Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

If it's worth doing, do it right!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Ah jeez, sounds painful..not to mention frustrating. Fingers crossed for a smooth surgery and steady recovery.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

That's a balls but at least you have clarity now and it can be sorted. Best of luck with the next steps.

I guess this means the plans to 'retire and become a bitterballen eating, beer swilling blow in Dutchman' are on-hold for now.......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Lambay island

Ah crap...The positive here is that meniscus surgery is usually non invasive. Mine was pretty badly damaged but some keyhole surgery(in and out of hosp in a few hours) did the trick. Recovery from that is also quick compared to other knee surgery. Hope you get your appointment soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

oh no - sorry to hear that.

Mind yourself B & check in here from time to time.

I know some of us runners use running for other reasons other than just running - find something else to occupy your thoughts during the rehab.

In the long term, surgery is the best solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Sorry to hear this B, hopefully you get your surgery soon then on the road to recovery.

Mind yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭diego_b

That's a balls now B but least you know what it is, get the surgery done and rehab the sh!te out of it! Fingers crossed for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,489 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Sorry to hear this B, but hopefully the prognosis will be good once you get the MRI.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

That's good news, you can get it fixed and be back in action in no time instead of hobbling along trying to get back running without a solution. Best of luck with the surgery and keep us up to date in the meantime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Post edited by OOnegative on

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Sorry to hear about the knee B. Hope you get it sorted and then focus on another comeback! Best of luck with the surgery!

So had an MRI on the troublesome knee last night and get the results next Wednesday morning to see what happens next.

I haven’t been bone idle, been in the gym doing low impact cardio on an exercise bike and elliptical trainer with no pain from the knee thankfully.

We’ll see where I go from next week……

• Registered Users Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Lambay island

Best of luck 🤞

Fingers crossed for you B!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

All the best B, fingers crossed !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Best of luck - keep us posted.

Yeah, hope the news is positive. Fingers crossed! 🤞

Good news - hope the improvement continues.

The knee doesn’t require surgery thankfully, all cartilage is strong and fully intact. Specialist is putting the pain from the inner knee down to running technique and weakness in other muscles supporting the knee.

Have been given a program of knee strengthening exercises to provide more stability and strength to the knee & muscles around it. Can run 3 times a week for now with my gym work to supplement other days I would have normally ran.

That sounds like great news to me, onwards and upwards for you now hopefully.

Good stuff, sounds like a very positive development. Best of luck with the return to running and ongoing strengthening.

Great news! Best of luck with the recovery now.

That's great B, best of luck with the return to running, I feel a lot stronger now doing my 2 S & C classes a week.

So the positive news of no cartilage damage has been replaced by desperation once more. The strength building exercises i was given have me in agony again with the knee, to the point of where I’m walking with a limp as the day progresses.

I have stopped doing them as there is no way I should be experiencing the pain I am. Have started waking at night now also with jolts of pain from the knee depending on what way I turn in my sleep.

Running seems the farthest thing away at the moment when simple walking has me suffering in pain. Really at my wits end with this injury!!!

Feck that sounds awful. What sort of exercises were they?? How frustrating that they're making the pain worse.

Clams, wall slide, donkey kicks, stairs step-ups and lying hip thrusts V.

Nothing mad in fairness.. I don't know what advice to offer! So annoying for you.

Ah sh1te. Back to the specialist? Reckon they owe you a freebie.

He’s referred me to a physio D so I’ll see how that goes. I’ve done my homework on who I’ve been referred to and they appear to run a good operation with plenty of satisfied patients .

Sorry to read this B, best of luck with the physio hopefully he can sort it out for you!

Sorry to hear Barry, feic sake, you're overdue a bit of luck - hopefully the physio can sort it out.

SOOOOOO, like every bad smell i have returned!! I've had a very frustrating 15-18 months with knee issues that at one point had me in near tears just walking. The last 3-4 weeks i've managed some consistent running getting 4 runs a week in then managing 5 this week. Its all very easy stuff but the positive thing is the knee has held up during and after runs with minor pain now and then after periods of sitting with my leg bent inwards.

I'm managing/trying to keep the sitting at a minimum as a result, we've been challenged at work to set ourselves a fitness goal for the next three months with the culmination date being Valentines week 2023. So me being a runner, i have chosen to try run a sub 19:30 5k in that time. I will only be doing easy runs and a steady run a week come December to try achive the target, if i don't make it i won't be losing sleep ,its just nice to have a challenge to see if i can make it.

