If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Fine setup alright. Even with the extras would most of ye consider a 26 unit a 2 man parlour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭ginger22

believe it or not there are some fine dairy farms in Kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

Normally those doors would have a chain also, but I recently saw one with a winder similar to the awnings you'd see outside a pub, was a much faster job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

It’s not growing here too dry- spoke to a precision nutrition and many farmers around the country have found that the drought affects foliar the same a normal fert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,766 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

And I'm in the same county as yourself Grueller and it's nowhere near as bad as 2018 here. In 2018 myself and the father were reduced to tears with the drought and lack of silage when it hit.

This year a bigger than ever first cut and grass continued growing throughout and stayed green. I'm on reduced fert use and it stayed growing.

Different farms, same county.

My feeling it's a build up effect needed. In that the more OM built up from life the lessor the effect of drought.

Every extra 1% of OM in soil holds 20,000 gallons of water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

Is it that your so has benefitted from your work on soil health or are most farms around you doing OK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭cjpm

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,635 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Never got going this year with grass but with reduced fert it was never going to be .that said we ve had an awful lot of dry weather which is always bad news for us and that last week has scorched us and really set us back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,329 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Anyone thinking of starting drying off earlier than normal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,976 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I’m milking through ……….will milk empties till February and milk everything to 50 days pre calving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cosatron

Oh hell no. Got to keep the white gold flowing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Cotlandfarmer seldom posts videos anymore but they're always worth a watch. This is how he's dealt with the drought. Felt it was too dry to reseed in the spring, went with stubble turnips instead.

https://youtu.be/IBsWJwLBZgM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

You’re on serious ground tbf say your farm and the farm beside you that bought the land across the way still have seriously green farms. You’ve done of the best land in the country in you’re area imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Your middle point…… is that not everything you give out about on here ?

lads slogging away and not having the facilities?

the way we did it here and wouldn’t have it only the hard graft was out in

No issue with lads slogging away but it’s the speed of expansion without the facilities and slurry storage that has played a big part in landing us where we are now ….Tegasc promoted it ….heavily …load on the cows and worry about everything else later that was the motto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭straight

No. Was referring to the parlour. Personally I wouldn't have cows crammed into a shed without very close to a cubicle space each. But sure, each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭alps

Green but not running them down. If restrictions come on fert. They may struggle finding out what else is out there.

It's €20k land around here even plus that. All killing each other for land. Better grassland than tillage though.

It is good around here but then you drive around Ballyhale, Dunamaggin, Kells, and your eyes are opened a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Perennial ryegrass will not grow when temps hit 27 or more. Cocksfoot fescue etc will grow away perfectly, and relish it!

I’ve done extensive trials irrigating perennial english ryegrass, and it doesn’t matter one jot how much water and fert you fire on it, it just won’t grow. I’ve tried liquid urea + irrigation, and it still won’t grow. For that reason our mss swards are based on cocksfoot and fescue…totally gave up on herbs etc because they’re gone in a few years, and produce very little comparing to the deep rooting grasses. I’d include Timothy in the mix instead of the herbs. There’s some decent grazing species of cocksfoot and fescue available now that don’t resemble the varieties that are available to ye. From seeing variety labels on Twitter etc, ye’re being sold varieties that are bred for making hay, and in all honesty they’re absolutely awful…may as well be grazing the ditch. Big downside of the good grazing varieties is that they’re really expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

A few years ago I used winter heifers on cocksfoot aftermaths from seed crops. No silage was allowed to be feed incase other varieties would invade the sward. We would try and have stock on these fields for as little time as possible as they always lost weight due to the low energy content in the grass .

Thing is grazing cocksfoot is high in energy and quite sweet…livestock will shave the ground. Proper grazing cocksfoot won’t be bunchy and overground iykwim. It’ll take a very experienced eye to tell the difference between grazing cocksfoot and perennial ryegrass. I put in the newest varieties (pure) on very dry land last year and the salesman bet me €50 that it’ll stay green in the worst of droughts, I owe him a fiddy after the worst drought on record! It’s still green but obviously not growing. However if I had water to give it I’ve no doubt that it’d grow grass.

Cocksfoot is surprisingly durable and persistent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,036 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

I think the value in the herbal element is for young stock as I found the likes of Plantain and Dandelion elements in the sward significantly improves thrive via improved grass utilization(aids digestion in young, still developing rumens), significantly less issues with scour, worms etc. Also Dandelion in particular has a long tap root that brings up essential trace elements from near the subsoil and makes it readily available for stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭straight

Fecking typical. Got my grass seeds set and rolled and all rain disappeared from the forecast.

I wouldn’t disagree. There’s probably a lot of benefits from the herbal elements for young stock, ie, as distinct from N poisoned prg that causes ‘summer scours’, however in terms of yield of good quality herbage for the likes of dairy cows it’s hard to beat grass/clover mixes in the sward. Tough, reliable, durable grass/clover mixes are hard to beat. The grasses I’m talking about will also forage deep in the ground to source vitamins/minerals that won’t be available from shallow-rooting prg on a diet of artificial N-P-K & slurry.

But point taken, for growing young stock herbs etc would definitely have their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

Sold a bunch of friesian runner bulls in the mart last week. They were all late January to the 3rd week of February. They averaged €375 a head. I would have probably gotten €20 for them at 3-4 weeks the year gone out. They would have had €40 of milk drank so I reckon they started at -€20 iykwim.

My costs were €100 milk. €100 meal (loads say that is madness but I'll argue that later if needs be). €7 commission, €3 transport, testing, bvd testing, tag, straw, a dose, grass all estimated at €60. They were vaccinated for crypto but would have gotten that before they were sold as calves so I am not counting it either side.

I am getting costs here of €270. So from -€20 I am about €175 better off keeping them unless I am missing something. They were on grass that I cannot get cows to. They weren't even an extra batch of stock as I ran them with the heifer calves.

Feel free to pick my figures apart people. Just to add, I won't be keeping them next year as I have extended cubicles into the shed that I reared them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Cost in labour @ 20 euro hour

Bedding costs

Opportunity of increasing mortality of heifers with higher stocking of calves

Have a few tail Ender's here due to being locked up with tb they should leave a few pounds when I sell them. when you factor in the added time spent and it adds up over the months

Straw ,hay ,grass ,labour ,worm dose …during spring costs 25/30 euros per calf per week to rear a calf …I got between zero and 95 euro for my Fr bulls in spring selling at an average of 22 days old ….I like rearing calves /cattle but there’s buttons out of rearing them to this stage

also you need to factor in a cost price of selling the calf from your dairy to beef enterprise ….

not criticising but I see lads selling calves /cattle /weanlings blowing about the price they got but they don’t put a relastic price on own labour and full costs of rearing the Ainmal