Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your views on Multiculturalism in Ireland? - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

What have proper organised criminal gangs, “suspects in their 20s and 40s”, got to do with gangs of youths terrorising the place?

You’re all over the place, we’re talking about youth gangs which you were blaming the lack of faciliteeeeezzzzz on a few posts back, now your posting about OCGs.

Zero point engaging with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’ve already explained, numerous times, what they have to do with each other, and where they have developed from, and what you’re seeing now is only the outcome of the lack of shìts given for the issues involved.

Or do you imagine that those men in their 20s and 30s suddenly woke up one morning and decided to get into organised crime cos it seemed like a good idea at the time?

It’s not the lack of facilities at all, it’s the complete lack of anyone giving a shìt until they could no longer pretend they live in a nice quiet neighbourhood where everyone thinks just like they do and everyone gets along famously, so they have to start looking to point fingers at people they blame for ruining it for them.

Nobody ruined anything for Balbriggan that wasn’t already ruined, it’s just the natives chose to ignore it and pretend it wasn’t happening.

Btw, you don’t get to fire off a shot and then say there’s zero point in engaging. Put me on ignore if it’s that inconvenient for you to acknowledge that anyone exists who doesn’t think like you do or that there’s a whole country outside Balbriggan!

Nail on the head. Gang culture. If you travel to Africa, gangs are commonplace. And as we've all seen from movies/media, gangs are very common among the African-American communities. There is a general culture of gangs with certain ethnic groups. It's an interesting one because while you'll find many Hispanic gangs in the US (more Latino than anything else), you won't find such gangs in Ireland, and it's rare in the UK. Same with Asians, where gangs will usually be along extended familial lines (Hispanics being similar in this regard) rather than solely due to ethnicity, and it's even rarer for such gangs to form in non-Asian countries.

I would say that there is a historical/generational culture towards the acceptability of gangs within "Black" communities. It's elevated to an important place in movies and their music. So, it's hardly any surprise that it would happen in Ireland, the UK or elsewhere. Both due to the historical connections with such gangs, but also the social proof from modern media glorifying the position of gangs.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Nail on the head. Gang culture. If you travel to Africa, gangs are commonplace. And as we've all seen from movies/media, gangs are very common among the African-American communities.

I would say that there is a historical/generational culture towards the acceptability of gangs within "Black" communities. It's elevated to an important place in movies and their music. So, it's hardly any surprise that it would happen in Ireland, the UK or elsewhere. Both due to the historical connections with such gangs, but also the social proof from modern media glorifying the position of gangs.

You don’t think those two things are connected at all? It’s precisely because of the media they are exposed to in their own cultures that people develop imagery of criminal gangs in cultures other than their own. I’m only surprised Sicilians didn’t warrant a mention, or the Columbians for that matter given they’ve been supplying the West with Columbia’s finest export since the 70’s!

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/colombian-drug-barons-still-working-26778560.amp

It's an interesting one because while you'll find many Hispanic gangs in the US (more Latino than anything else), you won't find such gangs in Ireland, and it's rare in the UK. Same with Asians, where gangs will usually be along extended familial lines (Hispanics being similar in this regard) rather than solely due to ethnicity, and it's even rarer for such gangs to form in non-Asian countries.

’Tis in it’s balls -

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s12117-022-09451-4

Only in order to portray them for Western consumers of media, they’d need David Carradine or Mickey Rooney to play the part. We wouldn’t have our prejudices confirmed otherwise!

100%, and a lot of Africa is still tribal. It wasn’t that long ago the Hutu’s tried to massacre every Tutsi in Rwanda. Nigeria alone has 371 different ethnic tribes.

It’s also one of the main reasons why the billions and billions of aid hasn’t helped one iota, except to cause massive overpopulation. Yet whitey takes the blame for colonisation holding back the continent.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,525 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Report from Finglas

• Registered Users Posts: 25,031 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

If this craic of accepting thousands upon thousands of people a year and giving them money, healthcare, housing and a host of other supports and services needs to continue…

then what about slashing overseas aid… last few years we are seeing about 860 million euros leave this country, in overseas aid… per annum.. multiples of billions per decade…

its roughly…….. eight billion six hundred million over a decade… exiting this country, of taxpayers money…. Over 10 years.

slash that in half so we can actually increase Garda numbers, increase hospital beds, slashing hospital waiting lists and providing proper public transport infrastructure.

Fair play to the people of Finglas. Hopefully this starts some social contagion and other communities start to say No.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,453 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Some fella from Georgia posted a video claiming he was being harassed by the Guards, said he was homeless which in other words means he is just another one who came here to stick his head in the welfare trough.

Don't agree with much of what Varadkar has to say but he was right about Georgians and Albanians, its just a pity he didn't do something about it.

Sure you can’t be applying the laws to illegal foreigners, that’d be racist or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Denmark say non western migrants must spend 25 hours a week learning Danish language, customs or traditions or face welfare cuts.

Imagine Ireland doing such a thing.

Why are they doing this? Because they have become overwhelmed and the financial drain and destruction of social cohesion is out of control.

