If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Why is Dublin such a shιtty city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I would say it's lively at night compared to most Euro cities. Outside of the really big Euro cities they're mostly totally dead at night, especially during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

You didn't know it existed till I told you, you've never been there. Rate it after you've been to it or stop talking through your hole Strumms!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Just out f interest, what other cities have you been to?

And only a little of ireland is in cities... Drab? Dirty? Not true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Id be shocked if anyone could walk from trinity, up grafton st, in around stephens Green Park, down Baggott Street, in by the bord gais theatre over the Sam Beckett bridge to the IFSC and not think Dublin was anything other than a beautiful quaint city.

I feel like people on here have either never ventured far in my fair city or they've never even been here. Or theyre just twistedly bias for some unknown reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

A few posters have really touched on what I think of Dublin. I am not a Dub. I lived there for over a decade but left a few years ago.

Plenty of nice parts and a nice buzz around when shopping or socialising, however it doesn’t live up to its potential at all. O’Connell st could be a street to be proud of, but alas it’s an eyesore.

Grafton st and surrounds is nice but look down at the footpath. They spent a lot of money putting down new paving but every time it’s dug up for something tarmac is put down instead. It’s so half a**ed.

I know native Dubs naturally want to defend their city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Gas to see lads who don't live in Dublin telling people who do how great the city centre is.

O'Connell Street is what Temple Bar would have become if DCC had got thier way...a bus park

DCC generally see the Northside as their dumping ground, you just have to look at the endless row of ugly bus stops with massive LED ads on them that they put up in O'Connell Street over the lockdown, nice little earner for someone and shows you what the think of the main throughfare.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,067 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I lived in Dublin for 40 years before I moved and visit regularly, so I’ll continue to comment.

Your entire argument is that Dublin is **** because O’Connel st is. Ignoring all the good things. You think O’Connell street is **** because there are lots of brown people not speaking English. Pretty transparent

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

My entire argument is based on the fact that I've lived in Dublin for almost 50 years and actually worked in the city centre for 20 plus years, I dont just come back for a jolly once in a while. Most of the city centre is a kip.

Of course I never mentioned Brown people contrbuting the shittiness of the place but that won't stop you with your wee mod pass.

Having less brown people would make it a less crowded and less expensive kip but it wont change the fact that its a kip.

Badly managed and full of human detrius who even when they're not actively making the place unsafe contribute to the air of malaise

we know what it took to clean Nrw York up and it won't be happening in Ireland, an appointed City Manager with the powers of a potentate, safely beyond accountability to an electorate is our lot forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

You take offence when the term " brown " people is mentioned and then are comfortable using the words human detritus, who are you referring to ? Residents, homeless ,addicts ?

I'm from the city centre, born , raised and still work in the middle of the city.

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Twice in my life I've gotten grief in Dublin cc. Twice in over 40 years. Are people looking for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

The Daniel O’Connell monument is always surrounded by lay abouts who spend the day spitting on the ground and longing for their motherlands.

I don’t even know where to start with this.

I don’t come back on a “jolly once in a while”, I work hard when I’m back, my employer wouldn’t send me to enjoy myself.

You said one of the reasons O’Connell street was ****, was the brown people not speaking English, comparing it to Calcutta I believe

I wish I had a “mod pass”, it would save me having to be polite to you and people like you and I could bluntly tell you what I think of your beliefs

There is no human detritus in Dublin. There are people you don’t approve of.

Dublin is a great city, that has some issues.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

I didnt take offence at anything.

If you want a defintion of human deitrus you can take it as that cohort of people who spend their days deviating wildly from what is considered normative behaviour.

If you live in the city centre then you might have noticed during the lockdowns that when the tide of the general public went out these types were stood out more as they wandered around the empty streets like the living dead or packs of jackals

"You said one of the reasons O’Connell street was ****, was the brown people not speaking English, comparing it to Calcutta I believe"

Throw the quote up there for that mistermefriend, gwan. Your imagination is all excited as per usual.

I do apologise. You compared it to Delhi, not Calcutta.

Doesn’t change my point. You’re go to argument is that brown people are ruining everything.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭mikeybhoy

I've lived in Dublin all my life. I agree about O'Connell Street but I'd hardly say the bus shelters are an issue as generally it's handy to have a sheltered place to wait when waiting for a bus. Most large EU cities have bus shelters with ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Ramasun

I blame Brian Boru, the place was lovely when the Vikings had it apparently.

Ah you're too embarrassed to throw the quote up, I'll do it for ye

"Can guarantee you that Prime Time won't mention the most obvious thing that strikes people about O'Connell street these days, as they film a street that looks like its in Delhi or Buenos Aires"

The old imagination run wild again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Ah the irony of you telling people their imagination is running wild when you're quoting your own hyperbolic nonsense.

I’m not the least embarrassed. You compared O’Connell street to Delhi. Because you view brown people as the problem. It’s pretty transparent

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Thanks but I've already laid out what the two major problems with the city centre are, and neither of them are the preponderace of people from more humid climes, that's a topic for a different thread.

You're not that hot at reading lines so I wouldnt try reading between them if I was you, not with your imagination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Worked in the city centre all through the lockdowns, I'm a frontline worker supporting homeless and I didn't notice any particular upsurge of as you call them , living dead or jackals.

Noticed lots of Gardai, medical and social care professionals moving around though.

I love when people say stupid things and then question the intelligence of people who call them out on it.

Does anyone know if there’s a fancy name for it? It’s like the Dunning-Kruger effect, but even more lacking in self awareness

You think the city centre is a Kip. It isn’t, a small part of it is. You’re either blind or ignorant of all the great things has to offer.

You’ve attempted multiple times to delegitimise the options of people who disagree with you, we can’t comment because we don’t visit the city centre every day. You’ve dragged in some casual bigotry about the people you see in O’Connell st. You’ve claimed most of the city centre is Kip, which it clearly isn’t.

You should be embarrassed. You won’t be though. You’ll pick one tiny part of my post and try to use it to score points, because that’s what really matters to you.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

You mean I'll pick the part where you just made something up? That's what the kids call a "you problem"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

You're a f*cking horrible man with the sh*t you come out with. They may have cleaned up New York but it's still full of brown and black people, so I suggest you don't visit there. Or the other world cities, Paris, London... You'd be horrified.

If you are so disgusted by somewhere I don't know why you spend any time there. Go work somewhere else, some white paradise, there must be one out there somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭MyLove4Satan

this thread is giving me cancer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Yes it's **** disgusting .

Go on argue that spitting on the ground is grand and not a dirty scum habit.

The pure shite some of you lot come out with rather than call out someone who happens to be a foreign.

White Knight to the rescue

Post edited by Tonesjones on