If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

From Citizens Advice. “How your income is assessed for Fuel Allowance

Fuel Allowance is a means-tested payment. In a means test, the Department of Social Protection (DSP) examines all your sources of income. Your weekly income must be below a certain amount to pass the means test.

You are usually accepted as passing the means test for Fuel Allowance, if you are already getting a qualifying social assistance payment.

The amount of means that you are allowed to have for the Fuel Allowance is the current maximum rate of State Pension (Contributory) including any increases that you might get for your age, living alone and dependants, plus €120.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

No Dempo it is not means tested . Those on State pension ( old age ) get the fuel allowance if on a basic payment

PS sorry I am wrong . I was mixing it up with the Electricity allowance( Household Benefit package ) .My apologies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Thanks for clarification 👍

Just in relation to the Thread do we actually know if Ukranian refugees who are 66 or over are actually in receipt of a non contributory pension. I'd be genuinely surprised if they were if normal rules were being applied 🤔

Obviously they are in receipt of something but based on normal rules those 66 and older would infact not be eligible to SWA or a jobseekers payment and as I've mentioned earlier transfer of pension entitlement generally applicable to EU states , Ukraine is not a member state. In essence if we look at the EU directive and entitlements therein, 66 year old would essentially be entitled to nothing or at a squeeze, temporarily entitled to equivalent pension paid in a Ukraine which is Less than half that of Irish, Basic pension 🤔 as for Non Ukrainians caught up in this , what are they entitled to if 66 or older and more importantly thos with no passport or even at a basic level how is pension entitlement being verified

There is no requirement on them to keep the money in Ireland, and spend it here. The availability of platforms like western union, paypal, etc all allow such transfers. Getting a bank account easily here on arrival enables them to do so. TBH they should have been given an isolated AnPost account or one of the Credit union accounts which doesn't allow international transfers, with cash withdrawals being the only option. However, they could still do transfers if they wanted elsewhere. It's not hard.

Anyway, another situation is just as likely. Just keep the majority in your bank account, save it, and leave Ireland in a years time with 12k when you seek to return to your country. Pretty nice deal when the euro is worth close to 8 times your national currency at the best of times. Easily done when you're not paying rent, most food costs are covered, etc.

Either way, a hefty chunk of what is received ends up leaving the country.. and not benefiting the economy.

Morning 😏 yes I've raised concerns around the entire ability to open bank accounts here and its actually shocking that rules are being ignored. I'd be all for a basic account in the post office etc but in reality I have to wonder why the need for a bank accout in the first place. The DSP issue payments by cash only via post office network so access to funds on a week to week basis not an issue, obviously with little or no expenditure required for the vast majority of Ukranian refugees, funds might build up, there's a perfectly good post office savings account they could use (although, I can't believe I'm even saying this) 😏

Our governments/politicians don't care.

Money is there to be spent. That magical money tree will always be there to provide for virtuous projects. So, as long as they've made the generous gesture, they don't really care what happens afterwards. They'll get their pensions regardless of what happens to the economy.

I've said this a lot since I returned to Ireland... but there is a remarkable interest among our politicians to put the needs/desires of foreign groups ahead of the native Irish population. As long as the generous gesture is given for these foreign groups, the Irish can go F themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Drunken Oaf

One other thing is somewhat puzzling.

Why are the Ukrainian government themselves not calling for their citizens to stop fleeing to western Europe and asking them to return?

The country will require its people to function again post war. If conscription did hit double figures percentage wise, women would be expected to replace men who have been called up by doing many traditionally male roles (bus drivers, factory operatives etc etc).

Are the Ukrainian government not concerned about the potential loss of so many workers?

Then again, the cynic might suggest that many of the people who would travel to the furthest edge of Europe to a country they know little about solely because of the benefits that were advertised just might not comprise the great and the good of Ukrainian society.....

Well said and it's really quite extraordinary how politicians seem to care more about what people on the world stage think than their own electorate. Historically it's been subtle but my word they are not even shy about their motivations anymore 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,958 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

That figure came about because they have to put a cost per head in order to recoup money spent on Ukrainian refugees from the various EU funds.

