Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oiling up the Tape Players out in Montrose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭amlinopta

On the RTÉ gravy train since 2010 based on his Wikipedia page. Couple of hours Saturday Sounds music show after the sport, some of the time. And the radio commentator for Eurovision! May be a producer as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,994 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

This thread is unintentionally hilarious because it the usual boards.ie lineup of posters whining about nothing. With not much better to do.

Pre Records/stand ins are radio industry standard in either voluntary local, paid local or national level. Particularly at the holiday time of year. This thread should be retitled ‘yet another RTE boards.ie begrudgers thread.’

It reminds me of the tone of the begrudging whiners use when they go on about the teaching profession. June, July, August etc. But clueless to the work put in outside the classroom, background work etc.

But the truth is the begrudgers don’t want to try themselves. They just like a whining begrudgery from a safe distance. While contributing feck all themselves.

Maybe except for sneering comments with piss poor imitations of presenters and callers etc. A clique of oddballs who view such things as a fun ‘pass time’ or ‘crusade’. But the posts could be copied and pasted by most of the posters. Same guff rehashed.

I always wonder how many of the posters in such threads such as these have got involved in even local volunteer radio - or do you all just ‘talk’ a good game between the sneering posts?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,994 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

'Gamed?' Proves my point odd words like that sense of entitlement. If you hate RTE anyway don't listen - simple.

It seems most on boards and the radio forum in general only seem to listen to programmes to have a whinge - RTE in particular.

This is just another in a long line of threads dressed up in different clothes - this time RTE get too much holidays - especially at holiday time. But that is nothing new in the radio industry at all levels as I said. Many programmes have to be prepared in advance - or stand ins found. That is the way it works....pal....

And you realise that most in RTE work from contract to contract? How many would like to work like that with no job security?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,860 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

You jumped in here trying to stir things up and got it badly wrong.

Very few here “hate RTE” they just want value for money, given their position … a public service outfit financed by the state, most getting paid huge money for quite modest hourly input and standard.

You make assumptions based on nothing. How would you feel if for instance Air traffic Control decided to take two weeks off around the busiest travel time of the year?

You have taken a wrong turn coming in here trying to stir things.

I’m afraid you need to understand that high salaries in the public broadcasting industry, don’t necessarily mean putting your feet up at one of the busiest time of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

No job security! Don't make me laugh.

Yeah, the likes of independent contractors like Tubs and Duffy are really worried for their jobs. Tell me the last big name who got the heave-ho from Rte? Sure George Lee was able to walk out to try his hand at being a politician, and when he couldn't hack it, walked back into a job paying 200k. Where else would you get it. And the reason we should all be concerned at such goings on is because its our money that's running rte. You're being a fool to sit idly by while it's being wasted and say we should all just switch over.

The likes of Tubs and Duffy have been suckling off the rte/ licence payers teat for a generation, with never a danger of them being replaced. Look at the likes of Mooney and O'connor as well. 200k and 250k per year for doing next to nothing. One used to be a daily presenter but when dropped still picked up serious wages for doing god knows what. And Ballsy gets 250k for working a couple of hours each weekend, that's when he's not on holidays.

Spot on N.

Anyone who doesn’t find that set up questionable is only in here to rise things up, in my honest opinion.

Its quite reasonable to question why people in public service broadcasting,funded by the taxpayer, can put the ‘shop’ on auto over the Xmas period and not expect some pushback?

Not only that but every public holiday it will be the same, whilst pocketing north of €250k.

I’ll say this anyone who thinks that kind of ‘service’ is beyond reproach and considers those who highlight this as …well cranks has to be a bit challenged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭StevenToast

I wouldnt engage with the NKM/Tubridy acolytes.....usual suspects....

This one Went off and started a Tubridy fan thread that went nowhere due to zero participation....subsequently closed!

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

Yeah, and as Steven says, that's even before you start asking questions about the link between rte and NK Management.

There's definitely questions to be answered there.

