Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

🤣

It kind of looks like Bernie Ecclestone running accounts on boards.

"I'm not defending him in any shape or form, but having said that, I'd catch a hot lead in my spine for him. Top bloke. But not really. But top bloke though."

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I would be shocked if F1 hadn't been chock full of oligarch dirty money and for years with it.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,683 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,625 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Looks like the Russians are trying to play around with Ukrainian nuclear plants.

I get they are trying to shut down the plant by draining the pools to deprive Ukraine of 20% electricity, but surely that's the like trying to stop your car by aiming for the brick wall?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The vast majority strike me as being genuine. In fact, I'm not sure I've seen evidence of even one of them being faked, going by the reaction of native Russian speakers on YouTube.

The problem is Straz, we who support Ukraine want them to be genuine. We're primed to accept them as genuine out of the gate because of that support. The Russki BS, though more obvious for the most part(because they're used to, or appeal to a less media savvy base) is also seen as just as genuine by their supporters and for the same reason. Every side in every war that ever was has used propaganda and flitered truth or pushed one truth over another, before, during and after. Hell pick any nation who fought in WW2 and you'll find their national narratives today are chock full of half truths all the way up to utter bollocks. Of course they have and Ukraine is no different. Because it works. The first casualty of war and all that. It doesn't lessen my support for Ukraine, I'm just cautious about such stuff.

Secondly "native Russian speakers" are no gauge. Who are these native Russian speakers and what is their default position? I'm quite sure if you trawled Russian social media and their mainstream government controlled media you'll find the exact same corroborations about their stuff and as you note dismissal of Ukrainian leaks. Plus Ukraine is full of native Russian speakers(even including their president, which makes Russian BS even more obvious) and actual Russians who support them. If you wanted to fake such calls in Ukraine it would be stupidly easy.

I'm not saying they're all faked, but my personal take would be that in the early days such convos were much more likely to be real, EG the call between the scum husband and his scum wife where she gave him permission to rape Ukrainian women, and look at the worldwide reactive support that garnered for Ukraine(they also tracked them down and released their names and pics). They'd be remiss for not exploiting that kinda thing. Put it another way; have they ever released calls that had Russian troops telling rellies how good it was all going? And there has to be a few of those, given that after a piss poor start they are currently in control of a fair chunk of Ukrainian territory. Of course not, but you can bet the Russians have.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,422 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The BBC telling the story of Russia's 331st parachute regiment.

Russia's on drugs. Putin, the government, the army, the veterans, the people. Only way to explain it.

All because of the usual utter madness and ego of those you namechecked, but mostly putin and his crooked cronies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,683 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

But if you watch these videos on YouTube (and there are many), very few Russian speakers ever doubt their veracity. It's not just that the Russian language is being spoken in the clips but often feature Russian accents from various parts of the country, as well as regional Russian slang words or sayings that wouldn't even be familiar to a Ukrainian Russian language speaker (sometimes the video subtitles will say they can't translate what is being said or that they don't understand the soldier's terminology or accent).

Also, the conversations are often very mundane and don't have striking revelations - a guy complaining to his wife about low morale in the unit, or the quality of the food being poor, or about having a row with one of his commanding officers. It seems quite hard to believe that some Ukrainian propaganda factory is going to the trouble of producing these clips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,133 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

I work with two Russian-based contractors. Shortly after war broke they were told they would either have to relocate or have their contracts cancelled. One left for Germany, the other remained in Russia and I haven't heard from him since.

The west should really be doing more to encourage the Russian brain drain. Offer any Russian under 30 with a degree a condition-free visa to work in Europe or America. It would drive Putin stone mad and for that alone would be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

I would stick in a provision of no military service for the last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

So gas and coal can be transported also gold and other stuff. I really hope the German people revolt and give these clowns a reckoning. It has to be at this stage called out that so many of their politicians are compromised. Either though money or they have something on them. There is no other explanation for Germany's stance. It beggars belief that 6 months of no gas from Russia will implode Germany. There looking for the easy out imop.

Another German pile on. The polish pm said this yesterday. But Germany bad.