Boggles after all this time have you not grasped , there will be no recouping of funds , not only has that be made abundantly clear by the Taoiseach, it was never intended that any EU Member abiding by this absurd EU directive will get any financial support from the EU.

To date financial support as been minimal to EU members that are not net contributors, why do you think our own government has put aside €3 billion for next year. And let's also not forget Ireland is now a net contributor to the EU and no longer gets hand outs .

Taxpayers money is being spent, Gone, flowing out the door , never , ever to be seen again and will continue to flow until 2024 at least but guess who'll ultimately be paying for all of this 🤔🤔

Meanwhile over in Montenegro.... slightly off topic but relevant..

Fascining investigative journalist piece on BBC news yesterday, "To Russia with Blood", where it would seem Russian Dirty money flowing into an Irish Bank account, to Irish Developers based in Cork and selling property in Montenegro and what's our government and indeed regularity bodies doing about it, essentially nothing .

It's available on BBC player but not in Ireland, is being repeated on BBC news and telling its not Irish Media reporting on this scandal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

The primary role of government is to look after the needs of its citizens from the taxes they collect from them, even more so to look after the needs of its most vulnerable citizens, governments clearly haven't been doing this preferring to virtue signal and spending obscene amounts, promising the impossible to look good in front of our EU masters displaying some sort of inbuilt inferiority complex, like a teenager who has suddenly come into money, we are a country who in essence has never grown up, an eternal adolescent, producing these politicians whose very being seems built around pleasing either the EU or the US so unsure are they of where they stand in the world.... I expect much more of this going forward as the fellow says, for what's coming over the hill doesn't look to be much better imhv

I stand corrected!

God forbid you might get colder when you're 79 and under 🤔

I have checked Boggles, back to my point about Net contributors of which Ireland is one , the funding your referring to is not being given by way of a refund in case that's what your thinking and I again refer you back to the Taoiseachs on statement on the matter . Articles posted earlier in thread if you were bothered to look.

• Member State spending on all actions helping people fleeing Ukraine will be eligible for EU support retroactively as of the start date of the Russian invasion (24 February 2022);

Now I have provided several links to the actual funding. Now if you have something that refutes them by all means fire them up.

To put it in perspective, 5000 Ukrainian civilians have been killed, out of a population of 35 million in areas outside of the already Russian aligned zones of Luhansk and Donetsk.

Between 1971 and 1996, pretty much the entire run of the Troubles, the population of Northern Ireland stagnated. It grew by less than 100k between 1971 and 1991, we shall average it out at 1.5 million.

The deaths in Ukraine, extrapolated to the North's population, would equal around 250 deaths .

1972 had the most deaths, at 480. The following 1973- 76 had 250 to 300 yearly.

Statistically speaking Ukraine's war zones at the minute are probably about twice as dangerous as the North was during the worst part of the troubles, given the war there is now nearly 5 months old. Considering the Russian army are allegedly genocidal maniacs carrying out massacres and firing rockets indiscriminately, while the North was a war which used IED's and small handheld firearms, that is one striking piece of info.

Bear in mind, the conflict zone in Ukraine is larger than Norther Ireland.

Bear in mind massive swathes of Ukraine are completely untouched by conflict, while in Northern Ireland every single county was affected.

Bear in mind the stories of 20,000 dead in Maruipol seem to have completely disappeared from the news cycle with no explanation.

Sheer madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

I feel kind of sorry for anyone who holds up articles by the Independent and Guardian as the pinnacle of truth like they and other mainstream media are immune to the propaganda war that's raging between both sides.

Believe what you want to believe Boggles, Ireland will see little if any refund from the EU with the costs of this .