How rte always seem to pick the person who is on NKM books, rather than a neutral. Take that guy Coleman. You'd think he was the only child physiologist in Ireland. Or Eoin McGee, the only financial guru in the country.

Aonghus Cox rapidly rising as the ‘super sub’… Says in the papers….MI..various ‘backstage credits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

I happen to enjoy RTÉ 1 radio in the main. And while I expect some adjustments this week, frankly more than a lot of them are absurd and take the mickey.

Last night for one; they make the effort with some some excellent programming (Sheila and Lilian, take a bow.) and Creedon. However, cue the midnight news and it's straight into a relay of Gold. As if the audience went and did a Cinderella on it!! And Likewise on Christmas Eve; can't be arsed getting in a Late Date so up with the fader and tune into Gold. Which incidentally didn't have Xmas music programmed; shame on you Aidan Leonard!

And there has been a few years in the past when 2FM hadn't any live shows on the 25th. Had they a licence (Or backbone in the BAI) then they'd be in for a caning.

Shows total disrespect for the listeners and the taxpayer, Losty, as you quite rightly implied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,926 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Ray Wingnut Cuddihy hot on her heels. I think the Creedon gig might put his nose in front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,672 ✭✭✭RINO87

Louise starting on Monday, probably three more days of Neil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭doughef

This guy gets it !!

I followed this thread a few years ago and it’s always a lovely reminder that Christmas isn’t far away, when the first post from someone waiting to be offended pops up !!

if you don’t like it don’t listen …

btw, I couldn’t be bothered to check but I’d imagine the same contributors wait with fingers at the ready for Tubridy to say ‘kind’ or mention the LLS …

seriously … move on

It’s you who don’t “get it” dude.

All the people who post here only want one thing… value for money.

What you don’t seem to understand is the ‘don’t listen’ cobblers is long been scundered.

we are PAYING for the service whether we listen or not.

Is it too much to ask that dudes and dudesses getting paid a huge wedge show up cannot show up at one of the busiest periods in the entertainment industry?

If you are happy to be reamed by this lot …fine, just don’t throw shade on those who see it as a total gaming of the taxpayer.

Its proles who can’t see the big picture who give these lads the courage to keep up butt reaming JQT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭doughef

you say ‘dude’ more times than tubs says ‘kind’ …

i don’t pay taxes so I don’t really care but I think RTE do a fine job.

Everyone is entitled to some time off (maybe you should take some …. Dude)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,285 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I like the idea of the stars getting a bit of “heat” for missing the days when they could, potentially, pick up a lot of new listeners.

Interesting to hear, constructive, opinions on the “second string” too. I don’t listen to RTÉ very much, I just don’t get how anyone under 65 does but I guess there are people out there who voluntarily go for Virgin tv over Sky, but Newstalk are at the same thing. All their “big hitters” are out for Best Of shows and other stop gaps.

I will say I thought the ‘Late Breakfast’ show they had on Newstalk was very good and Stefanie Preissner did an excellent job presenting, the days she was on it.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Hit the nail on the head there Eee.

When you say “Newstalk are at the same….” it sets out the scenario perfectly.

They take the listener for granted in so far as they will accept any auld shïte around Xmas and new year.

Now I have no problem and fully understand folk need a break, but to think it’s a good idea to send all the so called ‘stars’ on extended breaks at the SAME TIME shows contempt they have for the listener.

it’s like when the airlines gouged the traveller back in the day with outlandish similar fares for travellers.

In other words it’s more important to keep overpaid staff happy rather than the listener.

Fork that for a game of cowboys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Ha, haw, ho.. just hold them bud, he, heh, he... till I give you de keys of the radio station. Tee hee :)

I see at long last RTE have put a round peg in a round hole….

McCullagh doing the commentary on the funeral of Benedict 16.

If ever a guy looked and acted the part of a funeral director it’s McCullagh.

Inspired casting……

And so as RTE emerge from their slumber eleven days into the New Year we slip from the lean 5 minute news bulletins, the repeats, the podcasts, the prerecorded programmes from the State Broadcaster to the ……..

