ESB eCars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,870 ✭✭✭cython

A lot of encryption algorithms and protocols for data in transit will only tolerate time discrepancies of a maximum of 5 mins (try accessing your online banking with a clock on your client out any more than that, it likely won't work), so it would make you wonder what exactly has (or indeed has not) been implemented in their backend....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,580 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

I seem to remember for TLS the time discrepancy isn't a factor, so in theory the data transport should be secure (assuming they aren't total morons and sending data unencrypted).

However if the clock is far enough wrong the certs can expire early

The way to mitigate it (other than actually syncing the clocks) is to set a long expiry on the cert

Of course certs with an inappropriately long expiry are generally bad for security. So I'm looking forward to the day probably quite soon that hackers ransomware the ESB charging network

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭markpb

eCars appears to a mostly off-the-shelf solution so it’s almost definitely OCPI or a related standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭chewed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,955 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Just checked plugshare, it's a new location at a circle k on the way into trim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,632 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

yes only the 12km from the M3 motorway, or 20km from the M4, or 28km from their Park Ri """hub""" in Kells

Screenshot 2022-10-18 at 11.09.06.png

I honestly think they just go after the lowest of low hanging fruit these days..... as opposed to putting in chargers where they are actually needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,538 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Are there any plans for dc fast chargers along the M9 near Mullinavat for example or paulstown?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,955 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

It's always been that way, go wherever they can get landowners to agree and where there's possible power available.

That's why we got/get ridiculous FCP installs in tesco! (like naas)

Apparantly eCars are installing a site in Slieverue in Waterford (badly needed)

Circle K are installing a 300kW charger in Rathcrogue on the M9 just outside Carlow

The hope is Applegreen (who are rightfully doing their own thing now independent of eCars), will install chargers in Paulstown but as of yet no news on that site.. even a solitary 50kW unit there would be a help (especially now that Knocktopher is out of action for an undetermined amount of time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,538 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Yeah it’s a pity there isn’t a high powered charger further south.

Id regularly travel to campile or thereabouts (approx 160km one way with no destination charging) and I’m looking into getting an EV so a high powered charger site or two along the M9 would help sway me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭chewed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,580 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

There's the Looney Londis owner in Waterford if you're will to risk it, or did he have his charger taken away? 🤔

It was taken away, but a plugshare 'update' claims there's an Ionity going in there.. However given it's an Applegreen and it can at least support 50kW, it might just end up with a Birdhill style 50kW unit...

Ah yeah, I remember now. As much as I don't like seeing chargers get taken away that was literally the worst place to have one, owner was consistently hostile towards EVs and their owners

Hopefully Ionity or Applegreen quickly ditch any plans to install chargers there and go for somewhere else nearby

There was planning submitted a while back which showed EV charging bays…..

(that’s why I’m convinced that he himself was the one that updated his PlugShare listing mentioning Ionity, because he’s just crazy enough, though it’s since been changed to ‘Applegreen charger’).

either way with or without him, Waterford is desperately short on DC charging options, so hopefully this Slieverue site gets built asap, as PlugShare mentions it’ll be 2 eCars units.. and that’s be a grand spot to top up on the way down to Waterford from Dublin with a nice toasty battery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭JohnC.

Slieverue isn't on the way from Dublin to Waterford. Are you sure it's not elsewhere? Unless it via the M11, which has other options too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

The lack of any kind of EV charging at the M9 services at Paulstown is criminal at this stage.

Motorway services should have some kind of charging.

At least Circle K at the Carlow services are putting in chargers, but they left it late enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,454 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

ECars have now reneged on their promise of replacing RC11 in October. Back to the standard "we can't comment on individual sites".

Pricks.

It’s not on the M9 no, but it’s a very short detour off the end of the M9 on your way into Waterford.…….

7BEC958A-8828-4BD0-AA27-E0D1727B1295.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭Nuphor

There are plans for motorway services at Mullinavat, and the plans include EV charging spots. Hasn't been much movement (other than some possibly related road widening beside the site) since their approval in 2017 though. Would be a handy spot.

Mullinavat would be a great spot for a hub of some sort... .but I'd say there's Bob Hope & No Hope it will be anything to do with eCars (which is probably a good thing in fairness)...

Looks like the spot is there and ready to go too....

Screenshot 2022-10-19 at 09.19.44.png

Jesus just build the thing already!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Big question going forward is (in wider planning) how much of a detour will be acceptable to go off route for EV charging....

By current Irish standards Slieveroe represents an improvement of sorts....

But international best practice for longer journeys would be that you pull straight into a services and bang chargers available with 10 HPCs on site....

Yeah, I felt that when visiting the Athenry Supercharger during the summer, it was about the limit of how far off a motorway I'd want to go for a charge... (distance is fine, but it involves a fair few roundabouts and turns...)

I think with that Sleiveroe site, ESB are living off scraps now and that's the best they'll get these days.... detours off main roads for a charge, so really only serving local charging needs (look at the new Trim site, serves no one but locals). All the online charging will now be mopped up by the forecourt operators like Applegreen, Maxol & Circle K etc... (I'd say even Ionity will struggle for motorway expansion, or even to just stay on motorways in current sites).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,933 ✭✭✭eagerv

I know some people from Waterford who take the more scenic route up the M11 when traveling to south side/Bray area. Similar distance and time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 244 ✭✭daddy_boy

I have theory no one at ESB drives BEV - just saying as it would explain....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,866 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Slieverue is on the main Rosslare to Waterford route lads. Everything does not need to revolve around Dublin and routes from Dublin.

I think the nature of the location, and how long you'd want to stay there, should determine the types of chargers and how far away from national roads they are

Service stations for example are purely functional locations, you literally wash to charge and run. So they should be as close as possible to motorways and major junctions to hit as many roads as possible. They should also have banks of HPCs similar to Tesla Superchargers

Place like shops and town centers, sports centers, etc, where you're likely to want to stay an hour or two then I think it's okay to have banks of 50kW units. And consequently you'd expect that these locations might be a bit further away from a motorway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭dbloke

The Tralee supercharger is about 90km from the nearest motorway! 😁

In fairness to them, they've a bunch of electric vans going around the place

I'm pretty sure anyone in a decision making role doesn't drive an EV though

I'm convinced that some of them are from up around Longford/Carrick-on-Shannon way as the route up there along the N4 is one of the best served sections of National Roads in the country for ESB DC chargers...

.......and whoever it is, they drive a Leaf.