Summer transfer thread 2022

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Honestly, with all the drama he's brought over the last while, most West Ham fans are quite glad that we didn't get Lingard. By all accounts, his demands were huge and he's simply not good enough to cave into them. His first few months with us in 2021 were excellent but his form dipped drastically in the last couple of months of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,468 ✭✭✭DenMan

According to Italian media Liverpool are deciding over an offer from Juventus of €23m (£19.5m) for Roberto Firmino.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

Newcastle being linked with a £13 million big for Julian Draxler.

Interesting one that he's probably 5th choice now for Liverpool but still a very useful squad player for them to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I'd say Bobby is 2nd choice CF, with Jota stepping in for Diaz or Salah ,

Liverpool currently only have the 5 attackers ( Elliot & Carvalho are seen as midfielders ) so they'd be down from 7 at the end of last season to 4 ,

He'll be very hard to replace ,whoever comes in will have to be willing to play second fiddle Nunez , or if you replace Bobby with Jota then they need to bring in someone willing to play second fiddle to Diaz & Salah ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,874 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

After missing out on Kounde (CB), Chelsea now seem to be targeting Dumfries (RWB).

It doesn't really make sense to me, or are they planning to use Reece James as the RCB full time now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Fromvert

They seem to have thrown their hat at every player available if even 10% of the reports are true. I think Tuchel will be gone by/during the WC break as I don't think he has a clue how he wants to play or can't set them up how he wants without leaving themselves too open and he usually falls out with the higher ups.

He has had his team lining up with both 4 and 5 at the back so far in preseason. His defenders aren't good enough to play a 4 defensively, was the reason they had 5 at the back and 2-3 midfielders protect them last year but when he sets them up like that they don't create enough. And when they play with a four they're left exposed.

He's already talking his players down and he left both PSG and Dortmund after falling out with the guys above him, and what does he have right now? A new owner thinking he can play transfer negotiator. Tuchel is going to explode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,877 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Cover for RWB which isnt really there, Azpilicueta has hit feet out the door so he’s probably not an option there

James will be played RCB from time to time to give him a rest from the demands of RWB, and thats where Dumfries comes in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Fromvert

If he's sticking with wing backs, is he going to play Sterling centrally?

Because I think if you want the best out of Sterling you play him on either side of a front three but to do that you need to play with a back four and out of the defenders they have, only Koulibaly and Chilwell have shown they can play in a 4. Silva could in his prime but the guy is approaching his 38th birthday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,874 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Yeah it's confusing what Tuxhel wants to do with his defence and team. Is it a back 4 with Thiago Silva, James & Chilwell better suited to playing in a back 5. He had primarily played a back 5 for the majority of his time at Chelsea too, but does he want to switch it now? The attacking wing backs were the primary source of creativity for a large parts of last season too.

Chelsea were heavily linked with Hakimi a couple summers ago too, why is there such a desire to sign another RWB when they already have James? You don't pay 40m+ for a back up wing back when the player in that position is one of your best players and will generally start every game. They can't convert Reece James to play CB in a back 4 either, as a RCB in a back 5, possibly, but then that takes away his biggest strength as a player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Kasper Schmeichel apparently has a deal agreed to join Nice from Leicester, pending Leicester getting a replacement according to reports.

Didn't they sign Danny Ward a few years ago as Kasper's replacement when there was talk of him going to Arsenal.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Could be a very good choice from West Ham, a mobile, strong, tall and technically good striker coming off a big season.

• Administrators Posts: 55,741 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

What's going on at Juventus? Both De Ligt and Dybala gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,487 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I would have liked United to move for him. We see how he does in the league now I suppose, but not exactly like for like.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Juve have been cutting costs and need a big reset in wages department. Pogba was probably as important as a comercial entity so signed on that basis.

Dybala was out of contract. De Ligt was getting into the zone for needing an extension and they wanted him to cut his wages (reportedly) in a new deal.

Juve have been spending huge sums and paying big wages recently with little to show for it now. Ronaldo, Ramsey, Rabiot, De Ligt for example during a time they have lost huge money, they went from making money selling players to spending big themselves. Romero signed for 30m, sold to Atalanta for half that and then Atalanta selling him for c50m sums up the mess under Paratici's time.

Covid also hit them hard.

• Administrators Posts: 55,741 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Whatever about Dybala, ditching De Ligt seems mad.

Chiellini gone, Bonucci is 35.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Christ if Danny Ward is gonna be backup to some new lad if Kasper leaves, he should really be looking for a move himself. I always felt he was just biding his time before the inevitable Kasper move (which was meant to happen shortly after he arrived), but he's too good to keep playing second fiddle to anyone but the top level lads.

Nice seems an odd one for Kasper too... would've thought he'd still be worth a move to a bigger team, 5th in Ligue 1 last year like (though admittedly it was a tight 2nd to 5th). He's 35 alright, but his performance level is still very high.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Ward would definitely want to be playing first team football this season so he can get regular game time and be ready for the World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,452 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I could think of worse places to play my football than Nice, especially if I'm 35 and in the twilight of my career.

A few years from now, for sure, but as a keeper he's not really in the twilight of his career yet - he's still performing at a very high level. Just seems a little too soon for him to drop down a level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,452 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I am sure he could have got a spot in another epl team if he was up for sale.

I fail to see how going from a team that finished 8th in England to a team that finished 5th in France is dropping down a level? Leicester are a sinking ship now as well they've to sell really feeling the bite now for not making CL those 2 seasons when they blew up. FFP doing its job protecting the elite as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Esse85

Funny how nobody ever takes into account that wanting to move to a new country could be a family decision.

He's setup financially for life, won the league and FA cup, why not sail off into the sunset and retire at Nice, sounds much more pleasing on the eye than seeing out your days at Leicester. South of France Vs Leicester, no brainer for me at 35.

Largely because the English league is a few rungs above the French league... let's put it this way, Leicester's wage bill is not terribly far off 10 times Nice's. He's also one of Leicester's better performers - he'd not look out of place at one of the genuine CL contenders. He's just a really good goalkeeper, like.

Oh yeah, for sure, if that's what he wants, grand of course. But I'm just looking at it from a purely footballing perspective.

None of the English CL or even EL or EC contenders would sign him at 35 they all have better/younger goalkeepers. Seeing out his career in the sunny south of France is far more appealing than spending it in Birmingham or Nottingham etc.

I'm not sure why you're limiting him between France or Nottingham... there's a whole world of football out there. There are Spanish, German, and Italian sides in the CL where he'd be a great addition. I dunno, maybe I just rate him a lot higher than you. I just like him a lot and think he's a really good keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

The whole Ronaldo affair seems very odd ,

I wonder is it more to do with his wage cut (for not finishing top 4 ) than Champion's league football,

Ronaldo & Mendes have been around a very long time & would have know that if they wanted to move he would have needed to let the rest of Europe know very early in the summer, They would know all the top clubs wanted there strikers sorted as early as possible leaving very few destination's left,

They both know the difficulty of a Ronaldo move with his age , wages, & United need to keep him, makes no sense to wait till he did to say he wants to leave with nobody already set up to take him,

Then last night the Atletico president saying they have not spoken to anyone about singing Ronaldo as it would be impossible,

I reckon in the next week or so Ronaldo gets a new 2 year United contract,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,235 ✭✭✭golfball37

Ronaldo wants to play in the CL so he can add to his goal tally in that competition. That’s why Napoli are still an option he’d consider. Money not a factor for him apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,487 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Bet you a tenner he won't be signing any new deal.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."