Who Watches the Watchmen (Our Chit Chat Thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,981 ✭✭✭scwazrh

The lads hosting that have popped up on my instagram feed before .The old lad in it seems like a right idiot.He comes out with stuff that would make Oisin roll his eyes.

One of the clips I seen was the old bloke going on about a women’s body count . Real 20 year old kid bulsh*t from a lad that has to be pushing 60.Cringe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭Fitz II

Those strike it big lad are "finfulencers" giving out dodgy financial advice to young lads. Awful cringe shorts and tick tocs. Nico is a more genuine chap than they are, but both aim at the same demographic of broke aspirational young lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,266 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

BQ watches has taken over watchmaster which went tits up following the huge robbery in Germany

This is good news for anyone with a consignment piece with them

https://www.watchpro.com/exclusive-bq-watches-recovers-watches-from-the-wreckage-of-watchmaster-in-the-uk/

The internet isn’t for everyone

How did watchmaster gmbh getting robbed financially affect watchmaster uk ?Obviously the two companies were different entities .I would guess that the slowdown in watch sales put the writing on the wall for watchmaster uk and the robbery is a convenient patsy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,636 ✭✭✭✭893bet

I assume no one wanting to do do business with them. Would you be happy to send 25k to them and hope they have a watch to send back.

Definitely not .But they still had over 1400 watches in on consignment so not an issue with no stock to sell.

I did read that if you put a watch on consignment with them and then take it back there’s a 2 grand fee so once they’ve got your watch you’d have to leave it there .

Yeah it’s seems like they were using the clause to hold the watches when everyone wanted them back as they tried to keep trading.

But couldn’t keep trading due to falling market and obviously reputational damage.

BQ have not bought them, rather taken over their stock. Unusual and customers are lucky. Susrpised they had not managed to run up debt etc and folded and the watches going into the assets pile with the owners of the watches then being bottom of the pile for payment.

Open to correction on this but my understanding is that putting your watch on consignment doesn’t mean you lose legal ownership of it.It can be complicated in so far as proving your ownership and that it’s not the businesses property once the receiver steps in , but getting it back before the business ceases trading should be just a case of getting it into your hands. So if thats correct BQ are just sending watches back to the rightful owners at their cost I assume in return for the good publicity.Big task to pack and ship and deal with 1400 individuals for no profit.

I wonder if all the watches being moved are actually on consignment from real people .It opens up a clever way of getting stock out of the business .Be interesting to see how many watches are left on the balance sheet when the receivers get control and after BQ have completed their charitable act.

from my understanding on companies house the german based company and uk company are linked because one of them were directors of the other so theres massive legal and financial implications, technically the watches could have tied up for years with legal issue so this way at least the owners of the watches have options now going forward as opposed to radio silence since the robbery. Sales were badly impacted because people did not have trust in the company.

Previously when you consign your watch with watch master they have it for a year or you pay say 25% to get it back early,If after a year it hasn’t sold you get it back with no charge. People couldn't just pull their consignment pieces back when they want as otherwise it’s not a profitable business model 

most people consign without reading the small print of the contract

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,104 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Ian OB

Only £69. Which one should I go for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭Fitz II

Last time I partook of 80 euro muff I needed antibiotics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,745 ✭✭✭✭unkel

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,354 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

For a moment I was thinking another Irish microbrand was born. And yep they have a diving club.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,035 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Funny how they have a UK domain.

Just using cheap laughs to sell stuff.

And no, they actually don't have a diving club.

But waiting on the link for the Muff Liquor company to be posted.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

I'm having issues getting a strap to fit, might need a 1mm spring bar.

Any recommendations for where to pick some up?

Amazon seems limited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,135 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Drop me a PM with the size you need and your address and I'll pop some in the post to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭H_Lime

Just incase you're needing 1 mm thickness to clear the curvature of the case I have every size in curved springbars too if that helps.

Thanks, I was not aware that they even existed. Hopefully the 1mm will do the trick.

20230328_144244.jpg

1mm is pretty thin to be trusting your watch to imo. Curved will allow the strap fit up to the case without compromising the springbar fit. I bought a full set in iirc 1.78mm. That's them on the right I have in 18, 19, 20 and 22. Shout of you want some. I keep meaning to buy the pliers for bending stock spring bars off Ali.

€ 10,79 5%OFF | High Quality Watch Spring Bar Curved Plier Watchband Link Bar Bend Spring Bar Plier Tool

In case someone's of the same inclination here's a link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Iguarantee

A friend of mine shared a post on Instagram today; someone he knows had their watch stolen from the locker at their gym while they were doing a workout. This was outside Ireland.

What was the watch you ask? A white gold Daytona ;(

Post edited by Iguarantee on

Presumably the locker was broken into and not left open. Presumably your friend filed a report with the Gardai. And presumably he had the watch insured, then there isn't much to worry about, he'll be covered.

The more pertinent question is, why didn't he just wear his Rolex in the gym? 😂

(I know, I know, it's not as rugged as a sub / seadweller and it is precious metal and it doesn't have much in the way of bracelet adjustment - but it's still a sports Rolex)

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

You have huge faith insurance. Good chance that situation might not be covered by policy.

Why wouldn't it be? Unless he left the locker unlocked or was careless with the key, etc. That's exactly what all risk insurance is for.

There can be exclusions in all risks policy’s. Have the conversation with your insurance holder. Tell them you want to leave a 40k watch in a gym locker and you want full cover.

and he was careless. woukd you leave 40k cash in a locker that can be opened with a screw driver usually.

“hi insurance company, my 40k watch was stolen from a gym locker”

”no problem here is your money”

I can’t see it being that easy.

Post edited by 893bet on

Absolutely reckless to be leaving anything of value in a gym locker .Even a regular homesafe isn’t secure enough for anything of value .

Who the fxxx takes 40k of watch to the gym and leaves it in a locker, it sounds like a chapter from a child’s fantasy story

calling bs on this one and if it is true the owner is asking for it tbh