I'm not sure were you missed the Taoiseachs own statements ,government having to raid the covid contingency fund, budgeting €3billion next year, public finances under strain , you seriously believe none of this is happening and the EU will be covering the cost of all this 🤔 words escape me .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,487 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

She wants him flown here for medical care and treatment ? Then her family to stay and continue post war to be given supports..Just rock up and benefit….that’s their mindset now… a country that they feel somehow owes them.

when she looks around her and sees Gardai, hospitals, roads, public transport does she ever wonder who pays for all that ? Where it comes from ?

Our healthcare services are under major pressure, covid, and many more issues it faced before covid… but we are now to have our medical services dedicated and donated to help those with combat injuries that they acquired in a war 3,200 kilometres away ?

that wasn’t ever part of the deal.

but we knew by human nature that xx% would be wanting to stay….

The city of Lysychansk, pre-war population of approximately 100,000,has almost been completely overrun by the Russian invasion forces 😔

Sergiy Haidai, the Ukrainian governor of Luhansk, said that Russian attackers had nearly destroyed Lysychansk, which used to house 95,000 people, using “scorched earth” tactics.

The MO of Russia appears to be just total destruction of towns and cities to render them completely uninhabitable.

It's little wonder there are so many people fleeing. At this rate we may well cross 100,000 Ukrainians here before Xmas.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If we dropped our generous payments and other incentives to the level of the rest of the EU you can be damned sure we won't and we likely wouldn't have the near 40,000 here already. A looming recession, large hikes in oil and gas and the hangover from covid affecting a large percentage of the Irish population and something's got to give. But you just repeat the empty of thought, feelz filled credo of every diversity type, come all ye in. No bloody clue how to actually pay for it though, nor any clue how to deal with the societal disruption that will and always does result. I don't know if such positions are just naive or moronic, or six of one, a half dozen of the other.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

It'll be grand, it always is. You shouldn't worry so much.

Sure there'll be some rough days but we'll get through it together and be all the better for it.

I'm very proud of how open and welcoming the country has been and continues to be. Ireland has come a long way.

We can and should do more and help many more to get here to safety.

Indeed. And if they refuse then call the Gardai for trespass. If I had a Ukrainian guest who was getting welfare and not contributing, that’s exactly what I’d be doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

Pascal will have a challenging budget getting those figures balanced.

Every budget is a challenge balancing the demands for resources against the actual resources available. This budget will be no different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,732 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I know I should really know better to engage but....

This is fantasy nonsense. Empty platitudes and the old Green Jersey/All in it together mantra that is less than meaningless in the Real World

Why? Because we're NOT in it together. The natives and existing legal migrants are already struggling under the weight of the factors Wibbs mentioned (in addition to the long-standing and worsening each month issues of housing, healthcare access, childcare costs, insurance costs, legal costs and the list is pretty much endless) without then making all of these things even worse by bringing in 10s of thousands of undocumented "refugees" and giving them free everything at our expense!

I see you or the other fella making a lot of how many are now working. That's great so. I assume we have withdrawn or reduced all other supports in-line with what a native Irish person on minimum wage would get... haven't we?

We've done our part - even more than we're sustainably able to as it's turned out. Time to say "sorry, but the country is at capacity." There's a whole European continent and wider world out there for them to try... or, they could just move to that massive area untouched by the conflict:

image.png

From here: https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2022/world/europe/ukraine-maps.html

They are in safety. There's probably more chance of a resident of Lviv who moves to France being killed by an ISIS lone wolf assailant than there is a chance of him being killed by a Russian rocket in Lviv.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yep, as I said your position is naive and moronic and provides zero actual solutions to the problems involved. Though this hardly comes as a shock to me. Running off the charity feelz, it'll be grand and how dare you ask questions. That's all you seem to have going by the consistent evidence of your posts. You couldn't make this level of blinkered thinking up. To even use the word thinking in this is stretching that descriptor to breaking point.

And do you know what Moldova gave in assistance to families hosting Ukrainians? 190 Euro. Once. To Ukrainians? They're relying on NGO's and charity, the vast bulf from overseas. Medical care is limited to emergencies and reproductive care for pregnant women and again the bulk of that financing is coming from overseas.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.