If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

haha bollocks me hole.

My daughters application was ripped up . Yes ripped up. And we were told RIPPED UP for years. Apply again.

No this is not the Ukrainians fault and there was no war then.

What angers me is how is it she can't go because there's no "supposed" places but they can take in huge numbers of Ukrainians at the click of a finger?

You see there is room. Just not for the locals.

**** Ukraine and **** this thread.

Don't bother with the BAN shite either. I won't be back.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭CeCe12

Bull tax takes effect at approximately 18,000 a year. What will that get you. Sweet FA. Ridiculous comment Maryanne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Definitely not envious here dude. I lived abroad for years.

Difference is that I had enough when I came back not to be crying when I didn't get everything I wanted handed to me straight away.

Who is going to be envious of someone who is threatened by Ukrainians fleeing from a war in a country where the average wage(as has been posted on here many times) is about 200 quid a month.

Bollox. Your post doesn’t reflect actual facts. “Ripped up”. Ya. Right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

No it's just made up stuff I think in my head, Not actual facts at all. I mean nothing factual AT ALL.

It's grand though I'll be driving 40-50 mins one way to a new school come next month to drive that same 40-50 mins back and then another hour to work in that direction to pay my hard earned tax for all the Ukrainians to pop into our local school who have been dumped in our borough.

The usual bollocks by a pensioner where nothing affects you. So it must be lies. The generation who doesn't give two flying **** about us once they're alright.

KIP.

Good luck everyone. It's been real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Annovella

Some of them have cars worth over 50k and properties that they rent out to other Ukrainians and still crying that they have very little support. In fact leaving Irish families unhoused is a shame regardless of other refugees. Who cares about Afganistan people, Siria, Lybia and so on... Ukraine is obviously a priority for marionette politicians.

Yep. Very real. Tis all someone else’s fault. My childrens secondary schools were chosen and booked in January of 6th class. Same as all their classmates.

Another concern I have is that Ireland is currently Rabies free and has been for the over 100 years, we won't be soon, there unvaccinated pets of all variety are being admitted. Yes there vaccinated at point of entry. Who do you think is picking up that tab 🤔

Don't Leave the thread, I don't think they are pensioners just no significant other, kids or friends.

Your kids are well out of school. The last at least 3/4 years you can only put your child's name down the year they are due to attend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

Yeah they are just playing a role,making it up as she goes along. I dont know that many women that say bollox so its probably a she anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

With that logic why should Ukrainians sitting here for a few weeks get a “free house” handed to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Slava_Ukraine

Source, I'll hop in before you. Didn't think so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Barbosa92

Don’t waste your energy engaging in a discussion with that troll.

The fella who has been here 8 years has no excuse. The Ukrainians who just landed and don't have a place to live kinda have a decent excuse for not owning a house in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

What a badass edgelord you are! We are all so impressed with your contemptuous dismissal of people who've had their homes blown to **** and seen their loved ones murdered and children kidnapped. Extra "marks" for all the "scarequotes!" 🙄

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

Yeah but why should they be handed a free House? You say the Irish guy doesn’t deserve it but someone how they do? Are you putting Ukrainians up in your own house or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

But how do you know where they are from. Someone a while ago linked two cars Parked. I googled the reg plates and found out the 2 cars were from nowhere near the fighting. And ended up in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

Another insane take. Cloud cuckoo land. So if that guy is earning 40k a year before tax he'd be able to get a mortgage?

How many Ukrainians have been given free houses? That is a figment of some boards.ie posters imaginations. They currently have permission to reside in the EU for the next year or so. That is the extent of it. It isn't like some fella waiting 8 years for his "foreva" home. That fella could have used those 8 years to make a bit of an effort to help himself rather than self-engineer some kind of helplessness

Imagine picking your way through the ruins of Bucha. Your friends are out at the new mass grave site they've found. Bodies are being dug up and you honestly don't know whether it'd be better to have them dig up some of your family so you'd have closure. Or not find them, so you could still hope.

You do know at least some of the missing children are still alive, because one of them managed to send a text message a couple of days ago to say they were ok and being looked after, but they didn't know where they were, Russian speaking men had taken them.

Your husband hugs you, tells you he'll take care of himself, tells your son to look after you. He climbs onto the back of a truck, which is heading to bring volunteers to the front lines. You don't know if you'll see him again.

"I know," you say to yourself. "I'll become an economic migrant!"

