If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭riddles

The EU citizens living here on welfare and being socially housed has the time come to admit we cannot as a small nation handle influxes from larger nations and cut off this support?

Also should assylum be processed as being temporary in nature?

Can’t get any feedback from local TD’s from all parties to under what’s happening here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,053 ✭✭✭✭road_high

During the last downturn they were quick enough to reduce the dole for under 24s. What’s the delay here? Pair it back to basic spending money immediately. I agree it’s ridiculous and we cannot afford it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Yesterday on Newstalk we had Tom McEneaney giving out that the couple of hundred Ukranians he organised flights for had to sleep on the floor in the airport and giving out about Government inefficiency.Maybe its time Tom stopped just flying in refugees and expecting the government to look after them.

Later in the show we had two pre-school providers saying they could see no option but to close as the miserly allowance from the government( one small rise in 12 years) wasn't covering their costs. Its a free service for parents who were willing to pay money towards the service but the providers couldn't accept as the department would cut off the allowance entirely. No doubt some bean counter in finance is keeping a strict look to make sure outgoing money to Irish companies is kept to a minimum while the government is trying to throw as much money as possible at Ukrainians just off the plane.

On morning Ireland some guy from the Irish UN HCR was saying current asylum seekers are coming at a rate of 380 to 400. A month says Aine Lawlor , no a week was the reply, going on to say its roughly twice the rate coming in pre-covid but numbers to be expected and comparable with other countries. At what stage are our government going to explain to the UN and EU we simply can't take in any more. You'd nearly love the IMF to come back in and start running the country again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,199 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I only look at the Journal for the comments, some quite Hillarious, but you need to be quick as the Delete function almost has a mind of its own on that site.

I still get begging emails for a donation despite being blocked off the site, years ago for daring to question a grossly misleading and poorly researched article. Which then mysteriously vanished off the site, Journalist still employed there.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Good luck with getting any feedback from any of the main parties. At best you'll be accused of rabble rousing for even bringing up such questions.

The IMF would almost certainly be worse. Their mantra has long been More People! = More money.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Chap on morning news saying along lines I think that c350 people are arriving a week now seeking asylum. This as I understood him, does not include Ukrainian nationals. These other nationalities, possibly escaping persecution but also economic migrants.

And calls for them all to be housed, funded and treated the same as our Ukrainian friends. If true, this is madness - we can't keep this up. There will have to be summary deportations. We like many other ordinary folk, have an adult child who are living at home because they can't afford rent. And others who are struggling to pay their way. Whilst the state itself is in direct competition in some cases to buy up/ lease properties so all these migrants can be put somewhere.

This just can't go on. We can deal with genuine eligible Ukrainian war refugees who will hopefully want to return to their native country when this is sorted. We have no business taking in Ukrainian men who are wanted for conscription in their own state. They too should be deported straight back to Ukraine to help sort matters out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

“The Government is to be commended for its efforts to date in providing accommodation to the tens of thousands who have arrived in Ireland this year fleeing war and persecution. However, it is becoming increasingly clear that the current approach of contracting accommodation from the private sector has reached its limits. Significant investment is now required by the Government to ensure that it has the capacity to meet the immediate need for shelter of new arrivals and to provide safeguards for the protection of children and other categories of vulnerable people”, said Enda O’Neill, Head of Office with UNHCR Ireland. 

UNHCR urges the Government to work with local authorities to speed up the refurbishment of vacant buildings around the country and to plan for the provision of adequate reception in a much more sustainable manner, including fast-tracking the building of six new reception centres as planned for in the Government’s White Paper on Ending Direct Provision.

Whereas Ukraine’s neighboring countries have received the largest numbers of refugees so far, more and more people continue their journey seeking a safe haven in countries such as Ireland. As long as this war continues, these numbers will only increase. Since February of this year, Ireland has granted temporary protection to 43,400 Ukrainian and other long-term residents fleeing the war there. This represents 1.18% of the total number of refugees from Ukraine (3,654,271) who have been registered for Temporary Protection or similar national protection schemes across Europe.  

Separately, Ireland has received approximately 6,480 new applications for international protection during the first 6 months of this year. This represents 1.67% of the total number of new applications in the EU+ area during this period as the rate of new applications increased significantly in comparison to the same period in 2021. "

So the government is under pressure to ensure we have enough accommodation to house refugees at the expense of locals, significant investment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭hunter2000

This thread is jumping mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Just heard the news at 10 there and some woman TD was on there giving out saying we need to get these people PERMANENT ACCOMMODATION now!!!!

Not temporary but permanent???

Are they actually going to give these people social houses after telling us there was no hope that they would?

You're damn right they are.

They'll be handed out like sweets.

Then we'll give developers 140,000 odd grand per apartment built and then lease them back off them at another huge cost to house them. These big developers are pretty much building for free then making profit. That's mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭eggy81

Why though. Why are we actually doing this. Does anyone have the answer to that question?

there is no capacity within the local authorities to do any more. Nearly all refurbs are contracted out, not enough staff internally to manage this.

We are run by a bunch of gormless teenagers more or less now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭_ZeeK_

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bloopy

Good plan if your aim was to generate a hell of a lot of resentment.

