Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

FI Charts ( T120+ onwards) Winter 2022/2023 **READ MOD NOTE IN FIRST POST**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,585 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Am I to be worried about potential snow next weekend, thus scuppering an annual bus tour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭rooney30

At the very least I’d be getting the tour operator to fit snow chains on that bus for ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,894 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

That's interesting about 2010, i did not realise the blocking waned that quickly. You are right that no matter how favourable the Northern Hemisphere profile might look for a lengthy cold spell, the fact that 1947 and 1963 stick out in memory proves such sustained cold is the exception rather than the norm. Background signals don't guarantee us anything and can change, my point was that while things like the mjo is in a phase that is conducive for blocking it increases our odds somewhat of a favourable outcome for those of us who want snow, not that we will get three months of snow without interruption. Anyway back to the GFS, given the unusual scenarios it has been throwing out of late, it's hard to believe the latest one has all this finally nailed. A low from Greenland helping to prolong the cold is very hard to believe. Maybe if other models start to show it, but otherwise i would doubt it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭WolfeEire
    Clare (430ft asl)

gfs-dublin-ie-535n-6w.png

GEFS ensembles for Dublin. The operational run is close to the average in the main. Staying seasonably cold for the next days and well below the mean for the time of year. They call it winter in other countries ...

Compared with this morning's run below.

gfs-dublin-ie-535n-6w (1).png

www.weatheire.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,613 ✭✭✭pauldry

A few wintry showers next week some of sleet and snow.

Milder over the weekend with heavy rain and strong winds as temperatures head up over 10c again.

That's all.

4 days of winter then back to muck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

? I’d put money on it being nowhere near +10c come next weekend for most of the population.

Have a look at the GEFS posted above by WolfeEire as a starting point.

Probably not cold enough for snow, but not too mild either, no??

D981D57B-4936-4AC0-BED0-D8797E2592F5.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Kermit_de_frog

DF28A359-804C-48CF-BA0E-0EA9F120576E.png

ECM 12z looking good moving in the direction of GFS with lower heights into Scandi and the trough being further east.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,249 ✭✭✭Oneiric 3

The models are just trying to resolve and make sense of a relatively unusual set up. Whatever peoples opinions are on the GFS, let us not forget that it was this model that picked up on that incredible heat spike back in July long before any other model.

New Moon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,200 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

That was the old operational run. But yes, a lot of things to be resolved as you say.

Photography site - https://sryanbruenphoto.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,752 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

Stolen from netweather but

Untitled Image

ECM op is once again a huge outlier. This seems to be happening a lot lately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 snowfan50

Cold weather still on course apparently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭giveitholly

If you are quoting that particular person could you at least give a bit of context instead of posting random screenshots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 snowfan50

My posts are as relevant as anyone else's, not what everyone else posts are always on the mark either,just trying to add a bit of optimism to the forum today where it has been relatively quiet! The screenshots are self explanatory. He compares analogues of years with a similar weather pattern and does his best to forecast the upcoming weather, as we all know the weather is not an exact science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,752 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

GFS 18Z is looking good! The low isn't messing up things and could actually be helping things. The cold lobe over us remains connected to the main vortex also, which I believe allows it to remain stronger. It's chosen the prolonging cold route. Will be interesting to see the GEFS later on

Untitled Image

In further frames it starts to do weird things with the low, linking up with a low pressure at Greenland. GFS really is handling these systems very strangely

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭WolfeEire
    Clare (430ft asl)

GFS 18z op sets a potentially lengthy cold spell. Next Monday even pulling in an easterly. Let's see what the ensembles shows and if this setup is supported.

gfs-0-186.png gfs-1-186.png

www.weatheire.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,305 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Don't quote that absolute eejit and expect not to be disappointed.

100%.

This is where we are and don't let any sensationalists tell you otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,138 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Post a chart showing strong winds heavy rain and 10c temps for next weekend.

I don't need to.

The most recent charts posted in this very thread are showing - 4 uppers for the end of next weekend, in an air mass travelling relatively slowly over warm water.

Did you see the weather we had today in the east? Well, next weekend we will get a slightly colder version of that, so some evening hail and wet sleet with a snow line of about 250m.

Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,138 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

So you can't post a chart showing heavy rain strong winds and 10 degrees for next weekend. Grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

You mean these charts? With low thicknesses, 6/-7c uppers and -8c following a few frames later in a slack flow from the continent, thus limiting the marine layer impact ?

Clare (430ft asl)

graphe3_00000_112_28___.png

The ensembles for the GFS up to Tuesday 13th favour a continuation of the cold spell beyond Sat/Sun with the op run pretty much matching the average. Upper air temps marginal for snow at lower levels. This is the ensembles for sea level in Dublin for example.

Daytime temps would struggle to rise above 2-3c

graphe6_00000_112_32___.png

www.weatheire.com

Clare (430ft asl)

And here is the GFS op run in its entirety (850hPa - the temperature at about 1.5 km, which is generally above the atmospheric boundary layer i.e. surface temps such as a cold/warm sea don't affect this temperature)

animatu2.gif animtvv0.gif

www.weatheire.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Dazler97

I want a northerly wind not Easterly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭KingdomRushed

Very significant upgrades to the duration of cold this morning. I would expect a lot of excited chatter late in.

GEM, ECM and GFS all going for sustained cold now. ECM really looks special

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 347 ✭✭ascophyllum

That's an amazing ECM, keeps the cold well into next week, GFS is messy after the weekend but not bringing the Atlantic raging back by any means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭bazlers

Yes looks positive compared to yesterdays ECM. In reality i wonder will the cold be as stubborn against that low.

I certainly hope so...

Clare (430ft asl)

Ecm, as expected, reflects what was showing in the 12z ECM clusters regarding the development and track of the Azores low. Without the benefit of seeing the ensembles yet, the ECM extends the cold spell into the middle of next week I.e. the end of the run. Snow showers restricted mainly to the north, northwest and eastern coastal counties (mostly but not exclusively on high ground) up to this weekend with perhaps a wider risk of snow on Wed night into Thursday morn across the island as a frontal band of showers sinks south. Amounts would be quite small generally. Next week is looking even colder than the Wed-Sun period.

animbsp9.gif animjde9.gif

www.weatheire.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭icesnowfrost

ECMWF is back on with good uppers right to the end of the runs and the GFS is good to the 18th. Too early to say but I see this cold spell going right up to Christmas. I just can’t see the milder air coming back in that quickly. Hopefully I’m right.

06F24772-986C-4E32-8865-F9F0E6C290B7.png D3665602-886E-4784-8CDC-0C7B65E5D3F6.gif