Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

British Man Videoing Garda Stations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

A grocery store is private property a police station is public property. I presume you mean the publicly accessible lot of the police station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭contrary_devil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

The thread title is a bit mad, as if we're getting invaded by the Brits...lol. Why not just say 'man'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

Would not have the same ring to It I wager. Some would be twitching if it was the other ways around 😘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

What about carparks and footpaths? Does the same law apply here? 😏

carpark no expectation of privacy. Footpath public. Again do I have to remind people the amount of cameras recording you daily going about your business. You can film toilets and in changing rooms as long as no one monitors it. Just used if a crime is committed in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,693 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

i dont understand what people dis like about this.

he is a member of the public standing in a public place doing a perfectly lawfull activity of filming a public service that is paid to uphold the law

if these people were treated lawfully there would be a very short video. hi sir , how can i help you, your ok thank you im just doing some filming. thats fine goodbye. asking stupid questions and harrasing him only proves his point and make a video. leave him alone, he is there to film you making a fool of yourself why allow yourself to be a fool on camera

anyone critisising auditing like this needs to watch the uk auditers, of course some are total assholes that go out looking for a row but some are great.

im not really into it but watch some here and there. some of the way the police treat the public is shocking. practically every video shows the police not knowing their policies, mis representing the laws, making up laws, blatantly ignoring the law, enforcing their opinions over law, not knowing the diference between a criminal offence and a civil one, blandantly prioriting certain businesses over the general public, wasting tax payers money etc

some videos even show harrasment from the police, and assault , illegal detainents and arrests

like it or not we needs these auditer to highlight how the public is treated

i hope that more of these auditers come here knowing the law here and show up any similar situations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭Cordell

Absolute bellend and if it happens to trip and fall down on a baton a dozen times I won't have any problem with it. Auditors? What a fkin joke.

filming a public service that is paid to uphold the law

They are paid to keep the peace, hint is in their name, and that includes removal of obnoxious arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭dontmindme

what could be more peacefull than someone standing on there own minding there own business . so keeping the peace is hassasing and intimidating someone for no reason

When you're filming someone else then that's quite the opposite of minding your own business isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

I just had one of these slightly curious conversations with a friend while buying Saturday's papers. When I mentions this guy making videos of Garda stations the question was asked 'was he a brit or a pretend brit' [ie someone with a Uk passport but really from somewhere else] Lost of odd types snipping for foreign powers. I entertained the question just for a laugh but came away thinking seriously about it. Ireland's national security is not a funny matter.

Dan.

he is just standing there not following people around .

no expectation of privacy out in public

What security secrets can your Glean from the inside of a Garda station lobby area.

Wont need a phone soon. Or have people missed the glasses adds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭mikeybhoy

You have no right to privacy in a public place hence why cctv is legal and RTE can film on the street without seeking permission so why can't ordinary citizens do the same.

This is not about privacy and public interest, there was nothing happening there worth filming, he is just doing this to annoy, provoke and harass, with the only goal of getting a reaction. Which to me looks like disturbing the peace.

I don't know who's legally more in the right here, but I will side with the Guards anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,120 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I do think there is merit in making it an offence in public to film someone where it is specifically intended to harass, intimidate, bully, provoke...

A lot of these clowns in these videos use their cameras with the sole purpose of provoking victims and getting views.

Except the Gardai should just ignore him and not give him oxygen if he's just looking for a reaction. They hardly want to make him into some kind of martyr.

of course there was something going on. there were gards violating a mans rights . beofre they started on him he could be all kinds of things like taking pics of architecture , anils etc or interesting vehicles passing. some photographers get great pics in urban areas

The same guy actually did a good video where he waltzed into a Tesco warehouse took a can of Red Bull with an employees permission then eventually got told to leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,120 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The guy even says in the video there is no point really in filming Garda stations due to the very nature of the force and how it differs from other police forces in it's association/general openess/citizen focus with the public.

They are too laid back for what this guy is looking for compared to the UK.

Yes, I agree here, that's precisely what they should have done, they should just have said something like ah you're one of those auditors bellends right aren't ya and carry on.

This is a recent thing isn't it? Recently my fb and youtube feed started to show these "auditors", and without knowing what's about I watched one of them trespassing on a private premises and then stepping back out after he provoked a reaction from the security guards, and then stringing them along as to try to make the video longer. Total waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

That depends on the station and whom might be working there. Lots can be gathered depends on who is doing the snooping.

Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Ah the English are causing trouble again, is it any wonder most of Europe hates them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭dontmindme

That would be a bit worrisome so surely wouldn't ya think - being a publicly accessible area like it is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,240 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Just because you can do something, doesn't mean you should, or that by doing it, you're not pissing other people off for no good reason.

Where I live, we have communal parking, anyone can use anyone elses' space. There is no 'rule' that says I can't park my car in a way that blocks 3 spaces.

Most people don't do it, because that would be a c*nty thing to do.

There is no law against staring at a person on public transport. Most people don't do it because most people aren't c*nts

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

Those ads were ordered by the irish data protection commissioner to stop tech companies from making money by facilitating perverts and werdos from filming people without their knowledge

The DPC was far too weak on this IMO, those yokes should be banned unless it's super obvious that they're being used for recording people.

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

These people want to provoke a reaction by acting like the most obnoxious people in the world, and then they publish those videos online which means innocent people can have their reputation tarnished because of some gobshite setting them up for a fall.