I'll log my runs here once a week to keep myself honest also, nothing like the folks on Boards to take the wind out a mans sails😄😄. I will keep the running at 5 days a week with one day in the gym to keep the leg exercises/strengthening up.

Monday 7.11.2022

Rest Day, as per normal

Tuesday 8.11.2022

5.30miles Easy@8.53min/miles in 47mins 08secs

A very handy loop around the Malieveld and Haagsche Bos, couldn't get over the level of humidity in the air for early November.

Wednesday 9.11.2022

6.20miles Easy@8.53min/miles in 55mins 09secs

The weekend long run on Wednesday as i'm working weekend night shift, again in around the Malieveld and Haagsche Bos past the Dutch Royal residence today and up towards the Clingendael and back towards home. Cool morning but one think that hasn't changed with my running is the amount of perspiration😁.

Thursday 10.11.2022

Rest Day.

Friday 11.11.2022

5.90miles Easy@8.48min/miles in 52mins

A slightly hungover yet enjoyable run, the usual route as previous days, the Haagsche Bos is a true joy to run in, full of wildlife, birds, ponds, big imposing trees and miles upon miles of trails to use.

Saturday 12.11.22

3.70miles Very Easy@9.21min/miles in 34mins 40secs

A very easy run in the morning sun, loop around Scheveningse Bosjes today on the cycle paths.

Sunday 13.22.2022

3.65miles Faster@8.14min/miles in 30mins 06secs

Same loop as yesterday only over a min/mile quicker to see if the knee could maintain more than a very very easy plod. Enjoyed this immensely as did the knee, dipped well below 8min/miles on occasions and it felt great to get the legs turning over that bit more. Good to see some life left in the legs still!!

24.75 miles for the week, 5 runs more importantly, with three days of consecutive running also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Nice to see you back logging B. I hope you hit your goal and the knee behaves itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Great to see you back! I think you'll destroy that 19:30 by then. Hopefully everything holds together...including the buttons on your shirt which looked to be under pressure recently 🤣

I won't argue, a few pounds need to be shed but having two very sporty children, a dog who needs loads of walking, 5-6 miles of cycling most days has kept the belly somewhat in shape over the idle months of no running!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭healy1835

We're getting the band back together around these parts it seems! I could have done with being a Postie over the summer 😛 great to see you back pal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭ariana`

Great to see things coming back together for you B. and to see your log dusted off is the icing on the cake. Best of luck with the challenge ahead.

Welcome back! here's hoping the knee behaves & best of luck with the recovery.

Great stuff, it was nice seeing these runs pop up on Strava again so good to hear things are going well.

Great to see you back logging B😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Ah this is great to read. Had noticed the pick-up in runs alright. Take her handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Boards return number three in the space of a week! Seems like my Christmas is coming early this year.

Best of luck with the comeback B!

Welcome back, B! Great to see the recent running activity and long may it continue.

Great stuff B - super to see you back posting and finally making a bit of progress on the running front.

2022 can fcuk right off from a running perspective for me!!! I ran the paltry total of 323.5 miles over the 12 months of the year! The knee issue accounted for periods off the road but there was a lot of laziness and general lack of motivation thrown in there also.

COVID-19 hit when I was in the shape of my life, I train/live to race like us all and I’m still feeling the affects of not being able to race for nigh on two years, the motivation dwindled slowly till it became zero. The want to run/train is back thankfully so let’s see what 2023 brings me.

The Valencia marathon in December is the only goal, just to get to the start line is all I want, to feel that buzz of a big city marathon once more, Köln is a long time ago now. There will be no time goals as it stands, just the start line is all I want, I’ll need to start things slowly and hopefully progress will be smooth with no hiccups(that’s fingers crossed of course).

Happy New Year to you all & I plan on being around a lot more in 2023, may all your running goals be successful ones!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Wottle

Best of luck for 2023, great to see you still in the game.

I'm in for Valencia too, so definitely going to be following your journey.

Cheers D, seems to be a few off here heading to Valencia so hopefully we can gather a few for refreshments after!!!

That's a great goal to have, you have tons of time to train for it! Best of luck with running in 2023 B, you definitely deserve a break 🤗

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭ariana`

Looking forward to following your comeback B and wish you the very best with it. Bring it on!

Thank you very much AM & E, first run of the year this morning but I’ll tell ye all about that on Sunday.