Paschal Donohoe expenses controversy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,347 ✭✭✭Floppybits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭howiya

Looks like it's going to drag into next week now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭TipsyMcStagge

Yes I think we might start hearing the phrase "this has become a distraction form the important work of government" soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭Sconsey

So he did not appoint him to either board? I thought that was the crux of this whole controversy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,206 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Are you looking for the file stamped "Crony Appointment"? Donohue had a massive say on who was appointed and how. You know how it works. Don't be so naive.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

So I am the one being naive because even though he did not appoint this guy, he actually did appoint him? wha?

I think the crux of the issue is why he accepted a donation from this individual, didn't declare it and is now trying to reengineer the figures to make it fit in the only box under which he could of accepted it.

Maybe his second statement will shed some further light on it.

Is this not the third statement, we had one on Sunday, another yesterday to the Dáil and now another one to come? Maybe its third time lucky for Donohue.

Sorry you're right. Was only counting the Dáil statements.

Fair enough, all the other noise around non-appointment of this lad to various boards is just people jumping to conclusions by the looks of it. People on here have moved from 'he appointed him' to 'he had a massive say'...pure speculation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭notwhoyouthink

I rarely publish on this forum. But I have to weigh in.

This whole story is a complete and absolute waste of time. We are talking about a puny amount of money.

Should he have declared it? Yes.

Should he update the record? Yes.

Is he aligned with vested interests? Most definitely, but they all are. Coveney tried to give Zappone a job. Leo gave a contract to a friend. there is no difference. Most politicians have vested interests.

Donohoe is a good minister. He has managed the finances prudently, probably too prudently but that is a policy choice. He is widely respected by business. he has a string reputation in Europe that is to our collective benefit. If this were a question of how using ministerial office for private gain, then he should resign. But we are talking about a few poxy posters when our health service is in the gutter and at a time when we have a housing crisis.

So let's move on. If any ministers should be resigning, it should be on the basis of failed policy or serious indiscretion, not a few posters.

So it should be just accepted then, Where does the line get drawn or should all the rules for TD's and Ministers be scraped or should it only apply to certain partys and not to others? This has also blown up not because of the other parties in the Dáil but the cack handed way that Donohue has handled it, whoever his advisors are and I am sure he has a few would need to be sacked.

You're missing the point. The speculation is that he couldn't have declared it because it was a corporate donation above the legal threshold. This is why people believe he is trying to be cute with the figures to minimise the size of the donation so it fits in the only heading under which he could have accepted it.

2016. Dublin Central was a four seater, becomes a three seater. Pascal and every other sitting TD was under pressure to retain their seat.

It was only a few poxy posters. The spend was quite possibly the difference between him being elected or not and then not going on to have the career you referred to in your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭notwhoyouthink

I'm just not following this story anymore. It makes me so sad that political and media discourse has descended to this level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭jmcc

Really funny to see all the crude attempts to downplay Donohoe not declaring the donation. FFers must be absolutely seething at this stage. It is getting hard to keep up with this rapidly changing story.

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

Another twist in the story.

SF was pushing this question in the Dail and in the media. Do they know something?

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,206 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Peter Burke was actually funny on Prime Time. He was asked about the 2020 posters but I am not sure what he answered if he answered at all.

Red red rotten. New Politics FG style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

Angry is on the afters there making a holey show of himself.

Harping on about some northsider paying cash jobs for putting up posters?

It must be a slow enough week up in Gweedore. You would think he should be up there sorting them out? Blatant neglect of his constituents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Tea break in the garden outside the FG strat comms units office

fire fighters.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

One thing that is remarkable about all these FG crony scandals is that whenever blanch comes on to the thread to declare that it is all over then it always turns into the kiss of death for the Minister concerned soon afterwards.

Anyway I wonder when we will get to the 'lessons have been learned' stage of FG crony scandals?

Getting worse for Donohoe. FGer (Peter Burke) on RTE's Prime Time all but admitted that Stone was involved in Donohoe's 2020 campaign. The best little FGer in FF only provides limited support while waiting to see what Tuesday will bring. The Indo keeps putting the boot in:

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

I don't like my job too much. If I but give bould Pascal a grand, he'll set me up with a nice State appointment. Squire Hockey was so much more expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,240 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I think he’s a poor finance minister- I need only look at my monthly payslips to confirm. Middle income earners are paying extortionate taxation and getting nothing in return. Yet this lad is lauded as some kind of messiah. Truly mind boggling

How many ministers did Martin lose in his first 2 months as Taoiseach? Was it just 2? Crony Coveney came close.

Leo could be at 2 very soon and it's been less than a month.

Oh what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭mattser

The same Indo that are buddies of FF/FG we're constantly told by some here ?

Stone will be a government advisor next. Do you think Paschal is toast?

And why does he have to wait until Tuesday for the next Dail episode? I am sure he would have rathered it was done before the weekend.

What you may be seeing are market forces in action. The Sindo and Indo have been losing readers and previously Dinny O'Brien had been the largest shareholder in IN&M. He was forced to sell his 500 million Euro worth of shares for a loss of about 450 million and Mediahuis, a Belgian company, now owns IN&M. The effectiveness of The Ditch can't have gone unnoticed and this may be an attempt to gain readers by the Indo. The Ditch got two government ministers. The Indo wants to get one too. If the removal/resignation of Donohoe brings on a GE then FF and FG may be in trouble and a majority SF government is not unthinkable as a result of the next GE.

Regards...jmcc

Regards…jmcc

Agree 100%. This is the Indo seeing that what exposure the Ditch has gotten while looking at their sales slumping and now they are trying to cash in on this. I said previously on this thread that when the Indo released this story that they didn't expect it to blow up as it has done. They probably thought they could throw out the story about Donohue not registering a donation correctly back in 2016 and it would make it look they were actually independent and not just a mouthpiece for the government and not really cause much damage. I suspect they never expected it to blow up the way it has done and the reason for that is the cack handed way Donohue has handled it which is actually quite shocking for a Senior Minister, coming out with the first statement on sunday evening was the start of it as by doing that it made people sit and take a notice that maybe this was more serious than it was and since then it has been snowballing. Whoever advised him to do that should be sacked.

I just can't see FG/Varadkar getting rid of Donohue. He is too important for them to get rid off and if they did have to get rid of him I think the government would collapse. There is no way that FG can get rid of him, they will just have to brazen it out and probably have to make some concessions to FF and the Greens to keep Donohue in his position. If you look at his statement the other evening in the Dáil there were very FF'ers there to support him.