If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,201 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Edit

Post edited by Dempo1 on

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Edit

Post edited by Dempo1 on

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Ever see Game of thrones? That wall is 4 year olds attempt with lego blocks compared to what we're doing. "Enjoy" your Barry's tea,cause that muck is all you'll have.

Edit: We might have slightly gone off topic. But I'm sure I can BS....Integration through culinary Irish delights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

You brought upon yourself in some sort of twisted way to try and lay some sort of blame on the person who reported that two Refugees who are sometimes getting some cash payments for a maximum two days a week work, and not every week, that the encouragement of black market employment or whatever you called it, lay with her.

That is horsecrap. The blame is heavily with the people who are promoting the €200+ payments per week for sitting on their ass and getting free accommodation and meals. Even attempting to compare that to two semi part time (if you could even call them that) 'workers' is demented.

Why would any of them want to seek out over the counter employment, when it could cost them. Look at the sucker employer, paying taxes for xx amount of years only to see them squandered on these very same refugees coming here, that you say she should report. She's just skipping the fecking middle man.

The employer probably shouldn't even hire them, just throw money at them when they walk up, and kick any homeless people when they see them. Learn from those leading.

Laying it on thick and hard over such trivial nonsense you should be ashamed of yourself. Any nonsense stories about soldiers living in a sitting room for 30 odd years until they could afford to buy a house while eating out of a dog bowl? Surely you could pull one out that may be apt here?

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Lol.. Not at all. giving it back. All the nonsense on one person because she stated what was happening where she works, a scenario that was created by neither her employer or herself, yet those that seem to think those in charge can do no wrong and every move is the right move, decided to keep pressing. Absolute horsecrap. Trying to project some sort of blame on somebody because she hasn't reported the grand tax fraud of 2022 which amounts to roughly €40 possibly. When we all know the real reason that she is in that predicament to begin.

Usually Maryanne has some sort of elaborate story that suits it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

The budget will be interesting to watch and better be sitting down at the figures announced. Over €400,000 per week for 3000 refugees the maths is staggering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭slay55

”Social Democrats housing spokesperson Cian O'Callaghan said: "People who are homeless are finding it very difficult to get into emergency accommodation, so I have been supporting and trying to help a number of people who are actually being refused access to emergency accommodation even though they are homeless - this includes people who are living in tents."

”"We have now broken a record we never wanted to reach, with the increase recorded in the June 2022 Homeless Report coming at a time when homeless services are beyond capacity, while housing applications are suffering extreme delays," she said.

"At present, it is taking on average five months for housing applications to be processed.

"That's five months of waiting just to get on the waiting list, which can then take several years to yield a house, depending on your situation."

I just thought on that story last month where the government introduced that Ukrainian refugees are to get a maximum of two offers of accommodation upon arriving into Ireland and they will be put to the back of queue if they refuse both. Some had turned down offers of accommodation 6 or 7 times. Goldilocks on steroids they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭accensi0n

What did you mean when you posted "I'm ouuta here" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Absolute Zero

Screenshot_20220730-070210.jpg

Making an absolute mockery out of the Irish people. They're really starting to take the piss out of this country's hospitality now. Some valuable lessons hopefully being learned in this country, it's soon time to grow up here now. The land of Céad míle fáilte (unless you're Irish) better start waking up pretty soon, the world's not full of lovely little innocent Chernobyl kids. 💥👀. Thousands more to come, buckle up for the ride bucko's.

I support the current thing. RIP Ireland 🇺🇦 .

Curious Question 🤔

I suppose so many ways to head to the hills 🤔

*skedaddle

* Depart / Retreat

* Leg it / Make a Run for it

*Take flight / Hasty retreat

* Vamoose

* au revoir

Would you have preferred me to say G**D N***T

Fascinating the interest in how I sign off 🤔😏

You say I am abusing my fellow citizens?? While you sit at home on your State pension, doing a bit of "voluntary" work to keep yourself busy and to make yourself feel good, I am working away and happy to be able to still do so. Where is your own "effin" pride in this country that you are happy to see the hard earned tax of millions of hard workers be handed over to thousands of new arrivals every month to our shores? Most are unvetted, most are economic migrants...... none are being means tested, each of them getting medical cards, free education, free travel, free university ............I could go on. I would think our Government are "ABUSING THEIR FELLOW CITIZENS" by using our taxes and prsi to pay for everything for these new arrivals from all over Ukraine and further afield yet leaving over 10K Irish citizens homeless, including hundreds of young children!

