Was the government right to put no limit on the amount of Ukrainian refugees in Ireland? Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

It is.

We're still emigrating, in case you hadn't noticed. Every 20 years or so, just when you think things are picking up, one of FFG will **** things up, precipitate a crisis, and away another generation or two goes, off to Britain, America, Australia or Canada - or, these days, the Middle East.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,890 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

No problem with Ukrainians being here. Great bunch of lads and lasses fleeing a horrible war. However, today in North Dublin, I saw two of them with dogs (both pedigree). How come they are allowed bring their dogs here? That surely is against some quarantine laws. I spoke to one and while he didn’t speak English he was able to confirm dog was Ukrainian. 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭slay55

Ukrainian teacher started at my child’s secondary school this week, was just standing in as the usual teacher was absent.

she just played on her phone and didn’t engage or able to communicate in English

still she will go down in government statistics as working and contributing

yes, I rang the school and complained

As pointed out to you on the last thread (multiple times, I think) the lack of school bus places is a) a story that happens every year; b) also due to the morons in power deciding they'd all be free, so everyone wants one now.

Same way there was always stories this time of the year about non-availability of student accommodation.

And there's been a homelessness crisis for yeas now, too.

But hey, you do your bit, you pay your taxes.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭CeCe12

Boggles, Donald or Tauren?

Where shall they live please? In what accommodation? Presume some of the hotels will fold?

Peadophiles, murderers? Are people of that Ilk already in the country now?

Yes. Many in Mountjoy and Castlerea and Arbour Hill. They answer to Paddy, Mick, Graham, Séamus...

letting that many people into the country with no checks is a problem.

Is it? Really? What have you been doing yourself, so, to get the Common Travel Area abolished? Obviously if you don't want people coming into the country, that has to go. Imagine, all those people coming into the country since 1922, with no checks! It has to end, now!

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,683 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

do you know what would be great, if the irish government took care of the homeless irish with the same gusto they take care of the homeless ukrainians.

never mind those, better off forgotten and dead.

I would have complained too. What sort of idjit hires someone as a secondary school teacher who can't speak English and who just plays on their phone?

I'd imagine something like that happening would actually have made the press...

===

There you go - special rules for the special circumstances:

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Where did I say I didn’t want people coming in to the country.

Yes paddy mick graham and seamus are in mount joy and castlerea exactly where they belong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Yonce

Personally, I'd move them all to Donegal, specifically to Daisy's town. She'd vomit so much you could then just dry it and make bricks out of it. Use the bricks to build houses.

I have no idea why presume some of the hotels will fold.

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Yonce

Don't forget Maryanne, she'll be by soon now to derail, I mean add a plethora of useful points ..

Where did I say I didn’t want people coming in to the country.

I don't know. I didn't say you did.

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Read your post, you said “ if you don’t want people coming in to the country “

its mixed in with rest of the Scutter you typed.

What is your actual point to me?

Explain and I may answer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

When was the vote to make them temporary EU citizens??

Sometimes adults use paragraphs. Read the paragraph.

You're the one saying you don't want people coming into the country ***!!!"without checks"!!!*** (better? Satisfied now?!) That's what the Common Travel Area has allowed since 1922. What are you doing about it?

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Like, say, giving an amnesty and ignoring immigration laws?? Like that??

Bit of a slippery slope, no?

@Donald Trump

Your all for taking them, where shall they live please?

😚🥰

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,683 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

i think the government was correct to put no limits on the amount of ukrainians coming in.

i cant possibly think of any downside. there is so much accommodation available, never mind the students trying to forge a life for themselves.

it'll be grand. we are quite literally robbing kids the opportunity to live away from home and experience the wonder of college.

never mid those little sprogs. disgraceful.

Yeah I totally agree guess what we're all Pot, kettle Black. We are all excellent 👍

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Legally. Try getting into Dubai, or America or Australia or anywhere else without checks and sufficient means to live/a job. Britain is the nearest thing to not needing all that, but good luck in getting wihin an ass's roar of recieving full social welfare and housing if you try. If illegally they should be deported back to Ireland. There are feck all Irish migrants just showing up with zero checks and straight into the social welfare systems out there.

And if FFG are fúckin things up, as they will and do, and people are leaving, surely that's not the time to be bringing in 50,000 plus people, never mind the thousands of economic migrants from the developing world, because dunderheaded sops like McEntee and O'Gorman need to flick their right on bean to it all? If a ship is sinking and fare paying passengers are looking to the lifeboats, it's hardly the time to be picking up more people from faster sinking boats and accommodating stowaways. Is it?

Border control is not black and white, it's a sliding scale of grey. We have agreements regarding the CTA and inter EU travel, but if you are happy to disregard checks beyond that sure get rid of passport control entirely in that case.

They are de facto temporary EU citizens. And that's OK. We should be helping Ukrainians at the moment. It's the numbers, the zero checks, the highest payouts anywhere in the world never mind the EU, that is what I have a problem with. That and the rest of the mess of immigration, especially the quasi legal or illegal type, at a time when we can least afford it in terms of housing, health and increasing economical pressure. That and the fact that there is no official platform to ask questions or get answers about it for fear of being branded a danger to Irish society.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Yeah, all those ‘Ukrainian go home’ types with their xenophobic ‘numbers’ and their ‘resources’. You never hear them talk about numbers until they use it to spread their vile hate! If only these people would drop dead so we can give their houses to refugees.

#bekind

(/sarcasm)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I'd imagine something like that happening would actually have made the press...

Ah yes, the press/MSM in Ireland would have gotten stuck right into that one for sure - RTE in particular would have been relentless chasing that story - they just wouldn't let it go