Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbours! How do ye get on with yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Bawnmore

We bought our house a few years ago and we have no neighbours at all. Our nearest neighbours are probably 2km away at least so I've met them, but we don't know them. This mightn't suit everyone, but we love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Apiarist

We get well with all of our neighbours (Dublin estate). One has a very messy back garden visible from our upstairs, and another likes to light BBQs with an abundance of lighter fluid which smells rank, but that's about it for inconveniences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭niallpatrick

I rent on the cusp of suburbia in a relatively nice working class estate mostly private housing and housing association, lots of driveways hedges floral very open with regards to space. Lovely Families I've known for 40+years and neighbours I've known for 7 years and they're honest salt of the earth types. There is some crap that trickled in as well doing their best to wreck the area, we've a hostel/halfway house nearby with one troublesome resident known to the locals.

The private cul-de-sac top of my street their teenage kids are just rotten bstards and thanks to them I've my cctv facing our car but I also have 3 points of street view covered as well. Gable end where they think they can gather and do whatever they like (wrong) the opposite side of the road where their pals take vids and gather in 10-15's to cause others upset and the telephony box facing the gable all covered by CCTV, almost 360 pan and 180 degree tilt fully recordable night vision and zoom including audio.

My record for chasing them off property we pay full rent for is I think 15 aged 12-16, put me in my place eh? do as you like when my wife isn't well eh? think again! they wanted attention they got the sort of attention they didn't want and the local rep may have gotten involved as well. I have them all on stills as jpegs a rogues gallery. All dated and time stamped as evidence should I need it. One of their hangers on has an e-scooter and keeps lookout. When I see him passing our block I hit record he's also a sneak thief. Caught him last year stealing easter eggs left for a toddlers supervised easter egg hunt.

The law is on my side I have nothing to lose, their parents haven't the balls to keep their own kids in check so they know not to come to my door with empty threats they can't back up, other than that everythings just peachy. (not really it's hell being honest)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭Greyfox

We say hello to each other 2 or 3 times a year, longest ever conversation in 8 years lasted 3 mins, no need for anything more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭arsebiscuits82

Mother and father in law 30m away on one side, sister in law and her family 40m on the other side. Brother in law building 100m from ours.

They're grand, but never out of our house. The mother in law would be over at 9am on a Saturday and Sunday morning and could call 4/5 times during the day then. It drives me mental.

Sister in law and her husband, nice people but jesus they never shut up when they're over. Talking about anything and he'd turn into the subject matter expert no matter what the topic.

I lost something there recently, cue the father in law going through my garage without asking rooting for it, just rocked over, opened up the shed and worked away, I bit my lip big style that day. He followed this up by rooting through the house until he found it while we were at work. You can't say anything either he gave us a site and I'd be in the wrong...

True what they say, you don't marry the love of our life, you marry the family too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,411 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I live in an estate in North Dublin for 20 years and rarely speak to my neighbours. Most have their own lives and just don't mix with each other. My next door neighbours moved in two years ago and we have never spoken to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭brokenbad

I could not live with the constant impromptu visits from in laws - free site or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭gipi

You know how in every estate, there's one front garden that all the kids gather in to play....even if the kid who lives there isn't actually there at the time?

And you know the parents who relive their nightclub days by blasting drum n bass in the front garden every time the sun shines via the recently acquired large Bluetooth speaker, making it impossible for anyone else to enjoy the sunshine?

Well, I live next door......😊

I moved into my apartment four years ago and have never had a conversation with any neighbour. I say hello to people as I pass them and they say it back. I don't know the first name of anyone in the building I live in or the area I live in and nobody knows mine.

I f*cking love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,411 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I couldn't have someone coming into my house and go through my stuff while I'm not in , or in, for that matter.

What right minded adult would think this is an ok thing to do?

Parents that don't respect their children's boundaries is a massive bug bear for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,789 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I'm lucky with mine. Apart from a small bit of noise from power washers and god awful hip hop music blaring from one car when the owner comes home and parks up, no problems, and those things are forgiveable, they're not constant.

I've probably been a bad neighbour as my gutters are in a state but they'll be sparkling tomorrow when the guy I've booked to clean them comes.

i remember one time we went on a family holiday, got home at 9pm. At 9.02 the in laws were over, I hadn’t even the last child out of the car!

My hedging cannot grow quick enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Feets

Genuine question...is it worth it to live so close to in laws ...for the land etc?

(Side cheeky question) have u ever worried about divorcing and splitting up the house cost etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,865 ✭✭✭✭L1011

One house is empty 95% of the time, which is handy as they were bloody awful when they lived there.

Other side is an auld widower who doesn't like loud noises making vibrations; but they need to be VERY loud as the houses are built like bomb shelters. But as there's more than one way to send vibrations in to his gaff, he was exceptionally unhappy with the sparks who was channelling the walls for a rewire!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,861 ✭✭✭✭banie01

In the auld lad's defence, those wall chasers are awful noisy bástards 🤷‍♀️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Wrong approach imo. I’d start telling a few minor things that are true to build trust. Then I’d start stuffing him with lies that he’ll spread.

‘I saw an architect known for doing super basements in Dublin 4 going into Dan’s at number 52 the other week. Saw a van ‘quantity surveyor’ on the side of it there a few days later….’

‘Declan and Mary at 72? Yeah, the big environmentalists, electric car and all that. Getting rid of the boiler and are going to heat the house with geothermal energy.

500 feet they’ve to drill down in the back garden. The drill rig will have to be craned over the house and into the garden and then back out again. Street will probably have to closed to traffic for a day at least.’

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Neighbours to the right are an elderly couple late 70s very nice quiet people who always have a word with you, they just want a low key retired life and im happy to help with bins and parcels etc.

However...neighbours to the left are an absolutely bizzare twosome. They came down from the west of ireland to start afresh and get new jobs. They walk the dog every night, head off for romantic dates and generally are stuck to each other. Sounds normal right? Except they are brother and sister!!! I smell a big scandal in that family but i ask no qs. Theres nowt as queer as folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 youdoyou

My neighbour (semi detached house - rental) actively ignores me. Never catch’s my eye, never says Hello, seems to leave and arrive when I’m not outside etc. I had to knock on their door twice when packages were delivered to the wrong house. They had it on both occasions but didn’t bother knocking on the door to tell me. Works from home mostly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Mundo7976

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Very good neighbours in my immediate environs in my apartment complex in the inner North suburbs of Dublin. I know four of them very well and we all look out for each other without being in each other's faces.

Chap in his 70s in the top apartment in my block is a total gent. Very intelligent, open-minded and good company. We became good acquaintances within a year of my moving in here in 2015 despite my very bad drinking sprees at the time. Fit as a fiddle at 76 as he cycles every day and keeps very active tending to the communal veg and fruit allotment in our complex. Has my partner and myself up to his place for dinner the odd time or he sometimes comes down to our place for dinner or a cuppa and a catch up.

Elderly lady next door who was one of the very first residents here back in the 1970s is quiet as a mouse and very sweet - but I do check on her from time to time to see if she is okay, needs anything etc.

Married couple on the other side, both late 30s with an 8 year old kid who is a really well behaved lad. They are sound.

The couple who live in the apt above ours are rather noisy in terms of banging things but otherwise are grand. We have been very fortunate.

When my drinking was out of control when I moved in here, I suppose that I was the problematic neighbour but I never played loud music or had the cops call round or anything. I just suffered in private and would be seen staggering drunk into my place at times - but two neighbours here used to sometimes call in with hot food as they knew I wasn't eating much at the time at all.

That's real neighbourly spirit. 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Last two paragraphs are beautiful. Sound load of people you got there.

I'm the quiet neighbour. Just go about my business. Have a quick chat (mostly under duress), but not upset and most are sound. I'm just happy to be left alone.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,783 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

That sums up what neighbours are in an ideal world. Long may it continue for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

and occasionally I have been here when needed... Like when a neighbour banged at my door yelling" EVACUATION!" as someone had lit a bonfire that was endangering several houses including mine. He had no idea who to call to get help. On a small island fire rapidly becomes a danger for several reasons as happened here once when several houses burned down. The islander who would usually handle this was off island and the neighbour had no idea who to call... I made the call and fire dealt with very efficiently by the coastguard, fire service, R118 and Gardai .. a few other smaller occasions so I now have my niche of usefulness within the neighbourhood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Neighbours are perfectly civil but don’t allow their kid’s play with ours despite being in the same class, it’s regrettable but East Galway is the most clannish place in the country and neither my wife or I are seed , breed and generation

thems the rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

That is dreadful. The children are the hope of future integration... The first time I visited the island to look at this place I was sidelined by the ferryman seeking t o know my (Irish) pedigree. I do have two separate distant connections in Ireland from generations ago and I took it in good heart. As a good future neighbour should...I am very self sufficient so as long as i can get supplies etc..And as the years pass openings to be of actual use arise. Takes time ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I wouldn’t call it dreadful, the kids have plenty of friends at school and playdates, our kids and the neighbours kids do know each other at school but just no visiting each other’s house

It’s half three of a Sunday. Mother in law on her third visit of the day……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Terrier2023

50 sheep on the left, 6 horses on the right and me in the middle with my greyhounds & cats a perfect place loads of trees small birds foxes and pheasants, no humans absolute bliss !