Marathon Improvers Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,498 ✭✭✭✭event

One good thing from yesterday is I got my fueling bang on.

7 miles in, SIS Beta fuel energy chew(half a pack)

Then about 125ml water with SIS Beta fuel

4 miles later, other half of chew and 125ml

4 miles later SIS Beta fuel nootropic gel and 125ml again

4 miles, another gel and 125ml.

I also took 2 saltstick fast chews

Plan in the full is then at mile 23 take another gel and see me home. Altogether that's 160g carbs from gels and 80g carbs from fluid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭FinnC

Did 32km in the Endorphin Pro 3s today and to be honest I’m a little disappointed. They definitely felt less cushioned the further I went and the last couple of KMs they started to hurt my feet. Not sure now I’ll use them for the Full Marathon which at least I’m finding out now rather than on the day.

Furthest I had ran in them before was 20km and I didn’t notice anything like I did today,so maybe they better suited to the half distance for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Sandwell

I did my last long(ish) run today of the Hansons plan, 16 miles steady at MP+40. Felt strong throughout and holding the pace was easier than it's been on any of these runs to date. I'd been feeling really tired for the last couple of days so happy to get this one ticked off as well as completing the highest mileage week of the plan (64). Three easier weeks to come before I toe the line in Amsterdam.

Interesting to hear that about the Endorphins @FinnC. I still haven't tried mine but that would have been exactly my experience with the first edition. Fine to half marathon distance but uncomfortable beyond that. I'll hopefully get in a couple of runs in my pair this week. I've 15 miles with 10 at marathon pace on Thursday so will probably make a call on them based on that. If I'm not happy then I'll stick to my trusty Deviate Nitro Elites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Lazare

Hmm, that's interesting. I also ran 32km in mine, yesterday.

Noticed a bit of discomfort in the ball of my left foot for the last couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,699 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Great morning out in Charleville for me....a shiny new PB by almost 3 mins (sub 1:27) and the strongest most consistent performance I've ever done in any race tbh.

Will do a full report over on my log later on when I've calmed down a bit 😂

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

10min PB for me in Berlin today, delighted.

I have Dublin in 5 weeks but I think I'm happy to take it handy now and not push again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Lazare

Awesome stuff lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭Wottle

Congrats on the massive PB. I would have loved to have done Berlin today, I'm getting excited and giddy of late.

How did you pace it, bank/even/negative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,503 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Well done on the PB's lads!

I think I'd like to do Berlin myself at some stage!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

Slightly negative split, 1:50:06 for the first half and 1:49:14 (Half marathon PB 😂) for the second half. Target was 3:45 but I felt good after the first few km and pushed on. Suffering properly started at 36km but I had the 3:40 target on my sights so I pushed through to the end.

5k 26:05

10k 26:10

15k 25:59

20k 26:18

25k 26:08

30k 25:51

35k 25:48

40k 25:52

42.2k 11.09

Also the Berlin medal is awesome, I love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,920 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

10 mins! That's very impressive, well done done to you. Congrats. Great splits too. 💪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭racersedge

You guys have me worried now! Ran Tullamore in my own and had intended the save them for race day - dovetailing them with the Speeds to save them).

Mind you, I will say while there was the comment of finding the first versions of it where suited up to half marathon and questions about them for a full, I found the opposite with them (struggled to feel fast and get the most out of them in shorter distances while finding them ideal for when I ran Manchester!). I have a 35K scheduled next weekend, with the last seven at MP where my plan was to use my V1’s for it - might use the V3’s to allay any concerns.

Yep... perfect day for running tbh.

I had a shocker in Charleville in 2019 so was a bit wary but it literally couldn't have gone any better

Looking forward to the read, super run.

Are you targeting Dublin or other?

Dublin 🤠

It'll all be over this day 5 weeks.

Have a lot going on the next couple of weekends so gonna have to get creative to squeeze in the last of the long runs 😬 😬

I would say take the first mile easy, then run the course accordingly. The course profile is important for pacing the rest. Being specific to the DCM you would find the most common approach for average runners is to take the first 7 miles easy (maybe 10-15 seconds per mile slower then target) then a little kick next 4 are slightly downhill and pace accordingly after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭FinnC

To be fair to the Pro 3 my legs feel absolutely fine now like they would do in the other “super shoes” after a hard session,the recovery is always that much quicker after wearing them. I still think they are a great shoe and will definitely use them again.

Still think I’ve now ruled them out as my Marathon shoe though.

I’ve a pair of Vaporflys 1 with over 250km on them and a pair of Alphaflys 1 with not yet 100km on them. Dunno now to buy a new pair of Vaporflys or go with the Alphaflys. First world problems eh!

I do find the original Vaporflys a bit narrow but I think I’ve read the version 2 is a slightly wider. I presume the foam is the same in the 2 as the 1?

I've both the original vaporfly and version 2.

I loved the original for shorter races but found there was a bit of a squeeze in the toebox the further I ran.

No such issue in version 2, and my yellow pair still performing at 340 miles, plenty of long runs in them.

I've bought a brand new pair of V2s for Amsterdam. I thought about the Alphaflies but the run testers seem to think they're a bit of a marmite shoe but the vapors are a catch all

Thanks for the info, the tightness of the vaporfly v1 was stopping me buying another pair, I absolutely love them but a couple of tough long cold wet sessions in the last year resulted in toe nail damage, love them for 5k and 10k, if the v2 fit like the Alphafly I reckon they might be a fantastic Marathon shoe.. Will put a pair of the v2 on my wish list.

Yeah, the whole upper is different, more breathable and flexible

Me too in 2019 and last year the wind was awful though I wasn’t racing it but I’ve never had that amazing day out that Charleville is kind of known for. I couldn’t go today in the end as my son’s 7th birthday party but I was wishing I was there this morning when I saw the weather.

Another thread destroyed by shoe porn. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,498 ✭✭✭✭event

So the ankle still feels a bit sore today. Going to try a 4-6m later this evening. Not going to do any sessions or speed work this week, will just concentrate in getting miles in. Hopeful that its not too bad and if on the day I need to strap it up and have painkillers, so be it. I was injured after 3 miles in my marathon last year and just used Biofreeze to help. Not a great solution and I was injured for a month after but sure look, has to be done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

Would you not consider resting it for another day or 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Sussex18

Thank you. I'm a somewhat nervous '5th time' marathon runner in Galway on Saturday, which is fairly flat actually. No major climbs anywhere.

Torn a bit in my head between going for a time and wanting to make sure I'm strong in the second half. Want to go easy but not excessively easy in the first half. No pacers so won't be dragged along.

Pb from earlier this is 3:47, stayed with the 3:30 pacers until 15 miles and thereafter faded badly. Had been sick with Covid but still went out too fast.

Should I just stay comfortable then until I get beyond half-way and then maybe go a bit harder if I feel have it?

I’d rest it I think and book in for physio to get it checked?