Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bus curtailments in Tallaght

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Someones little darlings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Jizique

Halloween comes early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Muller1991

From speaking to a few drivers in Ringsend, I honestly do not blame them. Safety is a priority. It also looks like they are prepared to sit this out for the long haul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

I rang Tallaght Garda station one night in need of a Garda and was told there was only one car and it was dealing with a road traffic incident, and it had somewhere else to go after that before it could come to me. This is in Tallaght - with a population of 80,000 people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,107 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

It's no surprise that drivers don't want to drive in west D̶o̶n̶b̶a̶s̶s̶ Dublin. Place has been a war zone and no action taken.

We needed a specialist transport police years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john boye

I assume the 54A is included in this but I haven't seen it mentioned anywhere

I wouldn't think so the 54A Turns left after the Square and into Whitestown and then on to Kiltipper to terminate. It mainly stays away from the problem areas.

No mention of the 54A in any of the news articles I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭mikeybhoy

Why isn't the 175 affected that takes a similar routing to the DB routes diverted. Do GAI not want to not notify customers they are diverted or do GAI disregard the health and safety of its drivers and passengers.

Might be something to do with the Union statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,904 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

I live about a 1000 yards from the garda station as the crow flies.

Regularly while I sit in traffic with my fellow commuters I witness lads on scramblers/quad bikes tearing through red lights, down the wrong side of the old bawn road.

All a couple of hundred yards from the station, not a guard to be seen. But drive the n81 and you regularly see traffic stops 20 squad cars deep across both sides of the road.

They've plenty of guards to do the work they want them to do.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I've been on many a 56A around Maplewood Shopping Centre with the bus egged or more recently the centre doors pelted and broken.

It's an ultra close range slow corner so a sitting duck for the lads hanging around the Super Valu there.

The newest PA model bus is run on that route too!

I live just off the Old Bawn Road. Forever seeing scramblers and the likes heading on or adjacent to the Avonmore road either heading to Dodder Valley Park or towards the N81.

I was at a wedding in Naas a few weeks back and there was 2 ex DB Buses on as a Private hire. As we approached Tallaght the driver of the bus I was on would only stick to the main roads as there was groups of teens etc out after 3am pelting stones at buses.

where are the parents is the question I have to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭noc1980

In before the usual "hApPeNs In EvErY CiTy" nonsense. No it does not. Place is an absolute kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭StreetLight

A press release on the Dublin Bus website at 5.55pm this evening provides for a revised routing. Basically all routes will operate to and from their respective termini, but will not serve the troublespots of Brookfield and Killinarden Heights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,857 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

What parents? In Jobstown, 60% of families are single parent families. 50% male unempoyment etc. Its a toilet.

FB_IMG_1673547897580.jpg

Seems it was to be affected, at least earlier, but I'm not sure if the compromise has changed that.

It doesn't get it too bad but the area around the Killinarden House can be a bit spicy at times.

The DB curtailments are driver action, not company action. I've no idea if GAI drivers are taking the same action. Don't fool yourself into thinking DB are doing the honorable thing here and the other company isn't.

Hopefully A&E services to areas like that will follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 nidek

I am a resident of the Jobstown area and a regular user of the 27 bus.

In the last few weeks the level of incidents on the bus has skyrocketed, from theft, yelling and disorderly conduct.

All of this was caused by a group of teenagers of about 8 people between the ages of 14-20. They were always the same.

It was something that was seen coming, nothing ever happens to them, sometimes the driver stopped the bus and called the garda, but little else.

It is a pity that for such a small group we have to affect all the neighbors. But I fully support the drivers, there should be 0 tolerance to anti-social behavior.

I also believe that the problem is not solved by enforcing the law only, you have to make initiatives in the community.

For example.

If there are young people who like to race motorcycles, encourage local competitions and the creation of racing teams.

If there are young people who like to fight, make boxing competitions.

In jobstown there is a giant jobstown park, why not make local events for young people?

Although I don't justify it, many of those teenagers don't do evil because they want to be criminals, it's because they don't know any other way to focus their energy and fun. Sometimes the family environment doesn't help either.

I think that the solution to these problems is a work between the city council, local associations and neighbors in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I think the opposite , kids whos parents couldnt care less about them , kids who parents are out drinking and on drugs and who dont give a damn about their kids .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭mikeybhoy

GAI drivers should be doing the same after all GAI drivers are represented by SIPTU and NBRU same as DB.

Yeah it seems odd that they're not but who knows what's going on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭dtothebtotheh

So many acronyms in this thread , after 12 years in Australia I really feel like I’m living in a different country to the one I left, what the hell is GAI???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

If SIPTU and the NBRU haven't referred to GAI drivers, it's because they haven't been complaining as much. The 175 doesn't serve any of the most badly affected areas. There have been isolated incidents on the 175 over the years (some particularly nasty), but even Fortunestown Lane, in spite of its reputation, is relatively quiet at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭dtothebtotheh

Jesus Christ, who are the NBRU & GAI, I know who’s siptu is, but a google search doesn’t find me about others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

If there are young people who like to race motorcycles, encourage local competitions and the creation of racing teams.

If there are young people who like to fight, make boxing competitions.

In jobstown there is a giant jobstown park, why not make local events for young people?

There's no places to legally ride motorcycles and NIMBYS won't allow it. There's is/was a lot of waste ground around the affected areas and none of the lads on scramblers every went near it to race. They rather doing wheelies up the middle of the road.

I know of several combat clubs in the area and they are willing to accept anyone. These people don't want to train they want to intimidate people

See what happened to the bike rental stations they installed, broke within a few hours. We can't have nice stuff until we sort out the scumbags

Dismissing them as "scumbags" won't "sort out the scumbags". Bored kids mostly, the majority of whom will grow out of it.