The Luvvies Live

The news now is gongs and gùnas and the Luvvies gushing like caramel fountains until all these ‘awards’ are over.

Watch out for it as a lot of airtime is full of Luvvies bursting to try to blag their way into any free gig they can get.

Keeps them going till the next holiday on the Feb new one.

Ronan has the play list copied from the the 1952 one .

Couple of the Morning Ireland regulars still to resurface. Aengus Cox filling in on Friday and Justin McCarthy today, both alongside Gavin Jennings. Very unusual in recent years to have two male presenters on the flagship program.

I don't get why that program would ever need a stand-in host when it now officially has FIVE FULL TIME HOSTS.

I hope they remembered to order in extra WD40 for Monday. An extra long shift for Lilian on the Monday morning, a repeat encore of a Vincent Woods show, the Collins Collection and an afternoon of documentaries. Fun for all for family, or at least the ones you care less about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,040 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Surely a panel quiz show hosted by Kathryn Thomas, with team captains Joe "Father Damo" Rooney and Ruby Walsh

Claire Byrne and D'Arcy off again.

That’s how is rolls out in Montrose, Ni.

No shame on the whoors whatsoever.

Mid term. I'd cut them a little slack this time round.

If only all parents were able to get the same holidays as their kids.

Appears its only available in rte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

By any chance, is aenghus cox related to valerie cox, a previous RTE worker?

Was his job advertised for anyone to apply?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Red Fred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭SPDUB

Every presenter between 10.00am and 7.00pm on holidays today

And if I may say so a definite improvement, especially Drivetime which had O’Mongáin at the wheel.

Now I will be honest I’m not a fan of his rather strange accent eg ‘munny’ for ‘money’ but he is streets

ahead of that guffawing clown O’hEadhra.

This programme should be a one person presentation and cut out the stupid highly rehearsed ’banter time’ at 1655.

What are the chances of that happening any time soon….nil….zilch..nada.

Samantha Libreri filled in yesterday, just a 1 hour program, sounded good, no fake laughter or constant pleas to text 51551. She’s a big Shamrock Rovers fan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,672 ✭✭✭RINO87

Libreri does a great job when she fills in on drivetime and MI. Would like to see her get a more permanent tole somewhere.

If she could shake off that auld VM ‘Nooze’ stuff I would agree with you.

I think she would be good on a MI type show as it’s probably the last of RTEs productions that hasn’t whored itself to

plugging 51551 texts.

I find it very revealing that the stand ins for a lot of these programmes are far better than the overpaid ‘stars’.

mainly because -

1. They are usually on their own
    2. They don’t have this baked in fcukkery from the production team to have cringeworthy ‘banter spots’.

Could be looking at a reshuffle of sorts if Claire gets the Late Late gig. She would probably need to be part of the NK stable to get promoted though

Michael Cahill is filling in for Shay Byrne on Rising Time this week and he really is phoning it in as the saying goes. Yesterday he played 3 songs in a row, followed by a quick link and into an adbreak and back into a song. Today, after the O'Donnell Abu ident there was silence for at least a minute and then an RTE Gold jingle, more silence and then eventually music. Nothing to engage the listener, all "that was, this is" stuff. They would have be better off relaying RTE Gold until 7 a.m.

Cahill has always been a lazy DJ. 20 years ago when he'd fill in for Larry Gogan on the golden hour, he'd use just one triple 80s CD set

He's still using that CD. It was all pretty much all 80s music he was playing the past 2 days.

Drivetime finishing up 30 minutes early at 6.30 for a repeat program on Climate Change. Poor stuff with Biden in town.

Further proof Ampo that those in Montrose don’t give a f**k about the listener.

Suit themselves in everything .

• Registered Users Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Dr Karl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Emblematic

deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,285 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I wish more DJs would play 3 songs in a row. Creedon will do 2 but haven’t heard him do 3. A lot of that chat is just fluff.

I remember listening to the ‘Michelob Beer Hour’ whenever I was down in Cork, or Kerry, back in the day. All you got was a reminder of who was sponsoring, no other ads or talking.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis