Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Potential for €10 congestion charge, parking increases of 400% and a 20kmh reduction in speed limits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,537 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Well you're wrong there were not adding congestion charges and there is more investment in active travel and public transport now than ever thanks to our beloved Green Party.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

Until they're out of office again and then we'll be back to the same crappy attitudes to infrastructure, only with added revenue generation schemes in place...

The design of some of the schemes also remains absolutely appalling, which isn't a party issue, rather it's a competence one at local authority level. Some of the cycle lane setups aren't even safe.

There's 20+ years of sustained investment needed before we're even remotely near the levels NL or DK etc are at and I don't see it happening.

I mean, we're still fecking around talking about Metro in Dublin and tramways in Cork and so on. Those discussions are going on for as long as I've been alive and I don't believe any of them will ever be delivered because there is a culture of drive everywhere, cowboy hats, houses in the middle of nowhere, Garth Brooks concerts and getting giddy about Krispy Kreme drive thru here that simply doesn't exist in most of Europe.

It is cultural and I think we see public transit projects as something that's done "over there" in places like France or Germany or whatever. You'd NEVER do stuff like that in little old Ireland, sure it's too wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

This has to be the most clueless post I seen on boards and thats saying a lot.

I would just like to mention I wasn’t involving myself in the comparison but just taking a moment to mention what a disgrace the NAS has become for waiting times.

largely stemmed of course from people ringing for an ambulance when they don’t need one. Anyway, that’s for another day.

But on the topic of kids if you have them you really should have a car imo. Getting to and from school, appointments, recreational activities, sports, clubs whatever else on public transport and walking is not going to be feasible for the majority of the country. A trip to ED is the bottom of the list of reasons having a car is useful with kids.

Yeah but just because you have a car and kiss doesn't mean you need to drive into city centres all the time

The one time I had to go to hospital in an ambulance (which I didn't call - a bystander did) because I collapsed in a public space, I got lectured from upon high by the ambulance crew about how unnecessary it was and how I should have called a taxi. When I got to A&E I got lectured again about it! Nurse came out, eye rolls, 'don't think you'll be getting seen sooner just because you came in by ambulance...' told that I was 'wasting valuable resources' etc etc etc.

I actually felt like just taking my chances and going home.

Calling an ambulance here isn't really an option for most things.

I'll triage myself next time. Sure my Apple Watch can do an ECG.

I appreciate they're under extreme pressure, but I don't know what exactly I did to deserve the lectures!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,615 ✭✭✭fliball123

Both cities have decent public transport we dont

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

To be fair, we are developing our public transport system to make it suitable for users. Financially, it has been neglected for decades with a grudging amount of investment provided. At least the current government (and to an extent the previous government) have introduced loads more busses, bus routes (orbital and local), 24 hour services, new rail carriages and so on. We've still a long way to go and there are many challenges but it is happening.

Thats great well when they have the public transport system in place giz a shout but trying to compare Dublin with Paris and London as things stand with regards to public transport is not going to show Dublin in a positive light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,443 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

"Not a lot done, and a long way to go...."

Travelling by public transport in Dublin is a very unpleasant, over crowded, expensive and unsafe option for many.. Anti-social behaviour is through the roof and no Gardai on Buses either...

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40980533.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,116 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Well then, if cyclist are so against cycling in bus lanes, you'll have no problem with them being banned from it.

You can't have it both ways. Cyclists are delaying buses through occupying bus lanes, as well as the other examples you mentioned, I want them all out of the way of buses.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

When did I compare Dublin to Paris or London? I simply said that we are on our way to building a decent public transport system. What you are comparing Dublin to is somewhere with an excellent rail network. What you seem to be expecting is for us to go from a sh1te public transport system to a world class one in a matter of months, all without causing any inconvenience to people driving - which is delusional.

I presume that you're aware that both of these cities also have problems with their public transport systems (including rail), but don't let facts get in the way of your bias!

wtf are you talking about, you sound like a journal commenter now. the buses are mostly grand the same as in any other city, the dart has always been a pleasant experience for me and the LUAS apart from being a bit jerky is fine.

how is it unsafe? tens of 1000s of people use it every day with no problems. you don't think london and paris have anti-social behaviour on their trains etc.? some of the stuff i've seen in london is crazy.