You don't question our Government over this? You think this is something to be proud of? As someone said days ago to you, where is your empathy for your fellow Irishmen and women?

4 Ukrainian women work 5 hours twice a week for cash..........their rate of pay is €10.50. I am only in this job since March, on the same money, but not picking fruit...... and you think I should go and chat to my employer about it? I'd imagine Revenue wouldn't be too concerned about this level of tax evasion. In early July we had a 20 year old Italian guy working for 3 weeks for cash, he was over visiting his sister who lives here but wanted some pocket money, he was a great worker, he is now back in Italy. This is the nature of the seasonal Summer fruit picking business.

I think you should stop being so obsessed with me Maryanne84 and look at the bigger picture here and what our Government is allowing happen to our country.

Hi ho , hi ho.....its off to work I go now. Have a lovely day and maybe get out for a walk to clear your head and get a bit of perspective. I have explained my situation here and tried my best. You know yourself you are nit picking but sure carry on if it makes you feel better. You are on my ignore list from now on. Keep up the good work!

If MaryAnne was raising her family in today's Ireland, she wouldn't be long changing her tune. Charity well and truly begins at home but the government want to go around the world and import lots of social issues, because God only knows why.

A lot of people on here, seem to be of a similiar mindset. We have reached breaking point at this stage. I am in a job where I have seen Ireland change drastically in the last 15 years. All my colleagues will now say it was not for the good. I really do fear we are past the point of no return, especially with the absolute eejits in the Dail running this country.

I genuinely do worry about my children's future here.

Excellent post , I took a look back at some posts yesterday and the contradictions flowing uncontrollably .

There's loads of posts back in the thread I've dealt with , regarding, Hypocrisy, Convenient Sympathy, Breath Taking virtue signalling and some inconvenient truths .

I've called out those who revel in a new found gesture of sympathy towards one cohort and not others in their own communities, those same folks who showed distain and vocally for others coming into their communities.

People who pick and choose who they are sympathetic to, based on virtue signalling are in my humble opinion hypocrites of the worst kind.

These folks are utterly oblivious to what's actually going on on the real world and the Irony of course being all their grandstanding is meaningless as its refugees that will ultimately suffer in the end when the PR value wares off.

To your particular point , I don't find it at difficult to understand your employment situation, the absurdity of the notion any employee can dictate how their employers behave is extraordinary.

Will I wonder , those who are so "concerned" be good enough to enlighten us all as to what these Ukrainian refugees will do for the months ahead when fruit picking season ends 🤔 have they thought for a moment the employer sees this as a Temporary arrangement 🤔 regardless of their actions, paying cash . More and more Ukrainian refugees who found work, found it on low paid, Temporary seasonal work and will depend utterly on the state for the months ahead and possibly years to come.

You see, if one takes time to analyse a pattern of defence of this nonsense, the hole's become larger.

The few that twist and turn the narrative, may live in Ivory Towers but for the majority watching this absolute farce crumble and may not have an Ivory tower to look out from , see exactly what is going on , Hypocrisy, Discrimination, Racism and inequality led by of all institutions, our very own government.

Post edited by Dempo1 on

Wowsers. A nerve seems to have been touched!

Single parents can earn up to €165 a week without losing their claim. The employer is doing them no favours by paying cash in hand, though you may be right in saying that he should just give them the money as they don’t seem to be doing much while they’re there! The employees are also doing no favours by letting it happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭arctictree

Local hostel and hotel here is full with Ukrainians. A good few of them are working in the pubs and doing cleaning work. All cash in hand. There is no way they would do a normal job and risk losing the benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 ThoseSpikesAreSore

There are at least 3 working down here for cash into their hands one guy and two ladies. All three would be part time summer jobs. They would not be working more than three days like.

