Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭pcardin

ah, u poor ruSSian lover. so sad. well, at least u got thanked by othe sick unbanned pupies here.

“I never once said that the Ukrainians SHOULD go for full on retribution”

Yes, but then you follow by saying:

”if, the opportunity came their way, that they get pay back on their Russian counterparts, whatever that may entail.”

’whatever that may entail’ suggests to me that you ARE ok with full retribution if it should happen.

And as for this:

“but I would have zero hesitation in meting out as much barbarism, pain and cruelty to any Russian soldier I came upon, I would have ZERO mercy on any of them and would ensure, till my last breath that I killed and maimed as many of them as was possible.”

If you really believe your capable of doing this why not take up Timberrrr’s (he has served in the military I believe) advice from a few pages back: quit what you currently do, head over, enlist and make an actual difference or are you yet another individual contributing keyboard warrior opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,437 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Watching the 1420 channel on YouTube, it strikes me that the main reason so many Russians are alcoholics is because they know they are living in an absolute kip of a country. It's not for cultural or genetic reasons or anything else - it's because it's an utter kip, depressing, oppressive and dictatorial.....what else would they be doing but drinking themselves into oblivion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,598 ✭✭✭francois

Interesting thread

https://twitter.com/SevaSamokhvalov/status/1598248831766130688?t=8sY60c21ejAFi1KjVAwyGA&s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Makes me think of the heroine epidemic that existed in Vietnam war for American soldiers (just under 50% of American soldiers tried or used heroine). They were really worried that these soldiers would return home and flood the country with addicts.

When they returned home most of them were able to get off it. The sentiments where that when you put people in such atrocious conditions (like war) that drug (or alcohol abuse) use shoots up with people finding their own ways to “live in” the living nightmare. Makes sense when you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Russians don’t have problems, they have misery and alcohol .

outside of Moscow and St Petersburg it hasn’t improved and it never will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

General Staff of Armed Forces of Ukraine estimates number of Russian soldier's fatalities at 90090

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,323 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ritter? Ah here, are there still some out there quoting that thundering eejit? 🤣 Even the pro Russia people I know who buy the Kremlin stuff lock stock and barrel quietly gave up on that grifter a few months back. He's trying to keep in the game with slack jawed American conspiracy nuts for his few rubles

And lest we forget the same eejit's "reasonable military assessments". Check the dates:

ritter7.jpg ritter3.jpg ritter2.jpg ritter6.jpg

Yeah.... The second last one is literally opposite land. Everything he claims actually went in the other direction. When even a stopped clock is right wtice a day, Ritter isn't even that.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Not to mention he is a peadophile and have done jail time,and he probably hates himself as much as he hates his own country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭storker

I think we can stop wondering where Darth Putin is gettign his advice from. 😁

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,323 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd say he's more a grifter, from the land of the grifter and salesman. Like I suspect of a lot of American commentators on the fringes, they don't buy the bull themselves, but tweak said bull enough so their paying audience does. Ritter's just not very good at it and he's lost the same audience.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

I believe November has been the highest month of losses for Russia... So far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,333 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

^^Corrupt & elderly absolute rulers living in obscene wealth like kings of old on the back of the populace. Moving toy soldiers about on tables, playing with the borders on their maps, ordering purges of undesirables from their comfy palaces. Yay for preserving "European traditions" and the "golden ages"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

They wouldn't be able to train and arm a fraction of that 5 million. They're spoofing.

Yes, you can tell it's not a happy country. It's like North Korea transplanted into Europe (and yet they have the regime propaganda telling them it is the greatest nation on earth....classic authoritarian dictatorship or '1984' stuff).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

Russian Nuclear Energy Corporation: A protection zone should be established around the Zaporizhia Nuclear Power Plant as soon as possible

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Great pic of women in Bucha hand making winter camo and a general update on the recent changes on the Donbas frontline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭jmreire

