Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,201 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

A Donald, Can you point me to any comments I've made about scroungers and Single mums 🤔 I've all evening I can hang on.

I've absolutely questioned why "others " have to jump through hoops , highlighted the disparities evident, asked about those in emergency accommodation, the 4k already processed in DP , the lashing out of PPSN like confetti whilst those on work permits waiting weeks, The MC debacle, etc etc, you know the questions any right thinking person would ask when they see blatant discrimination and dare I say Real Bigotry on full display .

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

• Site Banned Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

I do enjoy your "debating" style.

Right so.

They're refugees from an area (small area of a huge country that is war torn), that require help, which I think everybody in this thread is agreement with.

We have significant problems of our own and they are not irish or eu citizens. Border control should be an obvious options, but you don't get the likes for that.

Dp lads. What about them? Why aren't they getting the same benefits? I dislike unfairness. But maybe because they look a bit more like us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

DP people are here being processed for claims for international protection. International protection is classified as a human right and any application must be processed (even if patently a chancer) and the person looked after while that is being done.

Ukrainians are here because they have been given permission to stay in the EU and work. One consequence of this is that it eliminates the necessity for them to apply for international protection.

You are welcome to protest that any and every person arriving in and saying "I want international protection" be granted the same rights as Ukrainians currently get. I would not support that as it would be quite a silly thing to do.

But they're not part of the eu. Hmmm. I won't say it's slightly racist, but if the hat fits...

What , for me enjoying chocolate, your struggling Donald

White chocolate I bet!

And not sourced from the Ukraine. Post reported.

They have been granted temporary permission to be in the EU. You may be aware, for example, that Swiss people have permission to live or work in the EU. Just because the EU grants permission for any Swiss person to live or work in the EU doesn't mean that they would or should be obligated to allow any person from anywhere in the globe to live or work here.

If you want to advocate for open borders with immediate access to benefits here for any person in the world then you are entitled to do that. Again, I won't support you on that as it would be a bit silly. There are probably plenty of groups calling for that which you could join if you actually care about the issue. But we know that in reality, you don't care. You just want to give a proverbial kick to the face for some Ukrainian kid fleeing devastation. So the DP guys have a temporary use for you at the minute.

People applying for international protection go into that system. They have a kind of temporary status here while that application is being processed. DP is part of that system. At the end of it, they are either granted or denied that protection. If granted, then they remain on the something similar to same terms as an EU person would. But until that is granted, they haven't established any inherent right to be here. The Ukrainians, in contrast, currently have that right - albeit temporarily.

Temporary permission. Strange one. Kinda like the attitude of allowing kerry people to drive home after six pints because they one the all ireland.

I'm sure it's extremely lawful?

It's hardly a new concept? I don't know how up to speed you are on current affairs (I won't take anything for granted on this thread), but you may have heard of a thing called "Brexit". The UK left the EU. While the UK was in the EU, basically any EU citizen could move there to live and/or work there. That permission is no longer there. It was, as you may have gathered due it being there previously and not there any more, temporary.

If you want to call for the permission to be removed, you can do so. But understand the consequences of doing so as they are likely contrary to what you want to achieve. As I've explained a few times before, then the Ukrainians would apply for international protection. They would likely be granted subsidiary protection which is given where a person would be otherwise be returned to a country at war. Asylum, once granted, is a much more permanent status. If the Ukraine conflict ended say next year, then the Ukrainians would by default have to go home once the EU removed the temporary permission. If granted asylum, they can stay regardless of the situation back home.

By removing the temporary permission, you would end up with them with permanent status here. So be careful what you call for unless you understand more than one step ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

Is Aldi doing some deals or free shopping for Ukrainians?

Edit

Oh. Very cute. I approve.

Temporary permission or permanent. I do enjoy binary logic.

So, out of no interest at all, how can a country outside the EU, get temporary EU status. Please educate the masses.

What exactly are you asking? The "country" doesn't have temporary EU status. However its citizens may be afforded some temporary rights. Are you asking how Swiss citizens, for example, have rights to live and work in the EU? That is as a result of treaties and agreements which cover the movement of goods and people and also entail certain obligations vis-a-vis obeying certain rules and regulations.

You have to explain your question a little better. Although I expect that you are just trying to go off on a tangential rant about something that you don't really care about, but you think it might be some "gotcha" against the Ukrainian policy in the EU.

Oh my no. You must explain.

The swiss, Norwegians or icelandics do not have have temporary EU status. Maybe I'm mistaken. I'm sure you can prove me wrong...in a definitive way. 2 lines of bollox or less.

I think you are confused. "temporary EU status" means that they have temporary status to remain in the EU. That status is as a result of their own citizenship.

Norway do indeed have freedom of movement of people with the EU. Iceland is even more heavily integrated with the EU - despite not being a member of it.

Jaysus. Everyone on this thread seems to be confused, apart from yourself.

Can you show us the legislation and signatories of it please?

Again, what are you asking for? Proof that there is freedom of movement between Norway and the EU? Proof that Iceland is fairly integrated with the EU despite not being a member, or proof that there is also freedom of movement with Switzerland?

Can you not please try google?

I well know. Keeps me in a job.

So back to Ukraine not being in the EU and absolutely no treaties within democratic EU referendums, apart from furry feel good makey up bollix.

I do agree we should give all the reasonable support we can, but this is a pisstake at this stage. We're a laughing stock of Europe. I don't like being taken for a ride and I also think at the same time, the Irish are very generous.

I think you are trying to claim that the Ukrainians should not be here?

They do not have permission as a result of an agreement with Ukraine. Rather, the permission comes the Temporary Protection Directive which was made in 2001 in anticipation of a situation like we are experiencing now. This Directive was activated by the European Council earlier this year in response to the invasion of Ukraine. You can read about it here

I'm not going to keep spoonfeeding your ramblings

I most certainly could. Can you give us a synopses please? Especially where it references all non EU countries. Much appreciated.

As for Ukrainians not being here, most certainly some shouldn't.

My18 your old daughter can't get any accommodation for university, so has to defer for a year. Yeah, feckin fun times.

I admire your stamina 😉, couldn't deal with the nonsense tonight.

The leaving cert can be a horrible bag of stress at the best of times so I feel for the 350 Ukrainian students about to take equivalent exams here shortly.

The article also contains a lot of information on other aspects of education matters relating to the folks who have made it here, too much to list

I'm in the mood.

Edit: plus I have two customer meetings tomorrow, so getting prep in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭MysticMe

Indeed France has only accepted 100k to date. Interestingly, at the current financial assistance rate of €6.80 a day (206.25 monthly) France is going to spend €20.5 million supporting 100,000 people, whereas Ireland's yearly spending would be €40.5 million on 45k.

Your comment re your daughter is noted and sorry to hear that, expect some fluff about Ukrainian students almost immediately 😉

Good observation but I suspect much more will be spent per head here, accomodation costs alone are out of control, at a very conservative guess we've gone way beyond €100 million already, Governments own estimates of €30k per refugee is ludicrously low.

Dempo. I have 3 sons and no daughters. 1 is going to college, but I wanted to see if himself would say tough. Realise now it was not cool.

But regardless of sex, its a serious issue. Education because of lack of accommodation is a huge issue (not just because of refugees, but just my god it costs a fortune.)

I apologise for being a prick there.

No apology necessary, you can sense how I got frustrated, but I can assure you, numerous posters have commented about their kids education being affected, places lost in primary schools etc, and especially shortages of accommodation with colleges using student accommodation for Refugees.