Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2023 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭vetinari

"Flukes" are the main excitement part for a neutral. The new format was a load of shite. Endless games just to again have a Dublin Kerry final. They're going to kill off general interest in football with this approach. Group formats only work if there's an actual risk to a contender.

Imo, Cork knocking out Kerry in 2020 and then getting knocked out by Tipp was the kind of excitement that's been missing from football for years. No sense of danger for any big team until the quarter finals. And even there the really big teams will avoid each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

The timekeeping complaint was just ridiculous.

Monaghan were driving forward in middle and were dragged down with around 20 seconds left. Of course there was time to move the ball forward.

Then a player went down injured - what did McGeeney expect the ref to do, just blow the full time whistle ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Ya. Agree completely with your last line. It was like as if at half time, Dublin players were revved up to go out and destroy Mayo in 10 minutes. But the Mayo mindset was a nervous hope that they wouldn't get blitzed. I think the Mayo team were more focused on that negative factor, rather than focusing on remaining determined to bring the game to Dublin. If I recall correctly, McCarthy jumped about 20 feet in the second half throw-in to punch the ball towards the Mayo goal side, and Dublin got a point from it. And it was curtains then from Mayo - like as if they were afraid to take up the challenge. The majority of the Mayo players went missing. I was watching to see the off the ball running, and there was none. Many of the players did not want to demand the ball to produce anything useful. At 8 points down, they were still content to be kicking the ball back and forth across their own '45. Didn't have that drive to try to penetrate through the Dublin defense. Of course, that is easier said than done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

I think it worked out perfectly for the GAA. The big "Elephant in the Room" is potentially the Group Stages. If these matches were played at training pace with a lot of shadow boxing simply because most teams know they would get in the top three then they would likely phase out pretty quick due to lack of interest. What happened to Galway and subsequently Mayo I think whether it has any actual relevance will see a lot more teams "all out" gunning for top spot next year.

Also which I really don't understand the cribbing of the turnaround or consecutive matches in a row is finishing top in any competition should mean something and benefit the teams that do it. Dublin, Kerry, Derry and Armagh deserved that reward. It should be more difficult for those that finished 2nd and 3rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

"Weeds out the poor sides no flukes."

Which looked at another way is just a mechanism to ensure that none of the 'big counties' get knocked out by a bad day at the office.

No real surprises possible or very unlikely. It's set up to maximise games, revenue and to ensure the cream rise to the top, one way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

The irony of a Mayo man saying any team is overrated...

Curse lifted this year and neither McStay or "Aidan O'Shea and his magic left boot" could get into the semi-finals.

😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,917 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Most competitions are organised so that the best team wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭rodmn2377

Thats all sport competitions.... you want the best teams getting to the final stages as they will usually give the the best games cause there fairly evenly matched.... ya we get the odd shock with the underdog but ya can count on your hand id say the amount of them we have had in the last 10yrs... that yr that Tipp beat cork they then got hockeyed out of it by Mayo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Disappointing weekend of action whereby the scheduling played a big part in making two of the Quarter finals total mis-matches in the 2nd halves and I believe Cork would have received the same trimming had they played Kerry or Dublin instead of Derry as they were totally gassed for the majority of the 2nd half.

The one competitive Quarter final between Armagh and Monaghan will hardly live long in the memory unless from Monaghan. I know some Monaghan supporters don't like this said about them but they are one county punching above their weight. 2nd semi final now in 5 years and nine consecutive years in Div 1.

The semi final v Dublin will be bridge too far for them but hopefully they give a decent account of themselves.

The way Derry set up should make it difficult for Kerry but won't have the scoring power to topple Kerry

Bookies don't ride around on bicycles from the start of the championship they had Kerry and Dublin 1 and 2 in the betting and that's how this championship will likely finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,184 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Those Tipp and Cavan wins to the SF's were real outliers though. it was the covid year and teams had AFL lads staying in Ireland. One of them played for Cork knocked Kerry out for example. plus there was another few AFL lads crucial to the other counties.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,515 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

What a load of waffle. Just checked our PM history and all I see is a massive message you wrote me 4 years ago. Unless it's bugged.

Mate Meath fan wanted this before your match. We all would prefer Kerry v Derry.

Neither of those fans would cause us hassle on the day and tickets wouldn't be stressful to get as it won't sell out. Absolute joke the fixtures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭rodmn2377

They were great occasions but they happen once in a blue moon unfortunately.... i know lots didn't like the group set up but i enjoyed it... i think they can still tweak it and make changes but i wouldn't be throwing it out straight away... i think it needs a few yrs under the belt before making a full time decision on it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

There's the died in the wool GAA supporter who'd agree with you. There's also a regular GAA advert that states the GAA is the place for everyone or something like that - this latter is delusional as the sports must compete for interest with other codes and sport.

