If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Before you get too excited, as mentioned, that is the original Directive from 2001. Ireland opted out initially but joined in 2003. It is incorporated into our own legislation here

You may read the document pertaining to the triggering for Ukraine crises here:

Paragraph 25 explicitly notes:

(25) Ireland is bound by Directive 2001/55/EC and is therefore taking part in the adoption of this Decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

That's fair enough. But there are 0 obligations to take in any number having linked from the original document. Unless there are further amendments.

I hope that you feel better for getting that weight off your chest.

I don’t think that sharing a bedroom with your children, sharing a bathroom and kitchen with strangers is worth the welfare.

Re free healthcare, all medical cards are to be reassessed within months.

Im not sure what you mean by a free forever home.

Lots of blind prejudice in your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

When one gets keys to a A rated council house that’s a forever home. Rent €15 a week.

Not sure what document you are reading. Once a group is granted protection, its members are entitled to residency and associated rights for the duration of that protection.

1. The Member States shall adopt the necessary measures to provide persons enjoying temporary protection with residence permits for the entire duration of the protection. Documents or other equivalent evidence shall be issued for that purpose.

All Ukrainians who were residing in Ukraine have been granted temporary protection. Therefore they have a right to reside anywhere in the EU. Every single one of them could decide to live in Germany or every single one of them could decide to live in Ireland. The same as every Polish person could come to Ireland tomorrow to live. You similarly won't find any treaties laying out how many Poles we have to allow in.

Wait I thought the usual trope on boards was Welfare families with tons of kids getting money happy sitting watching Jeremy kyle. Plus one weeks money here is well over the average wage for a month in Ukraine.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

No no the directive they are using is the temporary protection one. Which includes solidarity ability to provide, Triggering an Article is not the Issue but saying it's something else is.

So unless you know better than those that wrote this and agreed to it.

3. The Council Decision shall have the effect of introducing temporary protection for the displaced persons to which it refers, in all the Member States, in accordance with the provisions of this Directive. The Decision shall include at least:

(a) a description of the specific groups of persons to whom the temporary protection applies;

(b) the date on which the temporary protection will take effect;

(c) information received from Member States on their reception capacity;

(d) information from the Commission, UNHCR and other relevant international organisations.

probably why France has taken in so little in relation to population size.

You are misunderstanding the paragraph. What that says is that when making the Decision whether or not to grant protection, it will take those factors into account.

Those figures would have been taken into consideration but that is months ago. Then they triggered the Directive. The got the figures, looked at the situation, and decided to trigger it anyway.

Ireland will have given figures as to its capacity of what it could take in. I don't know what figures would have been given. It is likely a document that is revalidated every year or every couple of years outlining our "plans". If you work in a large company, you might have business continuity planning etc. You would have a document with policies and procedures and disaster recovery etc. That would be updated periodically in case it ever needs to be used. I suspect they do the same for temporary protection.

And due to Idiots in Government they said no cap. I wager were the only one that said that. France has not taken in that many Why do you think that is ?

What gonna happen to all these Women that have come over.

Chances are they'll get pregnant and have children. Before ya no it next year there's be thousands of extra baby's and single mother's looking to be housed

They cannot put a cap. You are misreading it. They are only saying they need to be given the capacity numbers etc. There would be no point in having such a measure in place if every country was allowed to put an arbitrary cap on the numbers they take in.

France have not "taken in that many" because not as many Ukrainians have gone there. Why is that? Maybe they don't like the French or think they all smell of cheese. Your guess is a good as mine. But France have not "capped" their numbers.

Ireland is an English speaking country. If you are in Ukraine and can speak some English, there is a good chance that you would come to Ireland rather than to a country where you didn't know any of the local language. I think that less than 1% of the people who fled Ukraine have ended up in Ireland.

Maybe one of them will want to have their wicked way with you in order to obtain your precious seed and use it to spawn a race of super Ukrainian-Irish mutants.

Like that film about the aliens - Species I think it was

We wouldn't hear you complaining then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭fun loving criminal

I wonder are all single rooms have been given away?

Seems unfair on students who paid up already and now forced to sharing rooms.

Tosh there is a cap. If you say you can only safely take in 10k that's it the commission cannot force you to take more. Not misreading anything It's like all EU legislation there are get outs for those that chose to use them. I'm Pretty sure the French actually care about their own citizens and reminded the EU of that fact and could only take in X. As the legislation allows for. Are you suggesting the Commision comes in and say look loads of fields over there Plenty of room. No ofc they don't they have to take into account ability to supply adequate housing or shelter financial supports. And the kicker is they can only enforce Said rules for max 2 years. What then ? You could have the likes of France sending them back in busses home.

No, again it is simple. Each and every person granted protection under the order is entitled to residency in any EU country. The protection order did not say "first 1m to come - first come first served and the rest can fu^k off". It granted residency to them all as a group. Nobody is forcing anyone to "take" any specific number. Neither Ireland nor any other country can turn any away. They don't have a quota. They all have a right to come here if they want.

If it’s ok for refugees to share rooms, surely it’s ok for students to do so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,202 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

One pays nothing, the other pays about 2 grand a month.

Get a grip will ya.

How many of those students are availing of the SUSI grants?

How many of those students or their families pay anything towards their rent?

How many of those students will even finish their first year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭slay55

Clutching at straws. Your making a fool of yourself but fair play to keeping your tunnel vision beliefs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,202 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

What are you talking about. If your kid goes to college and needs a place to stay, WE the PARENTS PAY

SUSI for tax paying citizens. That's fine.

It's grand though cause they just drop out?? They won't even finish . Don't bother at all sure.

You were the one on here saying if you can holiday in Ireland then you've enough to holiday abroad.

UN FúCKING BELIEVABLE

Seriously ??? Am I dreaming ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Irelandsnumberone

How many of these refugees could go back to Ukraine now if was needed?

How many could afford to pay their own way instead if getting free places stay/gp cards etc?

For sure, it’s only the start of it unfortunately. The future professionals of this country have their education robbed.

No under the ability to support. They can move freely ofc but not if the place they are going says they are full. It's all in the legislation. EU rules are trickey like that. France could have said we have only room for 80k then that's that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

RTE careful not to mention the influx of Refugees as a variable in the accommodation crisis. Softening people up with sentences like "A scramble for student accommodation every year is nothing new". Cowardly journalism again from RTE, expected nothing less from the government mouthpiece it has become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭fun loving criminal

I said it a couple of weeks ago that it will be students losing out when it comes to student accommodation and refugees. There's no way they will throw refugees out and here we are. It seems very very unfair on students that have paid for all this already and upfront.

I feel very sorry for students affected. Not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Barbosa92

Was chatting to young Ukrainian man today. Staying in Bunratty the last few weeks. He told me himself and many of his friends and family had been in Germany since the start of the outbreak of the war. They heard about Irelands generous supports and all decided to move here instead. They are all in shock at how well they are being treated with free accommodation/food and social welfare. The money is crazy high he said. They are looking for or have already cash in hand jobs so they can keep the benefits. There will 100k+ easy here before the end of the year all on public purse.

If they are availing of grants then fair play that's what they're there for.

How much wealth in taxes will those students create for the state when they graduate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,371 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

yeah Are you living in a parallel universe ? You’d be ok with a son or daughter of yours going off to share a room with a person whom they don’t know ?

Nothing wrong with sharing. We all did it back in the day! 3 and 4 to a room in seaside resorts in the 60’s and 70’s. The craic was mighty.