Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'I pay €700 for a bed in a room with four people'

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

Fine Gael and Fianna Fail property developer cronies, they want totally unlimited immigration and no building of houses, they wan't no small time landlord either. These people are so corrupt it is unreal. They are the enemy of the people. Everyone in the same boat and bringing in thousands of scammer immigratns pretending to be refugees ontop of the genuine Ukrainians and Latina students like this has the country at absolute bursting point. There needs to be a marshall aid type plan to start investing into proper infrastructure, motorways and railways, build high rise and a common sense immigration policy that deports anyonje who comes expecting welfare and free housing after say 3 months. Work or go home and the same for Irish work or no benefits. Slash and burn the nordic social model and use tax revenues to grow the economy with infrastructure instead of diverting it all into corrupt cronies pockets. Ireland does not give a crap about refugees or Ukrainains it is all about how much money politicians friends and family and donators can get off the govt teat.

• Registered Users Posts: 685 ✭✭✭foxsake

assuming the rent is equal , 5 x 700 = 3500 for one room. one room. so I assume there are more rooms in said building.

you could get a full gaff for less than that in parts.

admittedly I'm not renting so out of the loop a bit but something doesn't add up.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,683 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Are we willing to accept less in Ireland in terms of accommodation? I think so.

I think so too.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,132 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

That's the problem. Firstly it costs a fortune to rent a house. Secondly, you need to have friends to rent with because you can't afford even a one bed by yourself. Thirdly, you have to actually find a house that you can rent.

Otherwise you look for a room/bed in a house. And it's got so hard now that people will pay that much just for a bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,132 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I'm in Dusseldorf. 1,100 cold rent a month for a nearly 100m2 apt. It's 10 minutes walk from the equivalent of Templebar and Grafton st.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,485 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,356 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

I must be missing something here. 700 a month and there’s four other people. If they’re paying the same that’s €3500 a month for a room. I don’t believe this story.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,356 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I saw a job advertised in Paris yesterday. Research the city and the word seems to be that London is better.

What's it like living in Germany?

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 43,025 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I thought those English school visa scams had been closed down

Employers are breaking the rule all over the shop and there is no enforcement since revenue are getting tazes, the vast vast majority of those English schools are engaged in visa fraud and are visa factories, most of the Brazilians and other Latinos are working far in excess of the 20 hours, working deliveroo or working cash jobs like cleaners and caring for the elderly. Only the minority of them are young genuine students with rich parents funding them to study actual proper English, the rest are economic migrants up to 50 years old abusing the English language visa scheme, no other country except Ireland allow language students to work also.

They go to sham schools and their classes exist of semi-illiterate teachers showing them things like Derry girls, tours to the Guinness factory (yes!). A total scam again designed for FF/FG scum landlords to rip them off, everyone except the political elite cartel of politicians, businesspeople, shareholders, high ranking civil servants and the legal profession are all involved and benefiting. Everyone else is being exploited, if your from a crappy Favela in Rio then peddling a deliveroo around Dublin and saving €100-€200 per month seems like huge progress in your life. They want to work and fair play to them and I would have no problem rewarding work. The problem is the welfare tourists from the middle-east and sub-saharan countries like Somalia who abuse the system, don't work and show up without documents or claim to be persecuted LGBT for asylum purposes when in reality they are islamic homophobic bigots themselves.

The housing crisis coupled with open borders is going to cause alot of huge social problems going forward and the working and welfare classes are now backing the likes of Derek Blighe whilst the bourgeoisie in places like Dalkey benefit from it but the squeezed middle class poor lad is hammered in taxes to pay for it all. The brightest and best are leaving again as Ireland is so corrupt and the housing crisis coupled to inflation has left it practically impossible to survive and work and you would want a minimum of €20 per hour to have a fighting chance, no wonder so many give up and become dole lifers.

• Registered Users Posts: 37 palette

At the rate people are arriving into this country there will never be an end to the housing crisis.

At the rate people are being shoved into every nook and cranny in the back end of nowhere the housing crisis is going to exist in every nook and cranny. Working from home won't make a difference when you can't squeeze into shed in a one horse town.

The upshot of this is chaos. It is baked in now. All of the people that profited from this artificial crisis will be on walking sticks sooner or later, and all of the far greater number of people and younger generations paying for their greed will take their place in running the country. No crystal balls needed, the backlash and probable punishment will be unmerciful. What goes around, comes around.

Has he considered “learning English” from Mexico.

Or even from the English speaking country Mexico borders.

The global economy is heading into a 2008 style free-fall collapse, all the vested interests of FF/FG cronies must be protected, all the investment properties that NAMA sold have gone back into their hands whilst their private debts were socialised. Normally in an recession house prices would fall and rents go down, but keep shovelling in migrants and it will ensure that prices remain high and the protected elite will keep benefiting.

There is no fiscal prudence or responsibility only keep the printing presses spinning forever and print money and borrow borrow borrow and never invest one cent into any infrastructure or something sensible. Inflation will keep running at 10% indefinitely and the Government are are in charge of a train and they keep adding more fuel to the fire full steam ahead because they know they will be absolutely wiped out in the next election and Sinn Fein come to power, they want to make things so bad that they themselves will look good again in comparison to SF so their pigs at the trough can keep feeding and stealing state funds indirectly.

In many other countries a military coup would have been staged by now to overthrow our oligarchy because we don't have only a facade of a democracy. But they use everything to divide the people and keep them fighting over crumbs at the table.

• Registered Users Posts: 37 palette

There won't be high prices when the money runs out. Blood from a stone cannot be gotten.

