Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

No its being on the right side of the truth and conflict that matters

If you want to join Russia,Putin is looking for fresh recruits,dont hesitate to join.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭zv2

It looks like history is starting up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Run Forest Run

So are you saying that Russians would not be getting fed propaganda about how evil Zelensky is, and how it would solve their problems if someone took him out?

I've only seen small snippets of Russian media coverage since this war broke out, but even I seen quite a nasty tone directed towards Zelensky. He's not their favourite guy right now...

washingmachine.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

That argument had a lot more merit at the beginning of all this.

My basic tenet remains uni-polar.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Me. Earlier.

"There are a couple of similar "independent" westerners reporting on the Russian side with similar narratives and handlers in tow. You'll be linking to shills like the Duran next. Or one of those autistic yanks in Thailand shilling for Mother Russia."

And you come back with...

I'd forgotten about him, but you went all out. If anyone wants an example of a Russian narrative popping shill, he's your boyo. He stages scenes, including using bodies from morgues, is embedded with Russian troops, gets access like no other western journalist, has a Z painted on his van and is reknowned for shouting "like and subscribe" while in the middle of horrific scenes unfolding and is a darling of the Russian propaganda press and conspiracy right wing nutters in the US like Alex Jones. A "good American" who hates American Hegemony and is married to a Russian. Well jaysus you didn't disappoint anyway. 🤣

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Not going to fly very far with engine 1 on fire ,and not extinguished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Just to reiterate, as some new arrivals here seem to be going off piste

1. Russia invaded a sovereign nation, Ukraine.

2. Citizens of sovereign nation decided to fight back, with a greatly heightened moral, purpose and motivated by the fact that if they didn't, they would lose everything.

3. Sovereign nation asked for assistance from other nations, who in turn, began to assist. Why? Because Russia invaded a Sovereign Nation.

It basically boils down to that.

No amount of "Whataboutery" from any section of commentators ( from idealistic and naive student types to self-styled political activists.) changes that narrative.

Carry on.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The singular difference between our western "baying horde" and yours is we get to hear different and opposing tunes in the baying.

Kazakhstan is indeed on the up and distancing herself from Mother Russia as she does so. Kazakhstan is also quite a bit more removed culturally and geographically from Russia compared to Ukraine and less seen as "theirs" so far less of a propaganda threat. It's also nowhere near the standards of living to be found in the EU, not yet at least.

If the EU is such a nothing to Mother Russia why is her propaganda machine been long been at pains to go on about how much of a failure it is and how it's on the brink of falling? A sure way to guage the fear of any propaganda machine is by how much effort it puts into trying to dismiss it, or attack it.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I suspect at this stage they don't want to make him a martyr. Pain in their arse that he is it's better and easier to paint him as a cocaine snorting corrupt billionaire puppet of the West/NATO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭thomas 123

it’s not a new thing in Russia - id actually go so far as to say the army are probably supplying it or at the very least not banning them drinking it. Its much easier to load a group of cut lads onto a plane or bus than a group of lads capable of critical thought.

Can you imagine the consequences if he was assinated tomorrow,

The Ukrainan army and people would fight to Moscow to get revenge along with half of Europe

After WW2, nazi scientists were rounded up and sent to the ussr. Reason being the soviets didn't want the germans in general knowing the projects they were working on, and wanted them to be true soviet projects. Before deporting them, they got them all good and drunk to be more easily managed. Not much has changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,744 ✭✭✭saabsaab

If Putin uses tactical nukes (in Kerson or Donbas etc) he will by his own defination be nuking Russian territory! Mad..

More russian soldiers voting on occupied territory of Ukraine,we want to bring peace😂😂🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,560 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Any what does the truth 'happen to be', oh knowledgeable one?

China is out for China. That's it. There's bugger all love lost between the Chinese and Russians. Russia is worth about the same as Thailand to China. Their business connections and exports to the US and the EU utterly dwarf their connections and exports to Russia. The Chinese are neither stupid nor prone to kneejerk reactions and know they're way too exposed to the Western economies compared to the backwater that is Russia. The only thing Russia has is oil, gas and mineral resources. Oh they'll take Russian those resources at massively discounted rates and using the dollar with it under more "creative" accounting.

