At the same time you also had really divisive culture war issues like Trump, Brexit, Abortion, Marriage Equality, Trans rights, Globalisation, Migration and covid in the middle.

A lot of those issues divided people on binary lines and they could never see the middle ground so you created this atmosphere of everyone cranky at each other.

Politicians saw this and loved it for gaining attention

Social media giants saw it too and capitalised on it too taking the long term view that everyone cranky at each other generating more content is good for their business.

Boards went this way too - generating more clicks and content out of people's anger and frustration is obviously part of the business model chosen by owners. So go for quantity content rather than quality content. In some ways it works - this thread as an example - lots of content. In many others it doesn't. People see all the bickering and walk away. Even this thread as an example - lots and lots of content but lots of mind numbing pointless bickering.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭nachouser

Threads like "Mixed race couples on tv ads" in AH ain't helping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I agree, 'Post Reported' is a tactic used by some. I don't think I've ever felt the need to use the report facility. I take the view that most posters are of an age where they can choose to engage or not and if the heat is too strong, then get out. Beasty in partic has picked me up on this and advises that there's too much to process and reporting helps mods to identify problem posts. So it does work as a tactic by those who use the facility.

But still I'd greatly prefer not to engage in it, in particular as I note that on these threads there are often other mods active. Now they may be moderators for other forums but they are still supposed to be aware of what in general is acceptable and be in a position to intervene with whoever mods that area. Of course, there is an issue when some of said mods are among the offenders themselves.

As mentioned above by someone else, there is a case for advising anyone who is a mod not to engage as an individual in threads on specified forums like CA etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,885 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭herbalplants

Moderators! That is what happened. There some unhinged ones.... I know one at least who bans a lot of people or sends you lots of warnings for no reason.

Remember the shills only get paid when you react to them.

Even though people might be trigger happy about reporting, on the other hand I think it's silly never to report because of not wanting to be seen as a snitch. It's not gangland stuff.

Yeah, it is perfect for CA - but that's the part of the problem. We should be beyond the point of having threads like that kicking around, in AH or CA.

As I said above - owners are happy enough to encourage posting that causes outrage as a business model. Go for quantity posting over quality and encourage posts where people angrily engage with each other

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Tazium

Always enjoyed boards and have had many great interactions with tons of people. Used to do coffee bean bulk buys with members of the Coffee&Tea forum. Have a Boards cycling jersey from way way back and it’s always been somewhere to have a conversation about anything with a huge range of diverse thoughts and opinions.

Platforms age and reinvent all the time, boards has remained relatively static in that regard, not an issue really. Worse, is the level of left or right polar opinions that inevitability lead to bickering and one person campaigns to have the last word or attempt to change another person’s equally held strong opinion. Those threads have to be picked apart to find value in responses. i.e. The Enoch Burke thread.

Still have love for boards, between this account and the past one used I’ve been hanging round near 20 years (feck, I’m old!)

yeah, still haven’t seen anyone threatened with a threadban for reporting posts. What you’ve shown me is someone (a well known troll in fact) being asked not to waste limited resources on a smaller forum.

Other than that you’ve speculated. I remain unconvinced.

edit: just to add, I am not particularly concerned with a mod telling a poster to not waste or clog up the reported posts with spurious ones. What would concern me & what I had inferred reading your post was that genuine posters who are reporting genuine trolls or whatever were being told to stop.

I’m a mod for AH, so there’s a big enough team of us, smaller forums it could be one or maybe two mods total. You have to understand why they’d be pretty sick of someone spamming reports for no reason other than idk attention?

Mixed race couples on TV, that's OK though? As a thread that is still there. In AH. How the f u c k is that not closed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,088 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Really? Where did you find anything in my post to be getting affronted by?

I was not alluding to you, to Chromium, to Nullzero or any one else!

That was me talking about me and if you can't see that clearly stated in my post you are either looking for a fight or thinking people are out to get you.

I have no issues with any of ye but if ye can't see that poster behaviour like that described is causing problems for everyone else reading or contributing then ye have more problems than I previously thought.

Everyone here has responsibility in this, not just the mods.

I tried to say how I have found similar issues and am trying to deal with them thats all. Not taking sides.

The baiting issue is the hardest because its hard to pass by and ignore, which is the whole idea on the part of the poster who as Chromium says in posting in 'bad faith'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

You seem pretty triggered by a thread you don't like or agree with. But when every 2nd ad literally features a black person when they make up such a small number of the population, people will notice and have a right to call it out for virtue signalling nonsense that it is.

It's all to do with the business model. Encourage quantity over quality. The site owners are well aware there is a lot of unfettered bigotry on the site. Bigotry creates clickbait and angry responses. Years ago the site had mods who often stood upto the bigoted hate.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,088 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Thanks for proving my point and others about the thread.

are you asking me or just thinking out loud?

sorry, this has been a long thread I just saw your reply below me do nvm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,787 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

It may make up a small number of the population where you live, but in the capital, it's a normal amount of the population.

You can't expect every thing on tv to look like the west coast or the Midlands! Ireland is a lot bigger then it's provinces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

And like I said, depends where you live!

I'm in Dublin city, I see many different ethnicities everyday.

when I go to visit my mam, I see fewer. Seems perfectly normal.

So, we're still good with the race baiting thread then? Grand. Zombied by a certain user. All good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,636 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Forum Games

It was a very busy forum on Boards.ie but the change to vanilla made the running of many of the games we played totally impossible. Thousands of posts were being made every single day often in just 1 thread but a lot of the tools that we needed to play games like werewolf, etc were either not available to us or completely impossible in vanilla and as a result people left the forum and boards.ie in their droves.

Vanilla was the final kick in the ass that ruined everything

generally speaking if you’d like a thread looked at or indeed troublesome posts within that thread the process would be to report it so mods can take a look.

It may come as a shock to learn we don’t scour other forums for complaints in our own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,175 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Seen it where? I’ve searched high and low and cannot identify one single post where a mod told any poster, not to mention a group, they’ll be threadbanned or otherwise if they report posts.

Never happens

To justifying it happening.

just to add, I am not particularly concerned with a mod telling a poster to not waste or clog up the reported posts with spurious ones.

Can't multi quote posts. But these two statements don't go together.

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

I still have yet to see anyone told they’d be threadbanned for reporting.

As for justifying it, I’m really not offering an opinion one way or the other. I have strong doubts about someone being told they’d be threadbanned for reporting but perhaps I am wrong. If someone’s told to cop on wasting limited resources I think that’s fair enough.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,026 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Well that must mean all of us who have seen it are either lying or mistaken.

We're not going to remember the exact post, users, date, thread and forum to search for them, that is, if the search function actually worked.