Even if the money were magically infinite, all younger generations down are going to wallop these greedy shaisters when leadership is passed.

This is not an ordinary political situation. This is a multi level crisis, years in the making, reaching its conclusion.

So either the hysterical greed is punished soon or it is punished later. Whether it comes down to mass asset seizure, new targeted taxes on inheritance, migration freeze, deportation, citizenship rewriting, who knows. Consequences.

The one thing you can bet on is that this is not going to last longer. It could never have lasted.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

That's a great deal. Dusseldorf is quite different to Berlin though. 100m2 is a nice size as well. Let me know if you're ever in Berlin for a pint.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Germany is a big country and the experience of the expat/immigrant depends entirely on where they live. I used to live in Mecklenburg, east Germany and very much east Germany. I have heard so many stories from friends who said they were racially abused here and shouted at to the tune of wir sprechen hier nur deutsch (we only speak German here)!

Berlin is fantastic for me. Plenty of diversity in the city (well mainly developers and artists) so it's all good. The biotech start up scene is beginning to take off here so I'm trying to get a permanent job in the city. I currently alternate between Berlin and other parts of Germany. Let me know if you would like to visit and I would be happy to meet for a pint or three. I used to live in England and I am happy here but you really do have to learn a bit of German. No problem with that but some people are under the misapprehension that all or even most Germans speak English.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Nothing wrong with the Nordic model, at least the Danish stream. But sadly we are going down the swedish route.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 13,828 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I know it's not a solution to the overall problem, but why aren't the Universities and IT's lumped with the student accommodation issue? Why aren't they being forced to find, fund and build student accommodation? I don't understand that part. I know they have some, but they should have enough for everyone. That would free up the public market then. Granted, free it up to fill it with random immigrants, but still, might open up a few places at least.

Any "landlord" forcing what's happening in the OP (if real) should be prosecuted. Surely a H&S issue at least?

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭L.Ball

• Registered Users Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

Immigration is just one aspect of the current accommodation shortage. There are other factors to consider that are probably more significant.

1. Landlords expectations. A future election of a Sinn Fein government and/or property referendums and with prices so good, now is a good time to exit before becoming trapped with further rent controls in a high inflation environment.
    2. Refurbishment: Many properties built during the Celtic tiger boom have exhausted their tax schemes and are now due for some refurbishment work, this is to be expected after 20 years. Property is generally a depreciating asset unless you maintain it.
    3. Interest rates, rental yields, REITS: The low interest rates and rental yields have attracted foreign investment funds, many rental properties are being sold to German, Israeli and French funds, including the pre-63 stuff. There may be other consideration for tenants. This is one of the major consequences of ECB negative interest rates, they destroyed the bond market and the pension funds need yield to meet their obligations in an older, greyer Europe.
    4. Refugees: The fees paid for refugees are €100 per night,  €135 if the landlord provides food, get 2 to a room and let the taxpayer funds roll in. There are some operators in this game who will buy up existing rental properties, and insist existing tenants are cleared first. This competition has an impact on the availability of property for those on the HAP scheme.
    5. Taxation, insurance and regulation: The days of the slumlord are gone, taxation on "unearned income" is 52%. Enforcement of safety regulations and council inspections have increased, the maintenance cost with that overhead has increased.

There is a lot going on and you cannot attribute the current situation to one causal factor.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

Thanks for this, S.

To be honest, my head's a bit of a mess. Brexit Britain has my head a bit wrecked but the opportunities seem to be concentrated here. Unless, I'm looking at the wrong sites.

Nice to hear that Berlin has a biotech scene. My background is mostly cell imaging at this point. I've identified a few places in Paris, the Benelux area and some of Germany, namely Heidelberg and, for some reason, Mainz. Hadn't considered Berlin. There are a few IP law spots in Munich but that's absurdly competitive as the EPO operate from there.

I've no bother learning a language. I was researching Paris yesterday but I don't think it'd be better than London. My main gripe with the language thing is how I function while learning it, ie asking for a specific haircut or explaining something like nausea to a German GP, that sort of thing.

I'm working my way through the EU capitals. Might PM you when I get round to Berlin!

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 22,242 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Property developers want no house building.... Riiiight

The property market is absolutely fubar right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

With no end in sight.

There are 28 properties to rent in Cork city. 1 for every 4.5k people which is just insane. I remember renting in 2014 and it was tough then. Maybe 800 a month to get a nice one-bed in Dublin county. Its doubled since then.

Yeah. I thought I had it tough when I was starting out 20 years ago, but. It's gotten so much worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,107 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

That's nothing. Sure I paid 700 quid for a bed in a room with 4 people for one hour before.

The moral of the story is that hookers are expensive, even in Moscow Hotels.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,828 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Just checked Daft for Limerick. I see some properties have literally doubled since I last saw them, apartments at twice the price from years ago even though older and more used. 14 properties in County Limerick (it says 16 but 2 are in the city), cheapest is a Ber G house with no pictures at €1000 a month, most are above €1500 and a lot of them above €2k. €2500 for a 2 bed apartment on William St. I was renting a 2 bed apartment on William St for €800 a month in 2005. I lost it when it was increased to €900 the following year. Now, it's around €2500 (I'm assuming based on other properties in the area).

My first apartment when I moved county was a 2 Bed to myself in a 10 apartment building. I believe that was only €750 a month and was fairly big. I rented a 1 Bed for €550 a month (which stupidly made me think I could afford a mortgage). I see €1000 a month gets you a 2 floor box "apartment" (converted garage attached to someone elses house) in Ferrybank now.

Sub-letting maybe? Also a scummy practice.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

No idea why he doesn't leave? Plenty of other places to "learn English"