No I dont, I have zero expectations of it being done in a short space of time but what I dont want to see is a charge being brought in before its done. It should of been done decades ago to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭raclle

So you want to clog the place up with these instead? Its not Thailand we're living in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,155 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Absolutely.

Cyclists cycling in bus lanes or on the road when there is a viable cycle lane on that stretch of road should be fined for obstructing road traffic.

No one expects a world class transport system in months as you dramatically state, however projects such as Metro North were brought up 20 years ago? The continuous S2S cycleway was also conceived over 20 years ago .. Dublin Metrolink .. projected completion date of 2060?

So let's be real here, most people like yourself posting up statements making it seem like it's "not long now" are way off the mark, and most people posting here will be either very elderly or passed away by the time we can get a metro/luas from the airport to Sandyford!

maybe start with fining cars blocking bus lanes which is the real problem. i cycle in bus lanes all the time and buses just go past me, no one gets held up.

Comparing to Paris or London is also ridiculous given the size difference - both of which are on a totally different scale.

However, where it starts to really look bad is when you compare Dublin to say Lyon, similar size city and has a full automated driverless Metro. Or Brussels, absolutely amazing metro and tram system and a brilliant bus service. Compare to Copenhagen, Stockholm, Oslo or umpteen Dublin scale cities in Germany etc and it really doesn’t look like we’ve any public transit worth talking about.

Compare Cork to many French cities of its scale and you’re likely to find at least a couple of tramlines and brilliant bus network.

We should be building some kind of Luas / Metro into EVERY suburb. The lack of ambition around public transport here is ridiculous and we haven’t been planning it into development very much. Cork actually is slightly better at this than Dublin has been but it also never gets any funds to actually do any of the projects that were planned.

Since 1922 we’ve managed to electrify a bit of coastal Victorian railway and build two and a half tram lines, which majority of which seem to largely run on abandoned Victorian railways…

Beyond that we’ve bought some modern diesel trains to run on lines that have been in place since the 1800s, and given some stations a bit of a revamp.

That's the sad state of Ireland’s progress on major public transit.

Let me break it down for you so... "always been a pleasant experience for me".. again typical of the "I'm alrite Jack" attitudes being displayed here by some posters...

London, and Paris have Transport Police, what part of the fact that Ireland doesn't have any didn't you get... And of course in cities with populations multiples of Ireland will have anti-social issues.. London 9 million people.. Paris 2.1 million..

oh will you go way out of that. my old parents and everyone i know uses public transport in dublin and there are no problems. you're just coming out with this nonsense to suit your own narrative. my grandmother used to take the bus into town from finglas a few times a week till she died in her 80s.

i'm alright jack using public transport in dublin as are hundreds of thousands of others. if you want me to chaperone you some day i'll offer up my services to keep you safe.

this is why you need to vote Green in the next election, the other parties have zero interest in public transport, i hope we can count on your vote

Your joking right? The greens are pushing for extra charges before building anything and will expect more taxes to build the infrastructure we pay enough as it is and the greens are being cannibalized by all other parties I reckon there will be no green party in about 15/20 years time. We all know there are issues and that we have to change but there are ways and means to implement this change and its not by charging more and taxing more is just lazy.

they're not pushing for extra charges before building anything. seriously hope we have your vote in '25!

"nonsense to suit your own narrative." bit rich coming from you...

"if you want me to chaperone you some day i'll offer up my services to keep you safe" You'd love that i'd say Sunshine!

well it's just f*cking weird that a grown man is going on about safety on dublin transport when everyone i've ever known in dublin has no issue with it. man up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,537 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,345 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Do you know something that the expert panel of medics and other professionals who recommended the James site didn't know?

You don't site a hospital based on parking. You site a hospital based on best medical outcomes.

Not sure if you're being disingenuous here or not but this is a matter that's been controversial for many years now...

One example: https://www.facebook.com/connollyforkidshospital/