Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,143 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

With Boris gone he'll be looking for a new best friend 😏

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

You see I think this is part of the problem. I agree with you but ranting on Boards or Twitter is what 99.9% of us are doing. That's going nowhere. Whether you have zero interest in engaging with local politicians isn't a good enough reason to do nothing. People create change! Look what the Dutch farmers are doing and the attention it's getting. If we do nothing we deserve all of this. The Government are back slapping each other as they head off for their 2 month holidays , thinking they're great lads. Even the face of Thomas Byrne (another of my local reps) in his stubble who smirks, grins and simpers in any photo as he stands beside MM makes me so angry. He is doing nothing for this massive East Meath community except strangle us.

So take the time sit down a write to each and every one of your local reps. The reason they DON'T reply is that they know bloody well what the mood among the public is. They KNOW what they are pushing through. Tell them the country you were born in is becoming unrecognisable. Tell them they will NEVER get another vote and this is also shared by all of your family, friends and colleagues (who pay their massive salaries!). Tell them they completely out of touch with the mood on the streets. Even if you get no reply (and you won't as they are not going to address this) if they get massive amounts of backlash they will know for sure they are in trouble. Each of every one of them will lose their seats in the next election. There is huge anger among the ordinary people who are watching their hotels, their schools and their towns being taken over by strangers.

Stop giving out online and take action, write to every TD and every local representative you can think of and at least word is getting further than Boards and Twitter where you're called racist for asking a question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,899 ✭✭✭✭road_high

BoJo was using Zelenskyy as a nice deflection domestically plus the support for Ukraine was/is popular. There was a celebrity pop star dimension to it all. Now that he’s out the door that is that. I doubt the next PM will be as supportive as issues with rampant inflation (partly linked to the war) have outpaced support in my opinion - my sense is the realpolitik has overtaken the initial emotion - we can’t go into another winter of supply chaos and rampant price hikes- there will be pressure to end it

Indeed, our own Dail off on two months Hols, heading off with not a care in the world it would seem. Euro now worth the same as a Dollar, Germany struggling with Gas Supplies, meanwhile Irish government trundling along, Keeping those flood gates open, whilst the economy collapses around them, Housing crisis worsening, Record homeless figures to be released imminently, Cost of living crisis getting scary and still the bottomless pit being filled by the mysterious Virtue Signalling magic Tree.

TD'S will return late September, Heads spinning and Government will almost immediately back track on Kite flying Budgetary plans. Kitty will have truely dried up by then and they'll of course Blame everybody but themselves.

I actually woke up this morning, Beautiful day and yet utterly depressed at were this country has ended up. If I were younger, I'd be gone in a heart beat, possibly what FFGG are hoping many younger people will consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭cezanne

Where would you go the whole damn world is messed up with globalism and degenercy, a remote island maybe away from bloody people and their hang ups. I would like to live on an island with a few animals and chickens and a spring water well, a wifi connection so i could down load all the books i have not yet read and thats it . No news no social media and therefore no annoyance except maybe the insects whom i would eventually eat!!

Timbuktu sounds appealing but Wi-Fi connectivity could be a challenge 🤔

A Tibeten Monastery a possibility 🤔

But a remote island at this stage with NO Internet my preffered choice at thus stage 😉

Well, it depends what you want. If you just want a stable government/society, where you don't need to care about most things, then, I'd recommend Asia. You'll always be an outsider, but you'll know where you stand, and their societies don't tend to change much beyond the most superficial of changes.

But any western nation is pretty much screwed. Democratic/Western cultures are incredibly weak to foreign cultures (minorities that grow in time to have direct influence), and the impact of social change coming out of the US or Western Academia/Activism. Democracies no longer represent the interests of the electorates, as politicians have had decades to rework the system to favour themselves.

TBH there are plenty of places around the world where you can carve yourself a nice little place of calm. You just have to rein in your expectations, and sense of entitlement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭glut22

I follow this thread but not many comments to make, i do however think its astounding how the majority of the Irish population seemimgky has no idea what's happening or what is about to happen I.e the massive societal change. Even still when it drops I think most will prefer to live in their hear no evil bubble and the rest will be seen as right wing/fringe a la UKIP or the UK Brexit vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,268 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

There are approximately 130.000 Polish people in Ireland . Did you think those numbers caused a huge societal change? There are approximately 10.000 Filipino people in Ireland . Did you see a huge societal change ?

I must say I didnt and see these communities and people as an asset

Yes there are questions to be asked about how the Government is handling the huge pay outs to Ukrainians and why many seem to have more disposable income than our own low paid workers . But to say they will change society for the worst is in my opinion unfounded at this moment in time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

The poles came to work during the Celtic tiger, same as others.

They worked hard, paid taxes. They were scorned for shopping in lidl and sending money home. But they did it properly and earned it. There was no virtue signaling needed.

They didn't get free busses, they didn't get free medical cards on arrival. They paid high rents in substandard accommodation. Ireland was booming.

Not fast forward to today, the country is falling apart, the EU is in self destruct mode due to cutting off its energy supply without an alternative supply, we have a massive housing & health crisis.

We simply can't provide unlimited Ukrianinans with free money, we can't. We (the tax payer).

