Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pushback against Leftism

Read the demographic data, the age that people drift into conservative habits is getting later every year. Conservatives are a dying breed and they know it. Their existential crisis is very real and why we see events like Jan 6th.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

It's all they have. Hysteria and fearmongering.

Just look at the response to my post laughing at them getting offended over name badges. The sky is falling etc etc etc.

I'm off out for a pint. Hope the conservative woke (or perhaps the neo-woke?) have a good night getting angry at the clouds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,024 ✭✭✭growleaves

I prefer the old-fashioned term "Latin" for Latinos/Latinas. Much smoother than Latinx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Why not welcome the clouds? Particularly the weekend that’s in it

The laughable thing is that you imagine that there is some great woke army out there. I will never use the term Latinx and I very much doubt that many will. The thing that seems to escape you all is that to be on the left is to be an individual - not some homogenous tribe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭BruteStock

Is that meant to be a gotcha moment? The fact Hispanics are being referred to by a term most of them never heard or don't understand makes the situation look even worse. Those that are aware of the label don't agree with it, so Where's the gotcha moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,024 ✭✭✭growleaves

Where did I say that? I'm aware that Latinx is an obscure term for a few show-off intellectuals. I just prefer the old-fashioned term "Latin". Most people will use neither nor even think about it for longer than a second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,881 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

@[Deleted User] This is a concern for the way that society is going to be shaped in the future. When social norms become overly complicated, far more mistakes happen, with a greater degree of offense to those involved. Simple social norms tend to streamline communications, which in turn, decreases the chances for offense to occur. You're advocating for a society that is overly complicated (because this won't stop here if accepted)... Surely you can see the practical drawbacks for such an environment?

This kind of thin end of the wedge stuff was all said years ago about homosexuals. I'm old enough to remember when gay people would have been routinely called "faggots", "queers" and "puffs" and a lot of people believed that a man sticking his dick up another man's arse was practiced only by extreme deviants, and if they weren't pedos themselves they were only one step away from that. People believed that men marrying men and women marrying women would lead to the sky falling in. What would be next? Men marrying their dog? Who would be the wife? Who would be the husband? And all that stupid jazz.

Strangely enough, the sky didn't fall in and the majority of people today just let gay people get on with their lives and mind their own business, even if there are still numerous people out that would still hold the above views and probably a few of them on here who'd happily spout that crap if they could.

And really, regarding this badge thing, what exactly is being asked of anyone here? Nobody has to wear the badge and the bank are only giving people the opportunity to wear the preferred pronouns if they wish. And I say that as something who thinks the whole them/theirs thing is a bit on the ridiculous side. But if someone wishes to emblazon that on a badge big deal. It certainly isn't a reason to go ape shit, yap shite about "communism" and close a bank account FFS.

It's really no skin off of anyone's nose...and the sky is still not going to fall in.

You do realise that everyone else gets older too and fills those spots in society?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭bokale

I feel its not the 'ordinary people' getting fed up but more so the people with thousands of posts on social mediasites like this, and posts basically about the same thing day in day out.

People I meet in real life never bring this stuff up. Anecdotal obviously.

TonyH

Strangely enough, the sky didn't fall in and the majority of people today just let gay people get on with their lives and mind their own business, even if there are still numerous people out that would still hold the above views and probably a few of them on here who'd happily spout that crap if they could.

Therein lies the difference. Homosexuals were hoping to merge and be accepted within society.. not to be recognised as distinctly different, and expecting others to treat them different from the whole. In the situation of the Trans issues, most of the expected changes are for recognition and reinforcement of the differences between them and other people.

You're not comparing like with like.

It certainly isn't a reason to go ape shit, yap shite about "communism" and close a bank account FFS.

It's really no skin off of anyone's nose...and the sky is still not going to fall in.

Where in my post did I go ape ****, or suggest that anyone should go ape ****? You did quote me, but you've decided to interject a lot of claims, which are completely unrelated to any of my posts. Better yet, you've taken my post, which would be very moderate in tone, and use it as a base to talk about extreme reactions. Thanks for that. Associations matter.

[Shortened the answer because it's just repeating points. Damn editing is messed up)

Not just that, but with falling birth rates, and people living longer... it ends up with more older people, resulting in more conservative opinions. Although it's worth considering that many young people have chosen to align themselves with conservatives in the pushback against the PC/Woke movements in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

Literally the first time I've ever heard that. How are they forcing it? If people don't like ùsing it, they won't

..but they don't . See my other response to find out why getting Older no longer means getting more conservative.

@[Deleted User] Can you be more specific? In the context of the post you're quoting, though... because what you've said is rather vague.

There's nothing vague about it Klaz. Your worry about "the way that society is going to be shaped in the future" & "social norms become overly complicated" because some people might want to display them/their (or whatever) is thin end of the wedge stuff and all stuff that's been said before about a whole host of things, including gay people. I couldn't be more clearer really.