India has always played both the West and Russia and did so throughout the Cold War and are doing it now. Russia tried to get into a currency paring with India, but the Indians knowing this was for show and pointless for them have mediated it with trade in dirhams and dollars under the surface.

Russia is no more at the apex of that alliance than the dogs in the street. The only giant in that room is China. The three giants on the planet are the US, the EU and China. The Middle East, Taiwan, Japan, Korea etc and India come in behind them. Africa and South America have a long way to go. China became a great by being the production centre of US and EU goods and sales to same. Certainly not Mother Russia, who pretty much completely missed out on the IT revolution and the very device you're typing your posts out on.

@Run Forest Run

why has Putin and Russia made no attempts to prevent their economic progression out of fear that it might reflect badly towards their own nation? Kazakhstan would be even easier to subjugate than Ukraine.

Because Putin has a deep envy of Europe.

To be fair to the Soviets, they did indeed grab some nazi scientists, pumped them for info, but then put them on trial for war crimes, threw them in gaol and later threw them out of the country. After that things like the Soviet space programme were local and Soviet.

They certainly didn't make one of those nazis head of their space programme. Unlike the Americans who went out of their way to "rehabilitate" their nazis and make them "good Americans". Werner Von Braun, a card carrying nazi party member who oversaw horrific slave labour to build his wonder weapons for Hitler even got his own Disney series.

On this score the Soviets/Russians win the moral high ground such as it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭joseywhales

It has altered the dynamic, even from their perspective, the outright failure of Russia to directly confront a proxy force will stand as a warning to China. And America are holding 90% in reserve here. Even if they give 100billion in aid, it is a tenth of their budget. They also are showing amazing economic resiliance while the rest of the world including China is on the brink of economic collapse. I'm terms of a us 'flex', it's rather intimidating. The idea that democracies are a failure due to populist politicians and instability has been truly put to bed. Cancel out the chatter and the noise and see the influence and dominance of western aligned nations. And that's not even mentioning it's greatest strength, the ideology rules by consent, the people of Ukraine choose to come into the Western sphere, no force required. If you could project 100 years in the future, you will see a world more like the west than it is now because the superior cooperative ideology will win. Now there are lots of problems, that dictatorial propaganda likes to exploit but it is noise relative to the overwhelming improvement that true democractic governance has over 'strong man' type permanent leadership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,836 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

It’s probably a move just to spite the USA who though the course of history have treated Iran very badly.

By the current look of things a regime change may be on the cards in Iran and it has absolutely nothing to do with the US

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,665 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

In fairness, If I was taken from my wife and kids to be given two weeks training (likely including hellish painful hazing.) before being sent to be almost certainly slaughtered in Ukraine I'd probably want to be out of my senses too. These lads lives remaining can probably be counted in weeks or months at best.

I saw a video on Twitter of a captured Russian soldier, he said he had been given 2 weeks training and then told to drive a tank with half the electronics broken (apparently more than half the tanks didnt work at all according to the same soldier). 5 minutes later the tank in front of his hit a mine and blew up and then his tank was ambushed when they stopped, he was the only survivor...5 minutes!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I'm starting to think that it could be a tactic to turn up drunk, tell them you are an alcoholic and they might say "you've failed training, go home".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Run Forest Run

Did I say anything about China and Russia's alliance being a strong one? Please point it out if you think I did.

It doesn't really matter what their motivations are or how strong their alliances are... like I've already said, many of them make uneasy bedfellows. But are aligning through necessity and circumstance.

The important part, is that they are beginning to create greater alliances. And the west are helping to expedite this process through their useless foreign policies.

"Do what we tell you to, or you're in the naughty corner" simply isn't going to work as an overarching plan going forward into the next generation. (and yes, I am oversimplifying that description for the sake of expedience here).

The Americans in particular, cannot handle the idea of anyone else being in charge. This unwillingness to share power equitably throughout the globle, will ultimately force nations to pick sides. I agree nations like India would prefer not to, but eventually they will have no choice. And they are leaning much more towards Eurasia rather than the west.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,162 ✭✭✭✭briany

The Russian commanders are probably drunk as well. It would explain some of their battlefield decisions, and the way they were parking their tanks early on.

Well said, but he has to say that because of Taiwan.