8% of the Danish population were born overseas

17% of the Irish population were born overseas. Almost 1 in 5

See the housing crisis, see the healthcare wait times, see the scramble for school places etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Man who said he was racially discriminated against by Eir store manager due to African accent loses claim - Independent.ie

Guess Deyma Ayoade will have to pay his own college fees this year, Eir won't be sponsoring.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,031 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Imagine suggesting it, fûck. Racist accusations would be flying.

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭Miadhc

Even these friendly Muslim lads understand what's happening to Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Yeah but think of all the nice food we get in return for that! There's zero evidence that any of this has gone wrong in Denmark, Sweden etc. The more the merrier!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Don't know about that, if you scroll down through the comments on that video you will come across a clip that might make you reconsider the nice food.

The University of Uppsala report in 2018 said that EU migration into Ireland has been a fiscal loss. 

If our EU migrants are giving us a net fiscal loss, and knowing Denmarks latest figures for non-eec migrants have shown to be a net drain by a large margin, then how bad is it in Ireland?

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-europe-migration-idUSKBN1GY053

https://www.economist.com/europe/2021/12/18/why-have-danes-turned-against-immigration

• Registered Users Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Since 2010 there have been clear indicators of the rise of crime across the EU since 2010 repeated ad nauseam. One vile crime after the other by non-EU nationals on the take, all under the guise of seeking asylum. Since the beginning of June sexual assaults committed by non-nationals on their enrichkrieg bop has been experienced by its victims. The sexual assaults on their own were not lacking, the murder, assaults etc stood on their own, and off the top of my head, the following has stuck with me....

In Austria, An Uber Eats delivery man, sexually assaulted several of his customers including two boys & a young girl in Vienna while having a deportation order.

In France, an American tourist was raped in a public toilet in central Paris by a homeless Algerian male. A displaced Ukrainian refugee was sexually assaulted in the street by an illegal Algerian immigrant 37 y/o and an illegal Syrian man was convicted of raping two women (24y/o & 36y/o) in the street, in February and July of this year. Just last night a 19yo was found naked, in a state of shock, in the middle of a Parisian street after she had been raped by a North African man who was known to police for acts of sexual assault.

In Malta, a 21-year-old Somali national was charged with raping an elderly man & woman on the Streets Of Ħamrun. His lawyer called for a psychological and psychiatric assessment, A talking point we're used to.

In Portugal, a 6 y/o Ukrainian girl was raped in a refugee reception center by a Pakistani man (41) who was been arrested 

In Spain, two Moroccan men were arrested for sexually abusing at least 8 Young Girls, including 3 minors.

In Italy there has been a wave of rapes in the past month, just 3 days ago a 55 y/o Ukrainian woman was raped in the street during the day by a 27 y/o Asylum seeker from Guinea, I couldn't watch that video. On August 15 alone, sexual crime involving migrants was rampant. A 15 y/o Italian girl was raped by two Albania “unaccompanied minors” males on Lignano beach while a 3rd migrant Egyptian male watched on filming without stopping them. A 40 y/o woman was kidnapped, beaten and raped by a Tunisian migrant in Venice. A 21 y/o foreign national from Sierra Leone raped a woman in her 20's in Rome. In the month prior to August 15, A 67 y/o woman was raped by a 28 y/o migrant on August 8th while riding on a train from Rome to Avezzan. On July 26th, A 57 y/o woman was jogging in La Spezia on the bicycle path located in Via dei Pioppi by a 32 yo male from Gambia who was in Italy illegally, attacked and raped the woman. On July 15, a 32-y/o woman was raped while she was walking her dog in a public park in Milan by a 24yo illegal immigrant from Africa.

It turns your stomach.

Post edited by 1800_Ladladlad on

• Registered Users Posts: 5,860 ✭✭✭Cordell

Insane figures, especially for non EU migration.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

Of course no connection with the housing crisis or increased social housing waiting lists, none at all

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭lmao10

Does it turn your stomach when white people commit crimes?

You absolute racist.

Immigrants don't live in houses. Get your facts correct

Don't think it's gotten to that stage here yet, like it is in Germany Sweden and France, but it is definitely coming no doubt about that.

Ireland has a higher percentage of total population of people who were born overseas living in the country than

France ,,Spain, Portugal, Netherlands, Belgium, Norway, Denmark, Italy, Poland,Croatia, Slovenia, Latvia, Finland, Hungary, Lithuania, Slovakia,Bulgaria ,Estonia

These are 2020 figures!

Source: European Migration Network

https://emn.ie/useful-statistics/migration-and-migrant-population-statistics-in-eu-28/

• Registered Users Posts: 5,117 ✭✭✭malinheader

IDont know about other towns but if you drive through Letterkenny insane is a mild word to use.

Christ! wasn't aware of that, They must all be here for the good weather and nothing else ;)

Deleted.

Link?

You should probably post it in the Ukrainian thread

Yeah you're right I forgot we aren't allowed mention Ukrainians in this thread I'll delete the post. You can see videos on twitter.

Not on twitter, post the link in the other thread or pm me