The Louise Duffy Show - RTE Radio 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,483 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

The Beach Boys followed by The Jesus and Mary Chain. Great stuff at 12.45 in the day on RTE1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 seekenee

I would turn the dial to hear Louise's show definitely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,059 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

I'd hoped Ian Dempsey would've taken over Ronan's slot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,381 ✭✭✭✭elperello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,948 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Nah…..got it wrong there bud, not country enough……. M’kay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

I tune in after Pat Kenny specifically to hear decent tunes.

Yesterday we had the Angelus, Nuacht, Joy Division and The Doors.

I never thought I'd type that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭statto25

Acquiesce on RTE Radio 1 at 12:50 in the afternoon.....fair play Louise Duffy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,059 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

fair play her producer and the spotify playlist he/she is gathering the list of tunes from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,902 ✭✭✭Doodah7

Why do you have to be so unnecessarily begrudging?

Too much positivity in this thread for you that you feel you need to drag it down to the level of most of the others in this Forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,381 ✭✭✭✭elperello

She was playing tunes today that were great before the inventors of Spotify were even born.

Great weather, great music, it doesn't get much better 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,627 ✭✭✭enricoh

wow!!! ^^

In terms of unctiousness that one is a prizewinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Expunge

If she loses another 10,000 listeners next time, it might be back to Spotify for all the lads getting the horn for her playlists on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,968 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Nice to hear Ocean Colour Scene’s ‘Riverboat Song’ at the end of the show earlier.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

well I did not expect to be listening to Eric Cantona's first single today, yet I am. It's not too bad in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭rino87

Rainbow 😁 Music needs more handclaps these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭FarmerBrowne

Heard "Pure" by the lightning seeds on her show today, what a tune that is, had forgotten about it.

Here's a curious thing about Louise's show. She plays a variety of stuff but you can be sure that not everyone agrees and will be messaging her to say so. Same happens to all, Ronan used to be slagged for playing Linda Ronstadt / Barry Manilow too I think. Likewise John Creedon will receive messages criticising some choices and repeats etc.

Point is that both Collins and Creedon and others acknowledge these texts/ tweets, they read them out and say well I like this or that and it's my show etc. They know that part of building a relationship with the public is acknowledging all their listeners.

Not so with our Louise though - all her messages are nicey, nicey - how great she is etc. Notably PC & woke too. If she wants to build any sort of relationship with listeners, going to have to start showing something else. Being banal and nicey/ nicey will only get you so far.

Good points Furze…however we need to get a bit real here in my opinion, how difficult is it to pick 10 or 12 songs to play?

I would suggest not too difficult….. that said I don’t listen in as quite frankly I find her a bit too ‘breathy’ for the time of day.

Bit like these creels who go to gigs with mobile phones out for the whole show, it’s just a frikken concert not a life changing experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,968 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

You’d think that, Bren, but have you listened around to any other stations during the day for decent tracks?

If I’m being honest, Sunshine is the only one that you might get one. Duffy is doing very well in this slot, in this poster’s humble opinion.

I will agree with you that the “breathy” delivery might be better suited for a late night show but it shouldn’t put off listeners.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,563 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

First song, 'you can get it if you really want' 😂

Of course Brendan, but part of the reason why listeners like/ listen to likes of Collins or Creedon or McInerney etc., is that they actually have a bit of discernible character. FWIW, you could get rid of our Louise her and replace her with some banal AI voice.

Again agree with you F, you are correct, certainly Creedon conforms to your description.

I would respectfully differ a bit with Collins and McInerney.

Collins because it was radio by numbers every day, nothing new, same auld patter for 20 odd years.

McInerney because she allows herself to be pimped and ‘whored’ into taking part in those cringeworthy inserts

for Drivetime instead of standing her ground and telling them to go and fuuherke themselves with that rubbish.

For me , no credibility after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Ah, but if they put away the phone it could be a life changing experience.

I'm a Rock n Roll Amputation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭zoobizoo

"Notably PC & woke too"

Any examples of said "wokeness"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,631 ✭✭✭✭Water John

LD has a distincly soft West of Ireland voice, not a Mid Atlantic drawl. Maybe she should bring on Paul and do a double act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

playing 'the gabriels' now , listened to some of them at Glastonbury at the weekend. Very nice indeed