If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,959 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

So not "free everything" then, glad we cleared that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Apparently many of the other countries are only giving them citizenship for a year, then it is reviewed and/or revoked.

Number 1: No country is giving them citizenship

Number 2: It hasn't been going on for a year for you to know what has happened after one year for some of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Irelandsnumberone

I couldn't only works for Ukranians it seems. Irish and Blacks to the back of the que

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

No free yachts yet afaik, so no, not free "Everything".

I was semi quoting them, to translate everything back and forth wasn't worth the time it would take for ye of no opinion to suggest it wasn't true or correct. It was their words not mine, as is stated in the post without quoting them directly. Possibly something lost in translation, for whatever word they were using for residency.

Some have been in other countries for over a year and I am guessing were using that information loosely, as visa's were different before the war.

Their telegram group, that is linked and has been mentioned a few times.

But it doesn't surprise me that they are the things you picked up on and decided to run with..

I was semi quoting them

You were semi quoting Facebook?

Sure that's sterling evidence they are getting everything for free so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭malinheader

Mary Anne,This government shut down along Time ago. The Dail sitting makes no difference.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

No, as mentioned.

Is that all you have to bring to the discussion? "It was on Facebook or social media" and "not Everything" .

It could have been scrawled on rice paper for all I care, the point is that is what they are saying and trying to find out how to leave refuge in one of the other countries to make it here.

I wonder why that could be?

It's probably because Facebook.

We're a rudderless ship, soon about to hit the rock's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

..says 'Donald Trump' who hides his own profile but digs into others.

So you accept there are real problems getting kids into school here?

Ask ANY parent trying to get a kid into schools in Dublin metro area as an example.

Don't attack the man attack my argument.

I didnt 'feck off ' I emigrated like many of my fellow citizens always have done and then many I know came back to improve the place and invest millions in businesses here. Don't try to denigrate hard working emigrants. Maybe you prefer more people staying here on the dole?

I worked in Ireland before and paid my taxes and paying them again, not that it's any of your business! I worked hard and saved my money carefully. Good for me and my family, THAT IS what I should be doing. All legit, all the right way. My family are citizens and we DO have rights under the constitution for education to be provided to our children. But those rights are getting very difficult to access. What good are rights when in practicality there are no resources, no budgets?!? Whats the plan?

I'm complaining that many folks have their kids on waiting lists for schools, both Irish and immigrant parents, and they cant get their kids into the schools in the district. Or waiting till the last minute to hear anything.

But schools were just waving Ukranian kids in immediately, no waiitng lists, no transparent system or process.

How is that fair or right?

Answer the question.

...and all this happening when the clowns that run the country are on a six weeks holiday...

Knows what your point is, deflected from it earlier and now trying again with your reply. 😂🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,736 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I know another country where resources are finite and stretched...

Can you guess where it is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

How is that fair or right?

Answer the question.

I’m not going to attack the man, it’s just you don’t have much of an argument. It’s fair in the respect that they’re refugees who had to flee from their homes and try to establish themselves in a foreign country where their proficiency in the language is poor, in spite of the fact that it’s taught in Ukrainian schools. Many of the people who are fleeing the conflict have difficulty accessing services and employment, where you don’t.

The reason it’s fair, is that under International and Irish law, they are entitled to be treated as equals in Irish society -

(10) Without prejudice to subsection (8), a displaced person to whom subsection (2)applies shall be entitled—

(a) to seek and enter employment, to engage in any business, trade or profession and to have access to education and training in the State in the like manner and to the like extent in all respects as an Irish citizen,

(b) to receive, upon and subject to the same conditions applicable to Irish citizens, the same medical care and the same social welfare benefits as those to which Irish citizens are entitled, and

(c) to the same rights of travel in the State as those to which Irish citizens are entitled.

https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2015/act/66/section/60/enacted/en/html#sec60

And the reason they’re being treated as they are with respect to education is because their children aren’t likely to be able to integrate and participate in Irish society without being acclimated in some way, and school is the best way to do that as opposed to keeping children cooped up in makeshift accommodation like those godawful prefab or portacabin efforts or whatever the hell they are. I dunno ‘bout you, but I wouldn’t live in one if I’d any choice in the matter, let alone do I imagine they’re suitable for a family to live in. “Better than nothing” shouldn’t actually be the defining standard.