”"Both sides concluded that it is worth agreeing a plan that will not violate de facto implementation of the sanctions, because, frankly speaking, the Kaliningrad Oblast is a very small part of Russia," Polish Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki told a news conference”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭ZenNature

Many Russians have Israeli ancestry, and many are choosing to relocate to Israel, some are even managing to keep their job with a western company. Double whammy as Israel pays for relocation costs so no expense for the Russian or the company.

Now is moving to Israel better than staying in Russia, it brings up all sorts of other questions and issues for another conversation.

Also Russian labour law allows you to work outside the country for 6 months (open to correction) , so where possible if they have family/friends outside Russia much of the brain drain has begun. But its alot of brains to drain.

" Pity you're avoiding all the other points raised while capslocking "FACTS" thinking this makes them so. Russia's economy is small by world standards, microscopic by the standards of her size and natural resources. All they have is oil and gas, and nukes.  "

Yep all they have is oil and gas... if you ignore its one of the worlds largest exporters of all of the following products , all of which you and everyone you see today will use multiple times today , tomorrow and forever more

WOOD

STEEL

FERTILIZER

CEREAL

ALUMINIM

ORES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

It's very difficult to see how out of touch, and out of sync many of these politicians are with the reality of the world. Very poor leadership from them.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

Everyone has probably seen the Ukrainian press briefings where captured Russian soldiers have been paraded to answer questions and talk about how they have been let down with poor equipment and leadership etc. , probably true who knows dont they say first casualty of war is truth , anyways

I watch RT on RUMBLE sometimes and it was interesting when Russian military brought out an English soldier who had been captured by Russian forces. the news anchor advised viewers that any statements they hear " will have been given under duress " .

And yes I know RT is a Putin apologist and full of Russian spin and dis-information.

I just found it interesting that Ive never heard any of the western media prefacing their news pieces by saying any statements may have been given under duress.

Anyways the poor british sod , just wanted to get home to his family, lets hope he makes it out in some prisoner exchange.

Who said NATO needed to fire on the Russian ships. Theres probably a hundred other things it would have been useful for, albeit highly dangerous..

I guess me (the one some of you think is some Putin bot) is the only one who thinks it might have been useful if NATO didnt do a runner from The Black Sea a few weeks before the Invasion started and a few Ukrainian lives might have been saved and Putins military ambitions in Eastern Ukraine curtailed by the prescence of NATO warships .

Now wasnt someone else here asking how we will escort Ukraine grain out of the sea ports.

I know maybe we could use some ships with mine detection capability to escort the Ukraine grain (before it rots very shortly) out of the ports so it can feed the millions threatened by famine in developing mations.

Oh hang on we dont have any ships with mine detection available to escort the grain to regions threatened by famine , because the strategic planners in NATO thought it wise to leave that area whilst at the same time telling the world Russia was about to invade.

Sure having he ships there could have caused an escalation, do we need an escalation maybe to force Putin to stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭Economics101

Surely you mean Jewish ancestry, not Israeli. There is a difference, even if Israel has a law of return applying to all Jews.

I don't want to deflect away from Russia to Israel, but the huge influx of Russian Jews into Israel has diluted the influence of an earlier generation with a Central and Western European ancestry. Russia's malign political culture has influenced Israel's politics, and not for the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭Field east

Another post using Putins Disinformation strategy. Bits of truth here and there, bits of information showing us that you are on the Ukr side , bits of doubting type information , bits of half truth, bits of what if, bits of whataboutary, bits of opinions that are one sided, etc, etc, etc.

all with the purpose of sowing confusion , sowing the seeds of doubt, create division, etc, etc,etc. I, at least know what you are at.

ONE KEY thing jumped out from your post that blows ‘your cover’ with regards to how knowledgable you claim to have with all your assertions ie I assume that the UKranians have been storing recently harvested grain for years and they well know how to keep it from ROTTING unless, of course the Russians blew the roofs off the grain stores. Have you forgotten that Ukr exports a very high percentage of grain used internationally so why would it let grain rot if it is used as a very significant foreign / income earner. You again picked the WOrST POSSIBLE scenario of another aspect of the war in the broadest sense to sow some doubt , etc, etc.