This is going to be messy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭riddles

I just emailed FG FF to confirm they won’t be receiving my vote in the next election due to the calamity they are presiding over (copied in the local TD’s). I guess it has them quaking in their boots 🤔

I’m not sure what planet these Uber woke TDs live on but I regularly meet people in low paid positions stuck in the private rental market 20s/30s/40s paying massive money for very basic accommodation- “entitled” to pretty much nothing. Why can’t they have these supposed properties as Irish taxpayers?

Leo and Helen won’t need our votes with their future eu jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭jackboy

Because it means that our politicians are exempt from having to govern the country. Just throw money at migration with no planning or organisation. If anyone asks about health, education or housing for Irish people they can just deflect with the great work they are doing giving refuge to people from wars and famines and how money is tight. If any politician tries to question this approach they will simply be called racist so the media and public will go to town on them.

Questioning or even trying to discuss the current approach is likely career ending for a politician.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

In the main parties certainly, but on the other hand it could be looked on as an opportunity for independents and independent thinkers in the main parties to advance. Pretty much nobody wants some national party eejits in play, but there is increasing discontent for all the main party's agendas regarding the refugee crisis and the wider migrant importation and implementation. The singlular problem such independents will have is the main media outlets won't give them airtime, or if they do it'll be in the negative.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I would not want to be living in a midlands town right now. That is where all of this problem is going to be parked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭EOQRTL

Are we? A lot of them aren't coming from Eastern Ukraine and indeed many aren't even Ukrainian. Stuff like what's happening now will eventually lead us into a Irexit type vote in years to come mark my words. We need to get serious here and face the reality that we can't even house our own people or even treat them in a hospital with dignity. I myself am on a waiting list for a medical procedure for more than 3 years now and this is in the middle of the biggest corporation tax bonanza in the history of the state. We are just pissing that money away instead of using to improve the lot of our own people.

Leo, Helen and mm needs eu jobs. This is the price on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

The governments answer to the housing crisis was to entice unlimited immigration from outside the EU.

Patients on trolleys = increase immigration.

If you vote them in next time your are complicit.

If you entice a refugee into your home you are complicit.

Enough is enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭enricoh

The government is raking it in with corporation tax and absolutely squandering it as fast as they can. They've been told that the tax could dry up quite easily n to treat it as temporary.

They pay no heed and here we are- no limits to Ukrainians coming over, full dole while staying in hotels with all meals provided, free public transport etc etc. Tourism industry thrown under the bus as a result. Huge numbers of asylum seekers this year since Helen mcentee decided to give an amnesty to everyone in direct provision.

We're heading into a recession as the third most indebted country in the developed world and yet still there clowns in the dail squander billions on people we owe nothing to.

If we're real lucky they might knock off 10c off the petrol in the budget!

I think if this continues it is only a matter of time before a Nigel Farage type character emerges, with the smarts and political intelligence to pull our politics to the right

In fact I think it will happen all over the EU and I stand by my long held belief that migration is what will break up the EU within a decade. We are just seeing the beginning of the schism between lofty EU ideals and the population in the ground

The UKs Brexit was just the first out of the gate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,199 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

The big elephant in the room being ignored is we now have potentially 1000"s of immigrants who should never been allowed access and will likely escape scrutiny for a few years come whilst continuing to drain resources and be subsidised by the state.

That's bad enough in itself but the gates still open and still no checking or verifications taking place. God knows who's been let in, its a Terrifying thought. When or if states supports end (highly unlikely) it might expose some of the astonishingly appalling decisions made. I've frankly never seen anything like it before.

The fact there's no more room in the Inn is an opportunity for government to wake up and reflect, but their still burying their heads in the sand. Some may have forgiven early decisions but my word to continue with this madness is utterly unforgettable.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Absolute Zero

received_1498945860575582.jpeg received_1421300378388796.jpeg

It's always good to see the word from the horse's mouth. This lady gave a pleasant description of Ireland "there is such a sadness". Interesting how they view this place especially as they were supposed to be coming from a 'brutal war'.

Also the brutal honesty is refreshing to see that they are effectively shopping around for the best benefits in Europe and further afield in Canada. Once again the naive Irish taken for fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭EOQRTL

FG haven't given a hoot about working class people for years, in fact ever but it never mattered as they got little or no votes from that demographic. The big problem for them is even kids of well heeled middle class families who's parents have voted for them like lemmings for years now can't afford to buy a house. They've shot their own cohort in the back just for a pat on the head from Brussels and they are getting decimated come the next election for it.

Self awareness doesn't seem to be a high priority for Leo and co.

We actually have no borders at the moment, it's a free for all similar to what's taking place at the US/Mexico border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭jackboy

‘There is such a sadness’. That is an excellent description of Ireland. A broken demoralised people who went from being abused by the English, then the church and now the political class and its cronies. The vast majority of the population have accepted they have no say in how their country is run and are apathetic.

Could be worse though. I would describe the US as ‘there is such an anger’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,158 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ah but, ah but shur they're not being bombed etc.

Going to be some craic when there's social and health problems being dumped in sub standard accommodation.

But shur tis grand.