Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Room to Improve (v2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,129 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

They're doing the same with RTI that they've done with the late late toy show. Basically more focused on the human element and the actual house/toys are an afterthought. I wonder if he wanted more or less of the human element

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,834 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

RTI The Musical? "Tada, I forgot to order the metal beams for the third time this series" sung to a dramatic air with tap dancing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,599 ✭✭✭jaffa20

It was probably to have a minimum budget of 300k and a contingency of 50% of budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,822 ✭✭✭Deeec

I would love to see RTI revamped - I would get rid of Dermot and introduce a new architect to the show. Im sick of Dermot pushing his own agenda for every house - his tiny minimal chipboard kitchens which are of no practical use for families because he's not into cooking, tiny utility areas etc. I would love also to see revisits to see how previous clients are finding their homes. I bet alot of them had problems with the designs and have changed certain aspects already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,693 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

i think its too far gone to save at this point. dermots ego is too big and he is used to getting his way for too long. the budgets are huge and overruns are astronomical. it needs to start again with the focus on energy efficiency and minor changes that will imrove the home rather than tear it all apart and re do it all . budgets need to be 30-50k . rearange a few walls, move some stuff around. maybe a small extention to move utility room or kitchen to a better location . it needss to foucus on the small stuff people can do to improve the usability of their home. i put a velux window into my parents kitchen roof 2 years ago. 500 euro window and it transformed the kitchen from a dark dungeun even on a good day to an airy flood lite space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭KevRossi

There's scope there for a 2nd show on home renovations IMO. One that deals with what most of us are going through with small refits and piece by piece retrofitting.

It needs a presenter who is capable of listening to clients and explaining to us in laymans terms what the differences in solar heating vs. air source heat pumps and why one is more suitable in a particular application than others.

Also go to people who retro fitted some years ago and see how they get on.

Can also do what RTI did at the beginning and refit a kitchen, garage, attic etc.

RTE won't change RTI too much as it's a big seller for them, but the projects are so big now that they can only do a few programmes a year and that must give them food for thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,753 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

100%

His real aspiration is for a grand designs type program. Not the mass market minor but impactful upgrade market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,634 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

This sort of **** is really depressing for people who can't afford to change their homes or can't afford a home or even rent. Also throw in a load of adults who have to still live with their parents because of same. Or have to emigrate to find a place to live.

It's really bad taste by RTE during a housing crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,679 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

You should write a letter to Top Gear while you're at it.

Delivering one now personally in my Porsche. 🤣🤣🤣

Sure there wouldn't be much on TV if this line of reasoning was followed.

Maybe we'd get a lot more fair city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,297 ✭✭✭Allinall

I’m watching Brentford v Liverpool at the moment.

Should I be depressed and feeling morose because I’m not good enough to play for a Premiership team and earn €€€€€€ per week?

Your license fee is being used by RTE to pump up property prices via property porn shows like this, during a housing crisis in Ireland. That's all.

Post edited by SuperBowserWorld on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭KevRossi

On that basis they shouldn't have shown Dallas, Dynasty or Miami Vice in the 80s when we didn't have a pot to piss in, and when it was hard enough for young people to get a visa to visit the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

Roisin Murphy is a far better tv presenter imo - she listens to the clients and delivers what they want. Dermot is pompus and opinionated. Too easy for him to come out with nonsense like he wants to reinvent RTI but viewers love what he is doing too much - such nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,822 ✭✭✭Deeec

I dont like Roisin Murphy as a designer either - I know she is working to a budget but her designs are usually very poor even for a low budget - most of the time the rooms she updates end up looking unfinished. Again she inflicts her own unique taste on everybody else which doesnt work because being honest she doesnt have a good sense of style (IMO) 😂- sometimes you can even see the disappointment in their faces with what she has done to their rooms. She does seem like a nice genuine person though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,693 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

i dont know this woman . at by name anyway. but a huge no of 'designers' cannot design to what the client wants. they can design the room to their own style very well but that means nothing if the client doesnt like thatstyle. my mother and GF often watch these programes and at least half of the ones iv seen have been hidious and completely over the top. as you say you can see the disapointment in the clients eyes at reveal time sometimes.

we dont need an interior design show. we need a show about improving the layout and efficiency of your house. george clark is great at being impartial and helping the family improve things in little ways they might not have thought about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,768 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

oh for christs sake, knock it down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭touts

First plan came in to be just under the budget. Dermot must be slipping in his old age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,724 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Nooooooooooooooo!

But then my house is on the 1836 ordnance survey

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,666 ✭✭✭appledrop

Ah yeah basically build a brand new house from the shell of an old one for €320+ but oh sorry you can't have an ensuite.

Cop the f##k on Dermot.

Cowboy builder just throwing stuff into the project and therefore onto the bill without asking for permission let alone quoting in advance.

He must have been an apprentice with the gangsters building the Dublin Children's Hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,666 ✭✭✭appledrop

Yeah that's the best one of heard yet nearly €2,000 to clean up 'the site' before they started working on it.

Sure they knew when the put in quote exactly what the place was like , no mention of it then.

He is meant to be your man's friend aswell, jaysus I'd hate to see how he treats his enemy.

Your man is off to Kosovo for 6 months. The wife and his sister are taking over the build. And the sister has a look as someone who takes no ****.

The cowboy builder best friend will be thrown off site before the end of the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

Good job he's off to Kosovo if that's the nursing home chairs he wants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Muller1966

Conor has fierce notions about himself .Typical officer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

The work looks good quality but pricing in the cost of a few loads of gravel to tidy up the site is basic stuff, he's taking a liberty expecting to be paid for that

touts9:46 pm

Cowboy builder just throwing stuff into the project and therefore onto the bill without asking for permission let alone quoting in advance.

He must have been an apprentice with the gangsters building the Dublin Children's Hospital.

Dermot doesn't want to put in a big window and also wants to use fins to break the view up into smaller views?

Who are you and what have you done with the real Dermot Bannon?