HO WAIT, maybe you are right. If grain under adequate cover, ie a good roof, is left there long enough, eg 10 years + and VERMIN - of ALL types including two legged types if they get short taken- p-ss on it on a continual basis then deterioration takes place including secondary infection and maybe leading to rotting.

you are some detail with your rotting idea. Will you get up the yard and stay there until called down

PS the Ukr seem to be very good to date of getting rid of ‘vermin ‘so I do not think that wermin will be a problem for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭bennyineire

delete please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,167 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/world/2015/sep/20/russia-funds-moscow-conference-us-eu-ukraine-separatists

Irish participants at the conference told the Guardian that they had no Kremlin links and were simply taking an opportunity to promote their cause. 

Sinn Féinmember Diarmaid Mac Dubhghlais compared the eastern Ukraine conflict to the “Ireland of years ago”, arguing that the pro-Russian rebels were fighting a “fascist government” in Kiev.”

Just remember this……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭bennyineire

Moments like this reminds us why the E.U. was set up in the first place and what it really stands for, I am proud to live in a country that is a member state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

Former US Defense Secretary James Mattis had this to say yesterday,

“The tragedy of our time is that Putin is a creature straight out of Dostoevsky. He goes to bed every night angry, he goes to bed every night fearful, he goes to bed every night thinking that Russia is surrounded by nightmares and this has guided him,”

Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

Unfortunately, it now looks like Odesa is the next target for Russia.

Has anyone heard about the story about China smuggling Missile parts into Russia from the Siberia est land border?

Dan.

6lgcp6.jpg

For an occasional viewer it's amazing you hit the bullet points of their more measured end of things right on the nose.

Oh certainly they have a part to play, but oil and gas are the biggest sticks of all. If all they had were those items listed they'd have fecked off months ago. In Soviet Union days the rest of the world got by without pretty much all of the above. Back then import/export foreign trade was less than 4% of the Soviet's economy. Of course back then Mother Russia had a command economy, loads of vassal states and a much higher population among them and within Russia herself. Though Mother Russia is pulling out the starve the poor stick, trying to get developing nations behind them against the "Monstrous West" and there are enough eejits in the developing world that will ignore the "FACT" that without putin and his minion's Ukrainian misadventure they wouldn't be threatened with rumbling bellies in the first place.

If putin wants some return to Soviet glory days, I say let him have it. He may even get it too. After this shítshow ends and end it will, few of any real import will be too willing to deal with them, or more, rely on them in the future. Well the Chinese and India will buy oil and gas at firesale prices when it suits(as they always have and long before this war too). That should be enough to keep the oligarchs in caviar.

I am more than ever swinging towards Russian influence in German politics. With people like Merkel not so much. I personally think she was trying to engage with Russia and that was a mistake borne on the back of German collective guilt stuff and Cold War concerns. But people like Scholz? Never mind someone like ex PM Gerhard Schroder magically ending up on the board of a Russian gas company... That's dodgier than a 20 quid "Rolex".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,643 ✭✭✭timmyntc

So Lisichansk looks like it will be totally encircled within the next 7 days, if it does infact fall it will significantly reduce the length of the frontlines and the Russians will be able to press Bakhmut and Siversk with far more manpower too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

Oh for sure. The amazing thing is how stuff like this has continued on for years, and many people have just seemingly breezed past it. Even with all the malign activities of the russian state the last number of decades, all this pandering and acceptance has resulted in a place where social and personal responsibility just evaporated.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

It looks like the HIMARS were at play with the last bombardment of Snake island.

Locating them around the Odessa Oblast puts them out of reach of accurate Russian artillery but importantly within 70 or so miles of Kherson and its surrounding areas. Could be part of the reason for the Op-sec on that front as Ukraine look to put them to proper use there.

I suspect that's why Odessa is under a fresh bombardment in the last day also with blind missiles launched by Russian aircraft aimed in the direction of Bilhorod-Dnistrovs'kyi. Bilhorod-Dnistrovs'kyi which is 60 miles from Snake island. Goodwill gesture my backside.