No I agree actually about not having unlimited money for Ukrainians . I absolutely agree that the Government are making a huge mistake with what they are handing to them on a silver platter . But that is still not to say that our whole society will change

I was in a playground this morning with kids . I heard English , Irish , Polish , Ukrainian , Filipino , German and Spanish spoken in the two hours I was there . I saw no big reason to think our society had changed for the worst because of the diversity

You dont think we should take anyone into our country ? So should other countries not take Irish into their countries either ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,371 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Most other countries have effective safeguards and controls to manage their levels of immigration and who can reside and work there, on what basis, and for what duration.

We've thrown open the doors to anyone with a sad story and said "come on over! We'll look after you, and shure after a few years, we might even make you an Irish and EU citizen!"

Spot the differences!

If you read the post I replied to it was we “ shouldn’t take anyone “ . No mention of needing looking after or not . If we didnt allow Filipinos at tye time we would have a serious shortage of healthcare workers

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The vast majority came and come here legally as health workers. Legal migration is not the issue. It's the illegal and "sub legal" migrants that are the issue. The language students that don't leave, the welfare tourists, the babies for passports people before that loophole was closed, the illegal economic migrants, sorry the "undocumented".

Illegal and sub legal Irish, like the "undocumented" Irish in the US? No, they shouldn't.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I agree fully with you . The post I replied to stated who should let no one in

There is a difference though. Those immigrants passed a range of requirements as part of our immigration policies, including background checks. Also love how out of the list of nationalities you provided, most were European and have been for decades already.

The Ukrainians got into Ireland without any checks for criminality of any kind. It's worth remembering that Ukraine is very different to Ireland... or even Poland in the range and extremity of the type of crime that occurred there (you should take a look at their crime statistics before the war, taking into account their poor judicial system and institutionalised corruption). There is also the aspect of corruption being commonly present in just about every aspect of their society, so we're taking in people who will likely expect to continue that kind of behaviour here.

Our society will change as a result of this influx of Ukrainians.. some positives, and some negatives... and in most cases, Irish people will be the victims of the scams, or other crimes that arise (as the predominate population in the country).

I genuinely don't get this "it'll be grand" attitude, dismissing the likely risks involved. I could appreciate your position better if Ukrainians were subject to the same requirements as other migrants.. but they haven't been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,702 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

There is the idea in some left leaning circles that only taking the educated/qualified/willing to work is a form of brain drain and that Western countries should take those that do not intend to work but live off welfare indefinitely as well. It’s not something that they will open with though or offer, it usually needs to be asked outright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Darth Putin

Women and children are not usually the criminal types

men can’t leave Ukraine

That’s strange because I’ve seen probably dozens of Ukrainian reg cars locally lately- one was driven by a lady driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Darth Putin

I didn’t say it was- it was an observation counter to the whole “men can’t leave Ukraine” fairytale.

men can't leave Ukraine?? Since when?

One of the first stories was a young Ukrainian couple who drove over from Ukraine , the entire way across to Europe to Ireland. Their car was subsequently broken into in the Talbot Street area of Dublin most of their stuff stolen. They got on to Joe Duffy Show and started a Go Fund Me page and raised loads of money for their road trip around Ireland.

There are hundreds of Ukrainian men here at the moment who are of fighting age, there is no ban on them leaving Ukraine on humanitarian grounds.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

I think 5,000 men here was the last figure I heard but that was ages ago.

Women are most definitely criminal types (just as much as males can be).. their culture is not our culture. Marriage/dating scams are extremely common in Ukraine, same with the scams/crime associated with prostitution (not just prostitution itself) and who do you think is doing those kind of scams?

Also, men can leave Ukraine, as neither the EU/the UN or the aid organisations will discriminate based on sex, and more importantly, are under no obligation to enforce the Ukrainian conscription orders. In any case, conscription has not taken in a large percentage of Ukrainian males, and I'm not aware of any laws against Ukrainian males leaving the country... unless you have some evidence of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Aska

So after not hearing anything since the 19th of April (when we received a call from RC asking were we ok with them initiating the Garda Vetting process), I received this email this morning :

Dear xxx,

Please be advised that you will receive an email shortly in respect of the ID Verification process for Garda Vetting for Shared Pledged Accommodation for the Ukraine Refugees

The email you will receive will be from - sgc@irishredcross.com – this is the email of the Chair of our National Safeguarding Committee who is coordination the Garda Vetting process.

Your Pledge ID is XXXXX, this is your unique ID Number, and you will be asked for it at the ID Verification process.

Kind Regards,

Head of National Services

The huge flaw in that is they are not vetting the guests at all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Heard a discussion in relation to the budget today, a package of €6.7bn in spending. Then an additional 3bn to be allocated for the Ukrainians.

Three. Effing. Billion. Euro.

Nearly 50% of our national budget being spent on this, it is utterly insane! What in the name of god!

We could build 30k social houses with that and hugely help our whole housing crisis with that. Think of what 3 BILLION euro could do for our renewable energy sector.

The opportunity cost of all this is simply staggering.

And all for a few head pats from Europe for our politicians. I actually can’t believe it.