Criminal Justice (Incitement to Violence or Hatred and Hate Offences) Bill 2022 - Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

the fact that I can’t give the obvious reply to this post because I’d be site/thread banned is indicative of where we are today in Ireland.

All I can say is that once the greater part of society becomes aware that both stating and thinking in objective reality terms is becoming illegal, this whole circus will fall apart with no delay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Yeah, I know -but that's already happening because people are more interested in telling lies and getting into verbal fistfights than actually resolving conflict or finding common ground.

Over on another there are posters telling lies of mutilating children in order to reaffirm gender and then trying to portray someone else as the threat - why? How does this help? What's the point?

Post edited by Princess Consuela Bananahammock on

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ypu can - you just have to make sure the mods know its hypothetical and not your personal opinion.

Ian Hislop used to say on Have I Got News For You - 'you can say anything you like about anyone you like on this show - as long as you include the word "allegedly"'

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Here's a meme that some might find offensive.

Would I be subject to charges for possession of memes like this, or even more offensive memes? Or would I be committing a crime if I sent it to some friends on WhatsApp? That's the danger with this law. Where do we draw the line on what's offensive or not? And why is something offensive against the law given that it's so subjective?

IMG-20230508-WA0000.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Hodger

Unfortunately yes.

To read some of the details.

" It shall be presumed that the person Intended to communicate the material to the public or a section of the public . "

345588660_1628541177610111_6770965236185590_n.jpg

https://data.oireachtas.ie/ie/oireachtas/bill/2022/105/eng/ver_b/b105b22d.pdf?fbclid=IwAR3sFGH7EZjxqHFw8uPtWZt8GryJfcOmoM79hCNKczM8dbP8CEX8NDO9kiQ#page8

In other words guilty until proven Innocent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Quareosity killed the Craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Marcos

And while you may disagree fundamentally with these types of individuals, criminalising their right to speak and protest is a scary development. Who’s to say they won’t come after you next?

Which is one of the reasons that Paul Murphy spoke out so vehemently against the act in the Dáil last week. Fair play to him for that.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

I loathe the politics of Noam Chomsky, but his quote on free speech is more than apt here.

If we do not believe in freedom of speech for those we despise, we do not believe in it at all.

The proponents and advocates of this bill believe only in their superior right to free speech over those they consider of lesser import.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,809 ✭✭✭hometruths

It seems unlikely that meme would incite violence, so could it incite hatred?

I guess it depends on the sort of person you might send it to. I think most would agree it's more plausibly likely to intended to incite hatred if you're sharing it with The Anti Homosexual Committee of the National Front, less likely if you're sharing it with gay friends who think the But light boycott is a reactionary pile of nonsense.

But if you're guilty for simply possessing it because it shall be presumed that you intended to communicate it, it follows that the law also presumes who you will communicate it to, and it presumes those people will be incited to violence or hatred.

It is a legally defined presumption of guilt. And it is actually worse than guilty until proven innocent, since the wording makes it is impossible to prove your innocence of something you didn't intend to do.

Irrespective of your views on free speech etc, from a pure implementation/enforcement point of view this is a shockingly bad piece of legislation.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,809 ✭✭✭hometruths

Actually, rereading that section 9.2.c it's not as bad as first feared.

It looks like in order to be presumed that you intended to communicate, first you would have had to have made the material available on a platform available to the public.

Presumably memes stored on people's phones are not such a platform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

That's very narrow though, and it's a 3 part test - And Section (3) explicitly grants the entitlement to Rebut any claim from Section (2) highlighted.

I posted this post to this website, I clearly know it will be made available to the public.

The Gardai had a watch list of about 20 individuals who they deemed to be “far right agitators” who were speaking on social media and organising anti migrant protests.

Source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

https://m.independent.ie/news/more-arrests-on-the-way-as-upwards-of-20-far-right-agitators-monitored-by-special-detective-unit/42323956.html

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Legislation such as this creates more far-right agitators because it needlessly creates victimless crimes.

Existing hate speech legislation is sufficient to deal with any aggression. Up until about yesterday, that legislation worked and nobody lost a night's sleep.

@Hungry Burger "They didn’t claim what they were saying or organising the protests was a crime to justify putting them on a list"

This report says in fact they are being arrested do I have that right

Funny that's what people would have said the last time the hate speech legislation was most recently revised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

We know that claim is untrue though. Reform of the existing legislation has been on the cards for a long time.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If the “far right” and the “far left” had any sense they would hold a mass rally together against this government decision they won’t because it suits one side today but these things can swing violently the other way and where will your voice be then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

First they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a socialist.

Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 mrmakbel

Government defecates bed, outlaws complaints regarding defecated bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,861 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Not following the apparent non sequitur. Can you elaborate on your argument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

Just curious, which part of "where it is proved..." in section 2, are you falling to understand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

If what she says is true, then this is very worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

Every young lad who is in a Whats App group with his friends will end up in the slammer 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

And the not so young lads like myself. I've a group of friends and we post the most offensive memes we can find to each other. Acting the boll1x like, for the craic and not to stir up hatred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

What’ll happen is lads will skip the “incitement” part and just knuckle down. No point going to jail if you don’t get your kicks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭charlie_says

The majority of the people who agree with this really have nothing to worry about for the most part as they will follow the states and or the medias instructions almost entirely. How people still have normalcy bias after GFC, 9/11, lockdown madness and various crisis including the current nuclear brinkmanship is beyond me.

This video was posted over a year ago post lockdown, as you can see in the video the people with the banner and Information stall get approached by the guards with a " do you have a permit ? " and " do you have permission ? " and this is well before the passing of planned new laws.

Now imagine if these planned laws against " hate speech " get passed in full and someone is handing out leaflets to promote the " boycott Israel " campaign or someone is handing out leaflets opposing biological males in female sports imagine the power the guards will then have to deal with such dissent on back of any complaints.