From the POV of the more average, casual sports fan then the football champ is pretty dire - mostly poor fare and almost no romance or surprise. Only at final and perhaps semis do people perk up and take an interest in the usual suspects. If the GAA want a championship that catches the public imagination more, it needs to deliver on the prospect of upsets and uncertainty. You do this by an open draw, knockout, no back doors and results on the day. Teams live or die from Round 1. That'd shake things up big time but will likely never happen as vested counties with expectations would hate the idea. On other hand the likes of the Wicklows etc would love it as every dog can have it's day and take out a big one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,387 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I'd still prefer a 32 county Open draw and knockout. That way you might get an odd surprise but a team achieving a surprise win would still get caught the next time. I think it's all about money and gates now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭Musicrules

It is all about money and gates. It's trying to dress up the absolute mess the GAA have made. They tried it with the super 8's, there's this current set up and there will be more. While this is going on, the real elephant in the room has been growing larger. Dublin got a huge level of funding from the GAA and spend vast amounts on many areas. We all know this led to winning bucket loads of provincial and All Ireland titles. Kerry saw this, it took them a while but they got funding from elsewhere and have been pumping it into their development.

Some other counties have been trying to keep up, spending as much as they can but it's not sustainable. Kerry and Dublin have pushed ahead of everyone else with the huge amount of resources available to them. They just destroyed Mayo and Tyrone, look how much they are beating some teams in their Province by. There's no point in coming up with any of these different systems until the inequality in funding is tackled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,892 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Wicklow had 100 years of that system. The best they could do is reach one Leinster Final, and they lost that. In 1897.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,343 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

While watching the Dublin v Mayo I noticed that an awful lot of the Dublin team were very familiar from the six in a row team.

So I did a little research.

Of the squad yesterday 16 were also involved 5 years ago in the 2018 final, and there was also Graig Diaz who has been around for ever anyway.

The newcomers that had no part in 2018 were Byrne, Gannon, Bugler.

Kerry on Saturday had 11 from their last game in 2018 v Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,905 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I wouldn't mind a 32 team draw either. The centenary Cup was great

Well up until the final when the width a post denied us the win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

Davy Byrne might not have played in the 2018 final but he's certainly not a newcomer and has multiple All Ireland medals, Leinsters and National League titles in his back pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Kerry or Dublin teams would be stoned if they played like Mayo yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭IRE60

Tickets for 15th available on ticketmaster just now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,343 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Yeah I thought that, but I didn't do much checking beyond the Dublin squad that played Tyrone in 2018.

The interesting thing is that Dublin are still relying on so many of that 6 in a row team, it's hardly changed in many years.

That's grand for beating Mayo in a QF, but is it good enough to keep Dublin competitive for this decade?

We've already seen the departure of a lot of great players that helped us dominate 2011-2020. When the likes of James Mc, Kilkenny, Fitz, J Small, Rock, Jack and Cluxton hang up the boots over the next year or two it will be the end of our greatest era. And i dount we'll ever see the likes again. I'm just hoping the lads mentioned can squeeze one more All Ireland before they step away. When they do i think we'll go through a i bit of a barren spell. I think it's inevitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭corny

Depends on the management for me. The current iteration of the team has two or three years left tops. After that a lot of lads who've been on the periphery will have to start plugging the gaps. I say depends on the management though because how they integrate will determine how competitive Dublin are.

One thing I will say is that Dublin club football is strong so while our minors haven't been setting the world alight recently there will always be a decent pool to choose from.

Our minors have won one All Ireland in 39 years. It is an appalling return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,037 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Someone pops up with this straight knockout shte every few weeks but the truth is the "vested interests" are the players.

You can't ask players to do all that modern training to get knocked out after 1 game. Will kill the sport.

Only catching up with the Sunday Game highlights now and first look at Saturdays behind-a-paywall games.

Kerry looked very impressive. Their defence looked watertight and the team looked to have boundless energy and fitness levels. Tyrone on the other hand looked flat and lethargic. Hard to really make a proper judgement after seeing about five minutes of play but Kerry look to be coming to the boil at the right time. Doesn't look like last years All Ireland has sated their appetite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Gael85

David Byrne missed the whole 2018 championship after picking up an injury after the league that year. Made his Dublin debut in 2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Gael85

It is but I don't think Dublin prioritise winning minor titles. Players on them teams are picked more on football ability rather than size. The Derry team that beat us last week were physically stronger than us. Dublin look to develop players when they reach 19-21. It worked well winning 4 u21 titles in 8 years (2010-2017). Since she change from u21 to 20 we have struggled to bring young lads through to senior set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭shockframe

Yes the quarter finals weren't great but if you're looking at other sports as a barometer then it's not exactly been blown out of the water either.

of the 4 champions Cup Rugby quarter finals there was on average 26 points winning margins across the 4 games.

Of the Champions League quarter finals there was only 1 game that was any way close (Milan Napoli) and I'd say it would be about equal to Armagh-Monaghan.

You dont get the same 'sky is falling in' vibes from followers of Rugby or Soccer I dare say.