Qatar World Cup 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Bullshyte.

Maradona didn't have to rely on soft penalties, and no I am not talking about last night, to score.

And yes one was with his hand, but if you want to watch class watch him turn 3 Belgians inside out, volley from sideline at half way and make goalie save, or watch him destroy England.

He scored 5 and made another 5 in 86.

Anyone that watched Maradona in his day would be of the opinion he was better.

He didn't have refs and FIFA fawning over him the whole fooking time.

Every match he ever played he got the shyte kicked out of him.

Messi has been treated like a fooking poreclain doll in comparison.

Post edited by jmayo on

I am not allowed discuss …

Yeah, but look behind the stats.

Messie went straight into good Barca team and then moved to totally dominant club in a one horse race league.

Then got to play every year in a much broader European Club competiton with a lot more games.

He never played in Argentinian league, joined an ok Barca team, got career ending injury for part of that time, then joined a mid table club in league with huge competition (Napoli Seria A) and then ended up at mid table clubs to finish career.

It is like comparing a driver like Lewis Hamilton who was parachuted into top team at very start and then only moved to other top teams rather than some dude like Senna who started off with no hopers like Toleman before gradually moving to top team and who faced greater injury risks along the way i.e. death in his case.

They couldn't really defend.

They were fanstastic to watch, but when you look back the teams they beat were USSR, Scotland, New Zealand, and a spent Argentina where Maradona lost the rag after the kicking he had gotten in the tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

So, no actual players play in World Cups eh?

And please do a little bit of research on Maradona before you start saying he did fcukall outside of world cups. He won the Argentinian title with Boca Juniors. He then went to Barcelona for a world record fee. In Barcelona he scored 38 goals in 58 games even though during that time he suffered with hepatitis and a broken ankle. He then transferred to Napoli for another world record fee. Napoli hadn't won a Scudetto since 1950. Then along comes Maradona and they win two Scudettos in 86-87 and 89-90 and were second in the 87-88 and 88-89 seasons. He was top scorer in Serie A in the 87-88 season.

You can argue whether or not he's the best ever, but it's a pile of shyte to say that he only did it in World Cups and that he didn't do it "as an actual player".

You simply can't compare Old Ronaldo to Messi or Ronaldo.

Old Ronaldo was an out and out 9. A striker. A goal scorer. The best of all time given the injuries.

Other number 9's to come close are :

Batitstuta

Romario

Kluivert for a few years

Shevchenko

Inzaghi

Guess what era I'm from 😂

They just don't make number 9's like they use to. Remember we had all of them playing around the same time. I think we have the Spanish to blame for that in a way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,647 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I can remember back to the 1958 World Cup and i've seen nobody as good as Messi and he's been consistently good for so lone. Maradona, Pele, Ronaldo and Muller were great but in my opinion not as good as Messi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭4shameee

No European cup, more contrarian horse shite. When did I say he only performed in the world cup? Tells me all I need to know about your listening skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,140 ✭✭✭✭walshb

In terms of greatest all around , two feet are a necessity. Greatest ever off both wings was ZZ. Zidane was an absolute maestro.

I did NOT say he did **** all outside world cups. I didn't bother reading the rest of your post because you never bothered reading mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,001 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It's an impossible debate to settle though really isn't it? Maradona did it in an era where attacking players faced far less protection, pitches were in worse condition etc,etc. Maradona reached stupendous heights during that era, Messi, due to his stature would have probably been kicked and ruined by injury quite early.

They're playing football from two completely different times - almost different games. On one hand you have to elevate Messi for the sheer consistency of his level for over fifteen years, wheras Maradona didn't have that to the same extent. But Maradona got far less protection and despite all that still achieved pinnacles that Messi ,to be fair, probably hasn't. It's impossible to say what he could have achieved in the game as it's played today.

Messi is absolutely the greatest I've seen in my time as a football fan: I want to believe that he is truly the greatest of all time, but I don't think that can be answered definitively.

In world cups only maybe ,not as an actual player. Old folks bolix.

There's your post that I replied to. Two sentences, and very short sentences at that. One is only 3 words. It was difficult but I managed to read it all. It's post #3182 if your memory is going.

In that post you seem to be saying he did well in world cups, but not as an actual player. How else could that be interpreted?

Anyway, no obligation on you to read the rest of my post nor to educate yourself. Have you anything else stupid to say?

Haha Messi is 2 inches taller than maradona haha

No I said he did better than messi in world cups, didn't do better than messi in anything outside world cups. I read the rest of your post , his list of achievements is very paltry in comparison to both Messi and ronaldo. The chap didn't win a European cup. biggest trophy year on year

That might have been what you meant to say, but that's not actually what you said. Anyway, moving along.

You have to remember, we aren't comparing like for like. Messi has achieved a lot, don't get me wrong but it's very difficult to compare players from different generations based on statistics. Because, strange as this sounds, doing it solely on titles/statistics etc. isn't an accurate way of doing it. For example, if you are going by the number of trophies won, then Dani Alves is the best player ever. He won 44 trophies whereas Messi has 41.

And some of today's awards weren't open to players like Maradona as he didn't qualify for entry by the time they started taking 'foreign' players into account, e.g. Ballon d'Or.