I'm old enough too... and I experienced it first hand on the receiving end. Although you seem to have this backwards... as the expectation is for others to reshape the language that is commonly used... whereas ****, puff, etc were never part of commonly used language. It was always considered impolite/rude/aggressive language... with a minority using it. Generally speaking, most Irish people were polite enough not to express those kinds of opinions....

I notice this a lot on these threads, where posters try really hard to make some form of connection with how thing used to be for homosexuals... and most of the time, it's a damn long stretch for such a connection to be made.

It's not a "stretch" at all. The comparison is quite apparent. It's only very recently that gay people weren't routinely ostracised (or at least felt that way) by society at large and if you are "old enough" you'd clearly remember this and understand why the comparison exists. You may not like the comparison, but that doesn't make it a stretch by any means.

You say "Generally speaking, most Irish people were polite enough not to express those kinds of opinions". No, they said it behind people's backs and made sure that the people they said it to were of the same mind. Of course the most knuckle dragging shitbag wouldn't have had any qualms about telling gay people to their faces what they really thought and wouldn't be short of using physical violence to show it either.

Therein lies the difference. Homosexuals were hoping to merge and be accepted within society.. not to be recognised as distinctly different, and expecting others to treat them different from the whole. In the situation of the Trans issues, most of the expected changes are for recognition and reinforcement of the differences between them and other people.

You're not comparing like with like.

Trans and non binary want to be accepted for who they are too. There's no real difference on that level at all.

Where in my post did I go ape ****, or suggest that anyone should go ape ****? You did quote me, but you've decided to interject a lot of claims, which are completely unrelated to any of my posts. Better yet, you've taken my post, which would be very moderate in tone, and use it as a base to talk about extreme reactions. Thanks for that. Associations matter.

I didn't say you went ape shit. You're seeing things that aren't even there.

What I said was "It certainly isn't a reason to go ape shit, yap shite about "communism" and close a bank account FFS", which if you read the article is what some people have been doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

If that is the case why do republicans keep losing the popular vote for the presidency which never happened on the past. Do you find people who were prochoice and pro gay rights suddenly change their mind once they get older?

Honestly, Tony, you're only extracting parts of the statements I've made, rather than dealing with whole statements.

You may not like the comparison, but that doesn't make it a stretch by any means.

To you, maybe.. but to me, it's comparing oranges with paint. It's not a reasonable comparison. Its not about my not liking it.. they're entirely different situations.

I'll leave this here because I can see where this is going.

If you wish.

I'm off to the pub now anyway...to talk to real people about topics that actually matter. 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Something that was once pointed out to me and I can't help but notice it now, is that in order to have some hope of making a point these lads have to be so utterly literal that they're either deeply autistic or just utterly disingenous

I'm going to assume this lad understands the problem isnt with name badges but who can tell at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

I see the change in kids now that are about 18 I have a son that age. I would be middle ground bit left a bit right depending on the Issue. he would only be slightly left of me now. Their views are changing about all the nonsense being pebble about woke and all that. He as zero interest in it. His crowd have woken up and realised it will be very difficult to own a house pensions all that timebomb. Worried about not being able to get a low lvl job while in college. More worried when getting a decent job all this added training for this nonsense or that.

Deleted

The vast majority of people have "zero interest" in it. In fact I'd wager that most people in real life wouldn't even be able to tell you what "woke" is. I only know of it from the screamers on here who are obsessed with it and act like Chicken Licken because they read something online about some American (usually) saying or doing something ridiculous. Endless shitposting about inane gibberish that doesn't even affect them in any actual way. In the real world they'll probably never even encounter what they're so afraid of.

**** on and on about "woke" is the realm of middle aged blokes with far too much time on their hands and an internet connection. You son, and other people of his age, have much greater worries to think about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭Burty330

These threads clearly annoy you otherwise you wouldn't be ranting and raving about the people who post in them. Don't be so thin skinned and insecure about what other people post about , after all the discussion here comes from real world topics. You on the other hand are a reactionary to reactionaries. Giving out about other people giving out... That makes you the plankton of message board forums.

Bit odd to post this at Tony considering we’ve just had pages of people crying about name badges.

I remembered this YouGov poll from the GB News thread? I assume if the same poll was conducted here it would have similar results.

Is being woke a good or bad thing?

All Britons

Good – 11%

Bad – 15%

Neither – 14%

Don’t know what woke means – 59%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Have you ever had a job? Stuff like this is a “choice”, but you’ll be told you aren’t a “team player”, that you aren’t being “inclusive” etc and will 100% be held against you if you’re looking for a promotion etc.

That's the real world, not hippy dippy la la land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Nonsense. You left out the part where Halifax told customers to close their accounts if they weren’t happy with their woke shite. That is what gave this story legs. A Gerald Ratner moment if ever there was one

The irony of someone so detached from the real world trying to lecture others about the real world.

As I’ve said, the boards view is one of a very small minority in the real world. I live in it every day while others smash the keyboards in a rage about issues that have zero impact on their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands