If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tesla Talk

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,492 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I wouldn't go for it, but be interesting to see final production model, kickstarters have given us some gems over the years

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭silver_sky

Interested to see what's announced at March 1 but it seems like at least from the brief mentions in the call last night, we may see a Tesla van. Others are slow in this space, and/or expensive with poor range. Just look at the Transit or Sprinter. New entrants are struggling to get off the ground (looks at ARVL shares 😔).

Van would be a nice platform for various things incl camper and also of use for Tesla service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,120 ✭✭✭✭unkel

In 2027? 😂

Tesla should concentrate on pumping out the cybertrucks by the 500k or more a year asap. These will have insane margins, might be around 40%. Annual sales of pick up trucks in the USA alone per year is over 2 million. Tesla could take a large slice of that as everyone else is struggling to sell these for reasonable money / at a profit.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

Still convinced the Model 2 is there in the background and now Texas, Berlin, Shanghai ready that it will be launched at very short notice.

That's when Tesla take over, imagine a €30k Tesla (new)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,945 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

If I was buying a Tesla that's the one I'd consider (assuming we'll be 10 years plus waiting on a Model 1). Could be perfect second car for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,290 ✭✭✭zg3409

I have seen a real product for stick on buttons for Tesla. Each is stand alone Bluetooth and a box receives the press and tells the car. It's around $400 and you can stick the buttons where you like and assign them to anything like open glove box etc. One demo is sticking them to rear of screen for common things without blocking the screen.

I don't like kick starters particularly where a real solution exists today.

I prefer buttons.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Abstract Ocean sent out the email yesterday alright. €305!

I bought this car because of the lack of buttons, my hole am I spending money to add buttons!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭silver_sky

I don't expect anything to be announced out fast but it is about another platform. I don't think they'll go for the smaller car segment just yet. They still have room where they are and on the commercial side now with the Semi it makes sense to have another offering on a smaller scale.

Agreed. No need for a cheaper car with much lower absolute margins yet. That's last on the list, after priority has gone from cybertruck to semi and market domination established there too. Maybe for when they are getting closer to 10 million cars per year. Not even sure if that's the market Tesla wants to be in. Gonna be a ton of real competition from Chinese manufacturers in that segment.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

Let’s see on March 31st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Rusky rusky

Cheap M3, one careful owner:)

Yes! Another crashed one. Forget about rebuilding, that's a write-off. Now gimme those batteries.

O ye of little faith! And here we are just a few weeks later and the price is back up to what I paid for them. Obviously I didn't buy the bottom of the dip, fair play to anyone who did. But I've no doubt this will make me a lot of money (relative to the investment). And yes the realised CGT losses on the sh1t other stock I sold can be nicely offset against TSLA gains in the next few years to come, to avoid paying any CGT (my investments aren't big)

Nice sly dig BTW 🙄

Yes very happy the way my $108 dollar shares have done since I bought them less than a month ago. I figured out the stock would go up after the results and then the price cuts have given it another push.

I knew you wouldn't raise your head until you were back in the black. Like the betting forum here at times where lads like yourself are always blowing about their gains but neglect to mention their losses ;)

Agh, don't beat yourself up over it.

You got it wrong. We all do it.

From your tone you never thought that would even be possible, did you? 🤣 Not even in years, let alone in a few weeks. And things are only starting dude.

Now to forward plan offsetting my big gains on TSLA against the realised CGT losses of the sh1t stock I sold....

Only gains if you realise them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

This is true. Numbers on a screen otherwise. My young lad bought 4 shares at rock bottom last month. His first shares ever purchased. Glad he took my advice, as the chance of him losing anything on them are extremely low.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

Trading212. I recommended against Revolut for trading. Took me more than a week to withdraw funds from them last year and TSLA had gone up by about 100 per share by the time I had funds back from Revolut to buy elsewhere.

Stay Free

I used 212 before alright but I don’t have any shares anymore.

I bought Tesla on Revolut 2 years ago and sold last feb when buying the M3P. Haven’t fables back in.

Im waiting on my crypto to make it to the moon 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭Redfox25

Using etoro atm, will see how it goes

I don’t do sticks guys but the following popped up on my feed today, so fitting I posted it here.

Might suit some of Wolf of Boards Street heads 😃

https://www.thestreet.com/investing/cathie-wood-names-the-1-stock-shed-buy-today-if-she-had-to-hold-it-for-10-years?fbclid=IwAR0PZ4hZTBqpNLu8rCgQ051gFh-hRadCLfl9ldhDCwe_mBWJunU68jPlizc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭yermanthere

As above, Can Tesla from ROI charge at Tesla Belfast?

Are there any other Tesla chargers in NI?

The reason I'm asking is that Dublin to Donegal would be an annual holiday for us.

Any Tesla can charge at any Tesla SuC throughout Europe, the only limitation is older Model S or X which need an adapter to use V3 (CCS only) SuC.

All you do is plug in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭yermanthere

Fantastic!

Which leads to next question...

Are Tesla chargers in NI/ Belfast very busy? I see there's only 4 chargers.

Apologies if I sound uninformed. I have a booking on MY, and getting questions from interested parties...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭fricatus

Not sure how busy they are, but I'm guessing the point of your question is whether you can expect one to be free when you turn up.

There's no guarantee of course, but Tesla are good at managing that side of things. They use overstay fees at certain times and sometimes time-dependent pricing to manage demand, and always seem to be ahead of the curve, except in a few cases, like Thanksgiving in the States.

I'd consider myself unlucky if I rolled up there and all the chargers were taken. Even at that, one would be free before long. I charged there on 3 Jan and there were no other cars charging. Someone arrived during my session, but we were done in 15 minutes.

The screen in the car will tell you how many of the 4 stalls are occupied, it also knows how long the current cars are there and SOC so on the offchance all are occupied it will tell you "short" or "long" wait.

In all my time I've never encountered a wait at a SuC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭talla

Not sure why you would go via Belfast to get to Donegal.

If going to East Donegal (Letterkenny/ Inishowen areas), then obvious super charger would be Castelbellngham on M1 and then inland from Dundalk to Castleblaney and join up with the N2 or continue on M1 as far as Newry and then cut accross to Auchacloy and A5.

Theres also the option of the ESB chargers in Circle K Monnaghan Town (150kwh & 50kwh chargers) if going completely by the N2.

If going to West Donegal, then you will be going in a completely different direction either via Sligo or Cavan.