If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭alps

Majority of the mebership would agree with you here. The day of the "farmer on the ground" being capable of commanding in such situtations is long past.

Certainly the person with "skin in the game" works for negotiations, but not necessarily for media.

Being trained not to get caught out with a question is not good enough to also being able get you point across in pursuasive terms.

Many on here are well able to get their point across though. Some here know everything and they know everyone else is wrong...about everything...

Incredible talent, when one considers they have never attended, partaken or are in the loop with such organisations.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I’ve been a member of the IFA since 2015 and have been involved in 2 national committees, as well as secretary of the county executive. My humble opinion is that the civil servant attitude in HQ is the issue. There’s plenty ideas and energy at county level and committee level but once above that, the shoulder shrugging and head nodding begins. To say farmers drive it is like saying TDs run the country - it’s the civil servants in Bluebell and in Govt who run the country.

I’ve heard it said for years now that IFA need a media professional but HQ says no every time. I called them amateur on Twitter and the vice-president said I was being unfair. But that’s exactly what HQ insist on - sending out non-professional speakers against pros like Gibbons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭straight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Jack98

Spot on with the amateur vs pro when it comes to PR or negotiations. All farmer organizations are like this…take Kerry co op board for example over the past few years in their takeover bid sending farmers elected to a board to negotiate with businessmen running multinationals with every degree under the rising sun.

Junior b hurlers being thrown into an all Ireland final beggars belief.

If you want to make things happen you have to invest in the personnel to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

On the media professional ….couldn’t agree more ….current president is a man I’d want in my corner fighting for anything farming related …..but he’s poor in front of a camera ….Brian rushe is very accomplished both as a speaker and what he dose on ground and ultimately would of made an excellent president but for understandable reasons he’s out of running

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Does the dairy committee in the IFA carry much weight?

As in, are they active and try to get stuff done, meeting processors, Dept, etc.? Or are they the same as the other committees and struggling to be heard and lacking support from HQ?

Farmers jump up and down screaming the minute they hear of someone being paid.

That because we’re programmed to believe labour and time isn’t valued from pm and national survey figures 😜😜😜😀😀😀

🤣🤣🤣Too true

in all seriousness tho these lads jumping up and down over IFA delegates pat or expenses or coop board member expenses pay etc have little appreciation of the time and commitment these roles entail ….these guys are mostly farmers first and whilst there away plans need to be in place to keEp things running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭dmakc

Anyone have slurry channels?

They could make sense for me but a narrow passage with a base 1.5m above the slatted tank floor strikes me as potential for s**t to harden after a month or two while the tank catches up to its level. I assume they've a decline towards the tank?

I suppose it'd make sense for them to be near agitation point the better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,859 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Anyone have cows go down with Johnes? Have two over the limit here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,294 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

About 10 years into testing here. Numbers getting lower each year. It's a fecker of a disease

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Not sure if we're talking about the same thing, but I've a channel that runs in front of 3 scraper tracks carrying slurry into a tank. It's about 1m x1m and runs level with lips before the drops to retain liquid. So its well up from the bottom the tank.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

How do you manage it?

They're just over the 50 limit, vet reckons they'll be fine to keep in the herd. We've been good about not mixing colostrum to dairy calves and these two have only have had beef calves so I'm hoping that if it's just these two it can stop there

What age are they? Did you retest them?

3 & 4, I'll be doing a dung test. The older lady was just under the limit the last two years

Are they showing any symptoms?

delete

@Castlekeeper Yes we're talking about same thing. So with the channels being horizontal (no slope), the standing liquids should keep it moveable over time? My fear is if it hardened year after year in the channel before clogging after 10yrs for example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Nothing like pulling 2 tankers of dirty water and letting them off together at the same time. That would give some flush to any channel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,058 ✭✭✭green daries

Christ on a bike I don't care what the vet reckons get rid of the two of them ASAP have you any idea of the scourge of a disease it is ......it would ruin your herd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭older by the day

"National Genotyping Programme now open for signup on ICBF website. Go to slvr.be/A6vI. Limited availability, for more info refer to this June management notes"

What kind of shite have the IFA signed us up for now. All the heads in the ICBF. so no doubt it will end up costing farmers money. I see money is clawed back if you pull out before 5 years.

Are there still cases of BVD I wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

It's only shite, nothing a bit of water won't soften, it won't harden like cement, and to certainly never clogged over time, there 25 years now. If I was feeding dry cows hay or haylage, it would occasional stop at that sump where that scraper dumps it. Add a bit if water, even with a hose, and off it goes again.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

If your asking what kind of shite have we been signed up to …..you haven’t a clue what it’s about …genotyping will improve national herd and cut out the messers with poor quality scrub bulls etc etc

btw…..won’t disagree on bvd scheme …like tb an absolute farce in how it’s ran …..but farmers holding pi ainmals are every bit as much to blame …small minority holding every other farmer on island to ransom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭jaymla627

The journal on the propaganda trail re the reduction scheme

meanwhile in a country where processors are short of milk this occurs

It's amazing how processors can cough up a nice few extra cent when milk is in short supply

I genuinely don't, I thought the main way of transmission was through beastings? Can it run through adult to adult?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭older by the day

Do you think genotyping will make the average Joe richer or add another bill and a head ache to his life.

Let's see when there is 900 calves in skibbereen mart the end of march how much extra will genotyping get us.

Most schemes start this way. " Oh we will cover the cost" five years down the road the farmer will be paying the whole 18 euro per calf.