Having said that, your own children shouldn’t be deprived of an education either, they do have that right, and the State has an obligation to provide for education. Complaining about immigrant children being granted access to education in the way that it’s being done though, will have no bearing on any outcomes for your child. I dare say you’re in a far better position to campaign and gain sympathy and support for your cause than many immigrants who’s parents don’t often don’t have a word of English, and so their children don’t get to practice their English at home. It’s why there are English language lessons being offered to adults in order that they too are better able to integrate into Irish society.

Sometimes it occurs to me that it may not be the worst thing in the world that the immigrants I meet who have nothing but praise for Irish people, can’t understand a word of English, and therefore can’t read what’s being said about them on social media which is primarily written in English, in a country where the vast majority of people can not only speak English, but understand it pretty well.

Instead of blaming schools or immigrants for issues which you’re only experiencing now, the reality is that parents have faced exactly the sorts of issues you’re faced with now, for decades in trying to get their children into schools which they wanted to get their children into, or the establishment of schools which would be more suitable and provide the type of education which they wish for their children.

Again, you’re in a far better position than parents who’s first language is not English, to make yourself understood so that people are left in no doubt whatsoever as to where you’re coming from. Refugees from Ukraine don’t have anything like the advantages that you or your children have already, and complaining that their children aren’t being deprived of an education and your children are, and questioning the fairness of it with all things considered? I’d be saying nothing if I were in your position tbh 😒

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

So you actually believe that politicians run the country? You probably need to take a crash course in ,oh I don't know, just about everything!

Rich coming from a person who going by their posts hasn't a clue what is going on and has been shown to be talking out their a## on numerous occasions.

A few posts back you were giving out about the politicians going on holiday in the middle of all this!

I think maybe you just like a good old whinge!

I hope that your kids never find themselves in the dreadful situation that the Ukrainian refugees are experiencing.

Aye that's correct, the clowns who are making the decisions that are destroying my country have decided to take a six week break.

Likely the same clowns which you support.

Do you really think that every TD in the country is sunning him/herself for 6 weeks?

FYI, They’re busy catching up on constituency stuff, in the hope that it will get them re-elected.

I remember rte running programs about Irish kids being moved from hostels and b&bs and some even sleeping in cars long before the Ukrainian event's.

So many Irish kids have and are still experiencing it.

But you said earlier "the Dail sitting makes no difference " . BTW You obviously don't support the government parties so who do you support?

I know a few of them, and I am very aware of where they are, and it is not 'busy catching up on constituency stuff'.

There are also a couple of them I don't know, but know where they are.

You are not summarising my position correctly.

I don't have any problem with immigrants children accessing education. But it needs to be done the right way, the fair way and with a plan and resources so that it doesn't deprive citizens and other immigrants children access to education.

Resources ARE limited. We cannot and do not promise resources to all refugees around the world. So what is the limit and what is the plan to resource the education sector? Services are already insufficient !

Check the school situation in Dublin metro area!

What I have a big problem with is Ukranian children getting some special priority over all the other children and families, mo matter Irish , immigrants or refugees, and the scale of that impact on the education sector.

And remember they aren't even supposed to be immigrating but here temporarily under a temp protection order.

I AM NOT in a better position than Ukranian parents with their children.

I have to apply the standard way.

Their kids just get waived in with no process.

How is my family or other families on waiting lists or refused school places better off than them in terms of accessing schooling?

We are not. That's simply untrue. Whole towns and suburbs have no school places in the Dublin metro area. I know the real situation on the ground and you don't, its as simple as that.

Someone or some party that will put Irish citizens well being first.

What about yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,939 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

You want to make me feel bad about complaining about my kid not being able to access school places in a fair and transparent way in my own country?

You must be on another planet.

Enough of your virtue signalling already.

It doesn't solve our problems.

You think you have higher morals than me yet you don't care about my children being denied access to local schools.

You need to reflect on that.