"I'll move to Ireland, for the craic, and all the free stuff they'll give us. I hear if you ask on facebook, someone will even donate you a pack of knickers from Pennys! And we can sit in a hotel room all day!" (and be criticised for that) "And if it's sunny I can bring you to the beach!" (and be criticised for that). "It's all for the best, really."

----

Date: 8 August 2022

From 24 February 2022, when the Russian Federation’s armed attack against Ukraine started, to 7 August 2022, the Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) recorded 12,867 civilian casualties in the country: 5,401 killed and 7,466 injured. This included:

• a total of 5,401 killed (2,081 men, 1,420 women, 147 girls, and 169 boys, as well as 39 children and 1,545 adults whose sex is yet unknown)
    • a total of 7,466 injured (1,511 men, 1,095 women, 157 girls, and 225 boys, as well as 198 children and 4,280 adults whose sex is yet unknown)
      • In Donetsk and Luhansk regions: 7,254 casualties (3,207 killed and 4,047 injured)
        • On Government-controlled territory: 5,907 casualties (2,938 killed and 2,969 injured)
        • On territory controlled by Russian armed forces and affiliated armed groups: 1,347 casualties (269 killed and 1,078 injured)
      • In other regions of Ukraine (the city of Kyiv, and Cherkasy, Chernihiv, Kharkiv, Kherson, Kyiv, Mykolaiv, Odesa, Sumy, Zaporizhzhia, Dnipropetrovsk, Poltava, Rivne, Vinnytsia, Ternopil, Ivano-Frankivsk and Zhytomyr regions), which were under Government control when casualties occurred: 5,613 casualties (2,194 killed and 3,419 injured)

Civilian casualties in Ukraine from 24 February to 7 August 2022 (individual cases verified by OHCHR), per month

Most of the civilian casualties recorded were caused by the use of explosive weapons with wide area effects, including shelling from heavy artillery, multiple launch rocket systems, missiles and air strikes.

OHCHR believes that the actual figures are considerably higher, as the receipt of information from some locations where intense hostilities have been going on has been delayed and many reports are still pending corroboration. This concerns, for example, Mariupol (Donetsk region), Izium (Kharkiv region), Lysychansk, Popasna, and Sievierodonetsk (Luhansk region), where there are allegations of numerous civilian casualties.

~ https://www.ohchr.org/en/news/2022/08/ukraine-civilian-casualty-update-8-august-2022

----

So go take a running jump with your "economic migrants"

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

Where do you suppose the workers in Abbotts will live?! You know, the people who get off their back side to go out and work and pay taxes.

Er... Donegal? I mean - is Donegal not an unemployment blackspot, with people clamouring for jobs. People already live there. Now there's an additional 1,500 jobs.

Are you actually trying to turn a good news story about a jobs announcement into a "Oh ****, the Ukrainians! This is really bad news!" post?!

===

WTF? What the actual **** does that prove, other than you've far too much time on your hands behind your twitching curtains?! I live in Dublin. My car has a Sligo reg. I've not been to Sligo in about 15 years. "Nowhere near the fighting?" The fighting is. not. confined. to. the. Donbas. Region. Look further up the thread for a list of "safe" places attacked as recently as this week in central and southern areas, nowhere near Donbas.

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

We have a thing called the internet where you can find out stuff in seconds. No time needed. Imagine reg plates being a code. I wonder what D means ? Life is returning to normal in the vast majority of Ukraine. No one has said there's no fighting.

Well we won't know the answer to that until the relevant minister for the relevant department stands before the Public Finance Committee answers the PQ

And just because you have a D-reg car doesn't mean you live in Dublin, just as my Sligo-reg car doesn't mean I live in Sligo, or that someone with Lviv plates is from Lviv, so your detective work proves what, exactly?!

===

You’re just being obtuse now. The guy who posted said he fell way down the list implying it was because of Ukrainians and you say well he doesn’t deserve it Anyway so why should people who’ve just come here have precedence over people from here?

And you didn’t the answer about how many Ukrainians you’re housing..

And they have permission to reside in the EU for the next 3 years and like the guy you mention waiting 8 years many of them are chancers galore and they won’t be going anywhere after the 3 years(just imagine the headlines if they were to be turfed out). Sooner people get a dose of reality to that fact the better. The current government policy attracts all the chancers of the day.

Yup. Single guy, €40k income, first time buyer, should be able to get a mortgage of €140,000. Will get him a 3-bed semi in Donegal, where Abbotts are recruiting, and average house price is only €127,000.

===