What you say is very true. It's what happens when a gangster takes over a Country, and sucks the very life blood out if it, which is what Putin has done. One of the reasons that Putin is kidnapping thousands of Ukrainian Children is to prop up Russia's falling birthrate, which has worsened since he came to power. So, you have an increasing death rate, (massively helped by alcohol consumption) coupled with a falling birth rate (helped by very high abortion rate, for every 1'000 births, there are 500 Abortions.) In their own way, these are all symptoms of a population railing against a Country ruled by criminals. And now, with an estimated 700'000 Russians having left to avoid conscription, plus the 300'000 newly minted conscripts thrown into the front lines, thats presently another 1000'000 out of circulation in the Russian population, and for most, maybe permanently. (Not counting the current figure of 85'000 dead)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭jmreire

Yes but if I understand it correctly, Stradaz was not speaking about the war effects as such, he was talking about Russian Society itself, even long before the war. What will come after the war if Putin is still in power will make matters 1'000 times worse for Russian society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,687 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

The twitter video in the article includes an impressive drone recording of a failed assault of Russian troops on a dug-in set of Ukrainian soldiers. The Russians imho did not appear to be poorly equipped and seemed to have some discipline in the ranks, including the idea to retreat when they realized they couldn't do what they wanted to based on terrain/cover/etc.

Fascinating video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

I had considered this but it equally applies to people who live in awful conditions. The basic premise is whether war or just bad life conditions, once a person is removed from this environment they are more likely to recover from the addiction.

It’s actually sad to think that Russian life is so painful that so many suffer this addiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,546 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I also saw reports of volunteers in Kyiv working in special kitchens preparing freshly cooked food for the front line soldiers. I doubt you'd see anything like that in Moscow somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I reckon if Ukraine can physically cut-off Crimea and also take back northern Luhansk there will be an inevitable victory. They can cut off Crimea and leave it's liberation until last. If their entire force was focused on the Donbass I can't see the Russians holding them back.

Of course they'll stay on the defensive there as long as hordes of Russians run at them but whenever that stops they'll go on the attack and I can't see Russia stopping them if there's no other fronts to worry about.

They could easily tie up a large Russia force in Crimea at the same time by just threatening to take it along with probing strikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,089 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

A MiG-31 fighter jet has crashed in Primorsky Krai of the Russian Federation during a training flight.

Russias antique restorers are unlikely to be able to help with that. Keeping those things flying is almost as incredible as the US still fielding the B-52.

I believe these are the only plane the Orcs can use to launch the 'hypersonic' Kinzhal missile. They don't seem to have very many left as they deployed only 3 to Belarus to air launch other cruise missiles at Ukraine. Those 3 returned to Orcistan a couple of days ago.

Reminds me of the song 'ten green bottles'.

Reminds one of its predecessor the MiG 25. When Viktor Belenko defected to Japan in 1976 with one, after examination it took a while for Western engineers to understand why it had vacuum tube electronics, until they realised it rendered it pretty resistant to nuclear EMP effects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,135 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

That link claims HIMARS, javelins, drones etc aren’t having the affect that Ukraine is claiming.

It says they are more a psychological plus for Ukraine with little positives on the battlefield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

The mig had only entered service in 82 and has been upgraded regularly to keep it flying,

Definitely not the the same category as the b52 ,sure plenty of countries are still flying mig 21s introduced during Vietnam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,089 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Artillery Is Breaking in Ukraine. It’s Becoming a Problem for the Pentagon.

Ukrainian soldiers are firing thousands of shells daily, forcing the U.S. to replace gun barrels across the border in Poland.

Apparently at any one time, about a third of werstern supplied artillery is out of action.

I wish the US would stop just giving table scraps. No Patriots, no modern tanks, no longer range stuff like ATACAM, but every request is met with the same mealy mouthed US guff about supplying Ukraine with what it needs, or what the US thinks it needs to stop from going under.

https://www.nytimes.com/2022/11/25/us/ukraine-artillery-breakdown.html

Yes indeed, if you watch those 1420 videos, rural Russia has scarcely changed at all since the 1920s or 1930s Soviet Union.

It does illustrate though that the current dictator has done nothing to improve their lives in the last twenty years. Letting them live in poverty and squalor, but pumping nightly propaganda through their TV screens about how they are living in the greatest nation on earth and are so lucky not be part of the decadent and corrupt West. The fact that so many people turn to alcohol though would suggest that large numbers of them know full well they are living in a depressing kip of a place.