If you're going on goals per game, then every striker ever is a far better player than Dani Alves, who, although he has won 44 trophies, his goal scoring record per game wouldn't be good.

Maradona was from a different era. He was fouled way more than Messi in a time where some of the fouls were akin to attempted murder. The game is much faster now but far less physical.

Messi joined Barcelona when they were a good team. He made them better for sure. But Barcelona were winning things when Messi joined. It's easier to be successful and win things when you are in a good team. Napoli weren't even winning the coin toss in the 30 years before Maradona joined. They went from being a shyte team to two championships and two runners up soon after he arrived.

Anyway, I'll leave it at this. If I was picking a team tomorrow and had the choice between Maradona at his best or Messi at his best, I'd go for Maradona.

Neither of us can be proven right or wrong so I guess we'll leave it there. Well, I'm leaving it there. Have fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,808 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

So Argentina are home team on Sunday and will be in blue/white stripes, same as 78 and 86 when they won. They lost in 90 and 14 wearing the away all blue kit. Assuming France win tonight, they will have to wear away or even 3rd kit in final?? So they will be in red??

I think France can wear full home kit in final, the dark blue shirt should not clash with the light blue/white stripes of Argentina. Then white shorts and red socks for France, navy shorts and white socks for Argentina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,318 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It's a team game, and national teams cannot buy success unlike clubs. No matter how good the star players are, their chances of winning the World Cup are only as good as the team around them. Send the star player out on a team of 8 against 11, and they won't win any games. Between them, Maradona, Messi, and Portugese Ronaldo have played in 14 tournaments, and only one winner Maradona. With Messi still having a chance.

It will be Messi vs Mbappe to see who is the 1 true king of PSG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭hayrabit

allez Les Bleus and les likely Golden Boots and Balls winner Kylian Mbabbe 😊

rude awakening for Morocco methinks ; 5-0 to the French is my score prediction!

What you actually said was this.

That is effectively saying you know fook all about how well he played in Italy or even Spain.

Too many young people think the world began when they started noticing it.

Pele was doing Cruyff turns before Cruff was even heard of.

Best was slaloming through defences on pitches that were akin to muddy ice rinks.

And our Johnny Guiles was doing Rabonas with a ball that weighed much more when wet or even damp than a modern ball.

And all of those lads operated in a culture where getting the sh** kicked out of you because you were talented was a 100% given.

The so called modern professionals would sh** their pants if they were transported back to the 80s never mind the 60s.

No no no. I said apart from the world cups Messi has of course eclipsed maradona.

I admit how I phrased it was shite and I apologize. Yeah my opinion is it's bolix that people could think Maradona was better. Even that season top scorer in serie a , 15 goals , it pales in comparison to Messi. But yeah you are right between eras people can pick whatever suits their opinion - moving on, Looking forward to tonight, hope the Morroco can make it close.

There's plenty of points jmayo can make. It's just that you won't take them on board.

No I just don't think it's close. Stats can be overdone in footballing Terms but when numbers of goals and assists are double and stuff it's probably too much for me. A romantic version might be Maradona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Anyone else think Messi's announcement that the final will be his last World Cup game was a cynical attempt to influence the match officials beforehand?

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

Yes, when they played each other in the last 16 in 2018, they both wore their normal shirts and it didn't look odd.

If anything, the French shirt now is darker - so even less of a clash.

(not that I'm discounting Morocco's chances mind you)

That's bullshit unfortunately, there is plenty that have watched maradona in his day and think Messi is better. Sir Alex Ferguson is one. Decent football brain.

Again you are judging things that aren't equal. They were different times. And yes, you are 100% entitled to your opinion. We won't fall out no matter what happens.

But how do you reckon who the best player ever is? What criteria are you using?

If you go by goals, it's Pele who scored 1279 goals. Messi has 791 which is a good few less goals.

If you go by trophies, it's Dani Alves.

If you go by European Cups, it's impossible to compare like-for-like. In Maradona's time only one club from a country could enter so if you didn't win your league, you didn't get to enter. Nowadays, if you are from a top footballing country, you can have three or four clubs in the Champions League. Napoli got two shots at it and didn't win either of those times. If they were playing nowadays, they'd have had another two shots for the two years they came second in the Scudetto.

If you go on personal awards such as the Ballon d'Or. Maradona never won it because he wasn't eligible to enter it until 1991 when they changed the rules.

It's all subjective because of the different eras both played in. You look at one website such as Four Four Two, they have Messi at number 1 and Maradona at number 2. Sportskeda have Pele at number 1, Maradona at number 2 and Messi at number 3. It's impossible to get a consensus.

Anyway, it's dinner time and then the footie.

I'll put my neck on the line. Morocco to win on penalties. Wait and see, after me supporting Morocco tonight France will probably hammer them. 😁

It has of course got to be a mixture of things , goals ,type of goals, assists, trophies , how good they were in their position, longevity ,personal awards. Etc I do think if Messi wins on Sunday there will be more of a consensus on those websites. But yeah between eras i guess will always be debated and can't be decided , perhaps that's why the Messi v Ronaldo does get so ragey because you kinda can decide. I would love to see Morocco do it , it would be great craic and the French have won enough.

No.

It makes no sense though to even "announce" it though as it's stating the obvious at his age.