If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Oh cop on. You really think there aren't qualified teachers, medics, nurses and doctors in the thousands of people who've arrived? You think they all just grow sunflowers, cook borscht and work in nuclear powerplants? Source is talking with Ukrainians who live here now.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

You're seriously advocating that we not allow people to leave the country? Qualify in X profession, you're going to lose your freedom of movement and other human rights? JFC...

Well, I guess it fits with the rest of your sentiments.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

You missed the link above where Ukrainian teachers are starting work here, then.

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,736 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Ah yes, same as syrians who were all scientists and engineers no doubt

How many of them are gainfully employed in the state now, years on? Not many

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,959 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Secondly, read a newspaper. Other EU countries are stopping paying them welfare payments

Which countries?

Poland have phased out an extra payment they implemented immediately to hosts, but the payment is still available for a ream of circumstances, you know the payment we have promised and still haven't delivered?

From July 2022, Poland will abolish compensation payments to persons who have sheltered refugees from Ukraine.

The EU directive allows Ukranian refugees to work in the EU, therefore they are also entitled to social welfare, so again which EU countries has stopped this entitlement?

In your own good time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

The problem is real for families NOW, school places are as rare as hens teeth in many areas.

Its NOT a theoretical future plan, its affecting families such as mine NOW.

If we want to talk about 'UNFAIR 'how come Ukranians got such as an amazing deal compared to other refugees?

How did they get pps so fast? What about the other legal immigrants waiting for their visas and their pps?

Driving licenses approved.

How do they get medical cards? We hard working citizens cant get one usually! Cant even get a GP sometimes.

How do they get full social welfare rates?

And last but definitely not least.

How come their kids could go to an already over subscribed school when taxpaying Irish citizens can't get their kids into the schools!!

I have nothing against Ukranians.

I have a problem with our citizens and other immigrants and refugees coming at a lower priority though.

Why can we not support Ukranians to stay in Western Ukraaine? Wouldnt tuat be more sensible given the massive shortage of accommodation, schoolplaces and healthcare services here ?

I also think the potential for corruption is huge, with 10 and 20 million euro contracts being signed with no oversight for accommodating the influx.

Post edited by maninasia on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,504 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

don’t be so disingenuous, they can leave the country, I never said they couldn’t… but they have a ‘contract’ signed to work in Irish healthcare for X years..

Errr contracts are common in working life…so yes, I’m seriously advocating it, they can of course leave but if they did within 2 or 3 years say, they would be liable to reimburse the state and taxpayers… for their training. Why should a taxpayer foot the huge costs of medical training, a six figure number and then the person taxes said skills and says byeee and off go to the US, or wherever…

the friend of mine who is a doctor in upstate New York now… but on gaining her medical degree she worked Temple Street for about 4 years…met an American lad here, got engaged and now married with kids.

Don’t want to stay here, always fancied living in Dubai ? Great ! Put in time here, working and helping the people, taxpayers who contribute to your degree, then off you go…. They should have a responsibility to put in the time, skills and work back to the people who enabled the financing of their degree.

ukrainian doctors and healthcare workers flee when a war is on just takes the fûckin biscuit… shows what many are after.

I have explain to my ten year old now why he cant find a school in the district even though Ukranian kids could just go in within a week of arriving.

You make out like this is a problem in the future.

Cop on to yourself, its a problem for us NOW. For people looking for school places , for a place to live or a GP to register with. And there are a lot of us Irish citizens and immigrants alike in this position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,069 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Of course not. Its a huge problem all around IRELAND...the lack of school places.

Immigrants and returnees face the most difficulties in getting their kids into schools. Anybody who moves house can also encounter the issue.

Ukranian kids seemed to have bypassed the whole system and waiting lists (there isnt really much of a system either...it largely goes on the individual school principal's yes or no at the end of the day)!

There are not infinite resources. When somebody gets a resource often another person was denied in the background. That is a reality you won't hear from the polticians opening the gates with no plan or budget in place.

Its sad the government let down so many locals claiming they dont have the funds for so many years.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/education/number-of-ukrainian-pupils-in-school-here-nears-7000-41724196.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭pauly58

This is my final post on this insanity.

I went to our local village in West Cork, it's well known as the local hotel held weddings for years, another old hotel was sold earlier in the summer & it was being done up. This morning stood outside were a group of men & I asked the owner of the shop I was in what was the story there. They have filled this hotel with Ukrainians, he told me.

Madness. How long they're staying, no one knows, what they're going to do all day I don't know.

I suppose when the money runs out, our muppet politicians might have to come up with a plan.

As an aside, for the first time in nearly fourty years, my wife couldn't get to see our GP today, completely full. I wonder why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,069 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

So your main concern appears to be that there are Ukranians standing outside the local hotel and you don't know what they are going to do all day! As for seeing the doctor I think covid restrictions made a lot of gp's realise that many of those turning up for appointments didn't need to be wasting their time and the GPS time in the first place.

I think you are waffling now. Its well known there arent enough GPs to service the growing population as is.

The fact is the huge influx of refugees is putting an added strain on already stretched public services. Those services quality are being downgraded or access has become impossible in some cases.

Accommodation, healthcare, education, lesiure facilities.

Not all of this is on refugees by any means. The problem is the large and rapid influx is making a bad situation worse.

I'm sorry, I must have missed the bit where the government abolished third-level fees again. 🙄

===

ukrainian doctors and healthcare workers flee when a war is on just takes the fûckin biscuit… shows what many are after.

Yes. You're the one who is being disingenuous. What are they supposed to do, post their kids and dependents to Ireland? In many (most?) cases, one of a couple has come over with kids, their partner has stayed.

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,736 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Or... they could go the vast area to the west of the fighting - but still in Ukraine. That way they could both stay to help AND still be close enough to their family.

Trekking across the breadth of Europe to a small island would seem like the last option to me.. unless it was for other "incentives"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

If she is "home" then I presume she attended some schooling here and might have been aware that schools teach Irish. I don't know how a person could think they teach here if they don't know basics of something that they will have to teach. Seems very shortsighted not to have studied it if she wanted to be a teacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,504 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Exactly.. all about incentivising for themselves and family... thousands of kilometres away from where they are required.

Posters appear to have no memory of the Irish medical students who had to escape from Ukraine at the start of the invasion? The black girl from Carlow was one. Apparently it seems that evil Irish were going over to Ukraine to get qualified as doctors and then leave Ukraine to work elsewhere!

"The doctors and medics should stay in the warzone, where they're needed!"

"And/Or move to western Ukraine where there's no fighting and they're not needed, and help from there!" 🙄

If I was living in a country that had been invaded, where people were being raped and murdered, and where kids were being stolen and being brought back across the border to Russia, I'd be getting my dependents the hell out of the country, not moving them to another part that hadn't yet been invaded or attacked. YMMV. "Incentives" don't come into it, but I love how you can see that as the only reason people would leave. Says a lot about you.

===

Same poster has mentioned on other threads that they have only just returned from being abroad and also mentions that their friends who stayed here didn't save as much as them. That's likely why their 10 year old is only now looking for a school in the "district"

Perhaps one reason those friends didn't save as much was that they were contributing to the system here? Rather than going off for years and parachuting back in when it suits to have a State that will provide certain things for free.

The irony of complaining about Ukrainians when they fecked off for years. There is nothing wrong with doing that. Don't get me wrong. But it seems a little hypocritical to be landing back in and giving out about the Ukrainians while demanding immediate services after being off paying their taxes to somewhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Would you not ensure your wife and children to safety and then you you're serve your country and carry out your duty to try save your country from Russian criminals?

You might expect your neighbour from across the road or the postman to do it for you.

It says a lot about you too to be honest.

Well it also says a lot about people who, at a time when their country has to cope with a huge influx of people, spend their time attacking it and trying to undermine it for providing that aid.

Being a little more understanding and accepting of an obligation to house a few people is a lot less of a sacrifice than staying somewhere with bombs falling on your family or murdering rapists a few miles over. But we apparently have plenty who don't even want to do their tiny bit for our country on that front.

Ireland has to accommodate those people.

Where the **** did I say I wouldn't serve my country?! I'd make sure dependents were safe, first. But then...

Nice rush to judgement, though.

===

There is already 8 million displaced, the countries resources are finite even more acutely when they are fighting off Soviet aggression and their country has been decimated economically and socially.

But I'm sure you would have no problem living in a field with your 10 year old playing the missile lottery.

Next level internet warrior.

🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Irelandsnumberone

So we should keep on taking in an unlimited number, providing free everything to Ukranians and just see what happens?

Whats the plan for short/medium/long term?

Free everything, really? Like Prams?

They are entitled to work which 1000s are, if you are entitled to work you are entitled to welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Irelandsnumberone

Free hotel rooms, free 3 meals a day, gp, college places free etc

Irish people working don't get them

Go declare yourself homeless, you too can live the high life. Let us know how you get on. 👍️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Free everything, anything they don't get from the state, they are requesting in facebook groups and in online lists.

A few of them (I only saw one) were pointing out the negativity that it could lead to on the Telegram group. One lady was suggesting that many are milking us, and pointed out that our tourism is suffering and as a result, so is our economy. Others argued that was up to us (Ireland). The girl stated:

Let's be friends with the economy.

The cost of housing and food from the budget is compensated. The budget is taxes. That is, expenses.

Tourists are fresh money in the budget.

She was trying to encourage spending (at least some of the free money).

Many others were asking how to change country from Italy, Poland, France. They state that they are trying to get Irish passport and Irish citizenship, but know nothing about the country. Apparently many of the other countries are only giving them citizenship for a year, then it is reviewed and/or revoked.

Many are asking about sending parcels back to Ukraine, as they have to declare what is in the parcels, and some items are not allowed. Many people are getting the items from the lists and sending them to Ukraine free, because An Post will send parcels up to 20KG free. So even the items that people are giving out here, aren't necessarily benefitting the people here because some are snapping them up and sending them there.

Needless to say, the lady asking them to put something back into the economy got nowhere as many were telling her "it was not their influence that made this decision" - Google translate.

She must be Xenophobic too, as she pointed out to them:

As soon as local journalists calculate the budget expenses for one Ukrainian refugee, the Irish will immediately stop loving us

Or maybe she isn't a xenophobe, and is just a realist.

Maybe she realises that we are being milked, and a lot of us aren't going to like it when it appears in the paper for us all to read by how much.