Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Early start to Christmas festivities in Rathkeale (THREADBANS IN OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Two rival gangs. One was a load of doctors the other architects I believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Commoner

Criminal justice in Ireland is at a crossroads. The election of Leo Varadkar — whose party is aligned with reducing Garda numbers, so that we can continue as a tax haven for big corporations — will make the next two years challenging for proponents of effective policing. This challenge will be felt not only by those on the dwindling Fine Gael base, but also by those living in deteriorating urban enclaves that saw assaults, homicides and shootings spike in the second half of 2022. Most law-enforcement policy is set by government, many of which have acted recently to hamstring cops and hack away at policing budgets, making Ireland one of the lowest number of Police per 100,000 capita in the world

The attorney general sets the agenda at the Department of Justice, and there is every reason to expect the agenda to go backward.

Look at the large percent of those arrested for guns and knives are back on the street: In some of these towns and cities, if the progressive-prosecutor movement expands into the government with the appointment of soft-on-crime state solicitors, we could see a decline in the number of cases brought against violent criminals and drug dealers, as well as more leniency when it comes to charging decisions and plea bargaining. We have every reason to expect such a shift to affect crime rates like what we saw in Rathkeale the other day. It's actually happening.

Varadkar's administration could also decide to further reduce or eliminate government aid to local Garda districts. But denying local Garda equipment will only make it harder for them to do their jobs during a time of increasing violent crime. Varadkar's double speak rhetoric is one would expect to see from far-left police critics. Leo Varadkar has worked to rehabilitate his public image, recasting himself as a “progressive” Taoiseach. These shifts in tone and approach. Public safety hangs on the answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Where is all the money coming from Travellers have to buy Flash Cars , Gold Plated Coffins, Commuion Super Partys etc etc??

Its not from working anyways!!

Where we live they control the Drug trade and outside of Dublin they are the biggest players in the 26 Counties.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,702 ✭✭✭buried

WT Cosgrave must be spinning in his grave, but if he is, just dig down and stop his spinning with a few slashes of cemetery machete action.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Quitelife

The latest in Rathkeale is one crowd last night Burnt the graces/flowers Graves & headstones of the other crowds graves .....no end to their Culture

• Registered Users Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I dont know about that, there are a load of travellers barred from my local Tesco. That is the way to handle the $hits.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,439 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I just witnessed the mother and father of all bar brawls. Gardai have now parked two SUVs on the street.

More cars rammed, machetes, batons.

Reporting live from a pub in a village close to Rathkeale.

It's only a Wednesday.

Culture etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Is there any of them dead?..........I mean are they ok?

I'm... dreaming.... of a cultured Christmas

Gardai everywhere. I'm annoyed because I've chips ordered and I'm a bit scared to walk up the town. I'll try get a few pics of the wrecked cars.

Village is completely locked down.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,089 ✭✭✭Be right back

Those pesky doctors and architects at it again!!

There's a LOT of gards here now. A lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭downtheroad

Thoughts and prayers

Only way the guards are going to stop this $hit is if one of them dresses up as the ghost of Padre Pio, the virgin mary or Pope JP2 and then demand that they stop their feuding.

Might work for a day or two.

I have seen so much culture tonight.

I am blessed.

Short vid of aftermath. Don't want to upload bar brawl so as to not get in trouble.

Oops it's over 50mb. Thanks boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

About two dozen professionally trained belgian shepherds and their handlers would greatly reduce tensions.

The good people of Rathkeale are known animal lovers and those furry torpdeos have an amazing calmative effect on them

• Registered Users Posts: 5,546 ✭✭✭veryangryman

I accept my upcoming threadban. <Mod Snip>

Mod - Banned from AH

Boards, specifically new boards. You're dirt. Can't upload anything except low quality jpges.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,796 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

We are nowhere near one of the lowest. We have more police than England, USA, Australia, Norway, Canada and dozens of other countries per 100,000.

The police here are completely defunct in solving the various and numerous illegal activities surrounding this gang. What Ireland needs is a multifunctional nationwide judicial taskforce akin to the likes of the FBI that has access and conjunction to other successful nationwide taskforces such as Revenue and the SCC. That's where this craic has gotten us. Because if the state fails to address this problem, expect way way worse incoming.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

Oh they will be along to tell us it was the "settled people" that stole the travellers cars to make it look like they did it

• Registered Users Posts: 20,796 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

There is no need for anyone to make up false stats to argue that. Anyway Operation Oakleaf is a continuing Garda/CAB/Interpol action against the organised crime gangs.

What organised crime gangs specifically? Interpol are interested in the organised crime gangs that are holed up in every rural town in Ireland? I seriously doubt it. If they were, the $hitshow you are hearing about tonight in Rathkeale wouldn't be happening.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭AyeGer

It may have been mentioned already about the video of them fighting in the pub, one guy getting knocked out with and bottle to the side of the head and then the guy who hit him jumping on his head as he lay out cold on the ground. Shocking depravity.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭downtheroad

Any comments from John Connors at all? He's usually quick off the mark when travellers are being discriminated against. All quiet when they are acting like scum.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

More savage thuggery and casual violence from that corner of society again - no surprises there. I feel most sorry for the denizens of Rathkeale that have to put up with this.

Ireland has a deeply serious problem about the breakdown of law, order and civil society in many deprived and ignored parts of the country and our cities. I was told on very good authority by a senior addiction specialist working in Finglas that between a third and a half of all households in the Western part of that suburb are headed by a drug addict/alcoholic. That’s only counting heads of households, not including other members in active addiction. Yes, the extent of societal breakdown is that bad in parts of Dublin now. Very sad. 😞