These should be reported. They are stealing from all of us.

Reporting Employers is one thing, Reporting Employees being paid Cash is another thing, but Both intertwined, But ultimately its the Employers who'll be Sanctioned and to a far lesser extent employee"s. This has being going on for years, especially in hospitality.

The harsh reality is, no agency, Revenue, DSP will give this phenomenon the slightest glance, in the current climate, but that will change quite soon, now reviews will commence . They know full well what's going on and are perhaps minded not to rock the boat, so to speak, just yet.

The black market has been Thriving with Gusto since the pandemic, the amount of "Home service Businesses" on the go, is astonishing, I'd doubt there's not a single person on this thread who doesn't know of a Hair, Nail, Beauty, Cleaning home service business and on a cash only basis in their community or that they are aware of. Infact I've one hairdresser near me, who gave up working full time in hairdressing and she's never been as busy working "Privately"

Whilst I certainly don't condone this black economy, to a certain extent I understand it.

In the context of Ukrainian refugees, yes its obvious they maintain full benifits, some have practically no outgoings including, food and board and it is reprehensible to see abuses given the extraordinary generousity shown, but to criticise those who highlight this , is Bizzare, if the criticism was objective, fair enough, but its not, its essentially trying to deflect and ironically in a strange way acts to support this carry on.

IMHO 😉

Who are telling the revenue not to rock the boat? What sort of nonsense is that?

No one is, and I've not said anyone is, but if you seriously think Revenue are remotely concerned or interested about Ukrainian refugees working for Cash or in DSP in the current climate, your mistaken.

I've also said, that is about to change

No nonsense and I invite anyone who has a concern, to report what they may be aware of, they'll neither be told it will be investigated nor asked to elaborate, they'll hear nothing as the report will find its way into the "Not Bothered File" 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,360 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

This is where the inequality is arising , people are hungry and queueing at food banks because they cant make ends meet . While refugees get full benefits and three meals a day and no bills to pay our own are hungry and cant feed the kids .

https://www.thejournal.ie/food-poverty-struggle-cost-5821047-Jul2022/

Well said and just one of the many inequalities some refuse point blank to accept are occurring.

That is not true, Revenue takes every single case and get the last cent out of you. Not sure why you are deflecting and encouraging cash to employees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

More drama concerning the Ukrainian welfare tourists..ahem "refugees"..at my local leisure centre.

Access to pool and gyms is via a swipe in card which each member is given upon payment of membership.

According to one of the assistants who works there some of our Ukrainian "refugees" despite being on a generous membership rate and even more generous handouts of Irish taxpayers money and accommodation have been sharing the one membership card.

The incident came to light when a staff member noticed the same card swiped in SEVEN times in the one day.

The assistant informed me that had Irish people being caught in such a scam their membership would have been revoked immediately.

However, the Ukes received a verbal warning and tried the very same thing the next day.

This minor level stuff is indicative of the mindset of these people.

Get to Ireland and bleed the place dry which is being encouraged by virtue signalling politicians, taxpayer funded NGOs, and other morons with nothing better to do.

I'll await your locating were I've actually said anything about encouraging cash to employees 🤔

I'm simply pointing out some obvious facts.

I wish you luck in reporting any Ukranian Refugee in receipt of cash payments or indeed rouge employers.

I don't deflect, as you well know.

What are your facts based on? Do you work for the revenue now?

I remember very early on in this debacle when Virtue signalling was. at its peak, quite a kerfuffle over Ukrainian Guests at a Bray hotel not being permitted access to leisure facilities at the hotel free,

Outrage on Joe Duffy's Liveline turned into hilarity when he soon discovered, Furious members paying Hundreds of euros per year to use such facilities were livid anyone, regardless of who they are were permitted access to leisure facilities free and taking up allotted access times, many cancelling their subscriptions.

It would seem, shockingly that despite Free accomodation and food, the. Ukrainian guests felt aggrieved that the package didnt include unlimited free access to swimming pool and leisure facilities and were horrified the beastly hotel owners decided to charge €5 for access.

Story went tits up on Joe Duffy and it was never mentioned again.