Dublin Airport Mayhem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,627 ✭✭✭Shred

Where I live is relevant as it means getting up even earlier if I lived further away, as you said yourself. I am at least grateful I don't live further afield for that reason and sympathise with anyone who's coming from outside Dublin and beyond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,297 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

Only you can know if your flight is worth risking but fwiw here are this morning's security times around then:

Screenshot_20220627-195117.png

Having said that, Saturday's queue time at 6am was less than half of what Sunday's turned out to be so it's a gamble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,627 ✭✭✭Shred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Bombaby1974

So, arrived at T2 at around 03:50 and downstairs in check in was mental, really busy but thankfully I had carry on only.

Went up to departures and the queue was skaking from one side of the hall to the ather and about 7 or so rows ahead of me. Only 1 person scanning boarding cards at one door (out of 5)

Spend around 30 minutes queuing to get through the departure gate and then believe it or not, about 5 minutes getting through security. Plenty of queues open.

Queues for brekkie on the other hand?? Forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭.G.

Nice one. I'm expecting 30-40 minutes all in so that's not a problem. Starts going over an hour then kids start getting cranky! I'll have them well fed and bags well stocked so no food needed.

Thanks for the update.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Apologies in advance if this has been answered many times before. I know Aerlingus allow baggage to be dropped off the day before a flight. I have a morning flight with Ryanair coming up. If I tried to drop off baggage the evening before the flight would they take it? I'd like to try and reduce the queuing time with kids if possible at all, even if it means driving to Dublin airport two days in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 240 ✭✭Tippman24

Flew out of Dublin on 19/06 at 08.20. Apart from the snake of a queue for Security the place was okay. Got baggage done and through security by 05.00. Returned last evening, and baggage was on the carousel when i got to it. there is some amount of unclaimed baggage in the Baggage Reclaim Hall in T1.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 7,349 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Went through departures T1 on Friday afternoon.

45 mins to check in bags and about an hour to get through security despite it saying 35 mins. I assume that time is after you've scanned your boarding pass?

Absolute bedlem post security with shops and bars jammed.

Dreading returning based on what people have said about baggage. We arrive at 2am in morning which is bad enough. Just hoping its not too busy then.

Given the aircoach no longer runs 24/7 gotta try and prebook a taxi but seemingly some arnt doing pickups as people are getting too delayed with baggage. Don't want to risk the taxi rank....

The DAA keep banging on that suits are rolling up their sleeves in security but perhaps they should be mopping the jacks given the state of them. That one in T1 arrivals has always stunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭.G.

Through T2 and airside in 35 minutes. Grand job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

Yesterday, tea time, wait time in security was posted as 40 m, took 20. There were reams of people standing at AL check in in T2 (why?) We waltzed past to the self check in/ bag drop and were done in a few minutes.

All in all less than an hour. No queues for coffee either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Economics101

I don't know if getting army personnel to help at Dublin airport will be all that effective, but PDforra are complaining about health and safety etc. Reported on RTE, always a great platform for whingers: https://www.rte.ie/news/2022/0629/1307441-clarity-needed-on-roles-for-army-at-airport-pdforra/

Thank goodness we are not sending soldiers into battle. Imagine the howls from PDforra!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

Quick update - arrived in T2 at 2.45am. Had done Bag Drop the evening before which was very fast. Maybe 20-ish people in Security queue. Security opened at 3am. Very efficient. Through by 3.15am.

Guy in front of us was acting the maggot tbh. American guy with his wash-bag full of liquid products. No sign of a 1L plastic bag. Kept arguing with the Security lady. They moved him to one side to continue the arguing.

All our bags arrived to our destination. Flight (Aer Lingus) on time too. Happy all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,144 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Dublin Airport not safe for the Irish Army.

Ok so slightly tongue in cheek but it says a lot...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭davetherave

Great platform for whingers? Listening to the clip, the questions asked by the Morning Ireland presenter were all in the negative and baiting. I thought he handled her quite well actually.

• Good morning, will your members help if called upon?
    • Now you say you were not consulted but are you generally consulted about issues like this, say if there is a flood or snow storm: (Bit of a difference between a flood overnight and a shitshow since April, where the Minister of Defence, Taoiseach, and Minister of Transport had previously said no Army need)
    • So if you are to do this, what sort of clarity do you need, who questions do you answered, need answered. (The who, what, where, when, and how)
    • So, what do you need now, who do you need now to speak to now at this point and what information do you need before you can do this. Because this is due to start July 6th which is actually Tuesday week, do you think your members will be ready to start next week.
    • We do you that you have much bigger grievances in terms of pay and conditions, and staff retention, are you not just using this request as a way to further those arguments and those issues. (The independent Defence Forces commission highlighted the practise of using the DF as cheap labour and here we are again)
    • But can you confirm that you will be ready to work at the airport if called upon? (Subject to military law, can't disobey a lawful order)
    • https://www.rte.ie/radio/radio1/clips/22114418/

Idiots who don't properly organise their liquids should be sent to the back of the queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭fredo1664

Has anyone used the Terminal 1 & 2 car parks recently? I've booked the T1 car park (block C) on Friday at 10am, I'm wondering will I get stuck in a traffic jam forever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,337 ✭✭✭✭elperello

It would be better if there was no need for the ongoing campaign to get the members of our defence forces the recognition they deserve.

But here we are and successive governments have dodged the issues of pay and conditions.

In the meantime we have a group of people who have signed up and taken an oath.

They will put themselves in harms way if necessary, have no doubt about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Josey Wales

We have a midweek afternoon flight coming up with Aer Lingus within Europe. The advice seems to be to turn up 2.5 hours before the flight and an extra hour or so if you are checking baggage.

Aer Lingus baggage drop doesn't open until 2 hours prior to takeoff, so how are they are managing the queues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭JoChervil

I think the most of problems is created because they gathered people from more flights at once. Normally it would be passengers from one flight at the gate. But because food bars were packed with 3-4 times more people gathered there, I went to a gate and there I waited till 4 flights departed. So really telling people to come so early creates this mess. But I guess airlines want to be covered in case you miss your flight, so tell you to come earlier.

Also I don't believe in staff shortages. When I was queueing it was a woman walking around shouting: keep moving! Like without her orders people wouldn't. Also there were employees handing out transparent string bags for liquids. Why the earlier method of putting it down was abandoned? Why taking it from someone's hands instead of a container should speed things up? A complete waste of staff really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭mikewest

Be grand, was in there less than 2 weeks ago. Loads of space and only problem was a fool who blocked the entrance (both lanes) for a minute or two. No real queues. Can be as handy as block A depending on where you park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,487 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The automated bag drop won't refuse you over two hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Darwin

Passed through T1 yesterday at 2pm, queuing time was advertised as 35 mins but took 75 mins in the end. My carry on bag had extra screening which took forever even though I'm a regular flyer and had nothing out of the ordinary in it. It was annoying but I'm quite happy they were thorough at the same time. The departure area was chaotic with hardly anywhere to stand, nevermind sit with 4 gate changes for my flight. Got away in the end with a delay of 2 hours so not the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,561 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Arriving in with Turkish Airlines in the morning. 10am

I'm debating trying to fit everything in to carry on so I don't get stuck waiting for luggage on the carousel. How long on average is the luggage drop?

I have a train to catch at Heuston for 1pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,487 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Average would be 30m, but if Turkish's handler are having a bad day it could easily be much more. And the two main outsourced handlers in Dublin are both at high potential of having a bad day... I don't know who Turkish use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,561 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Yeah I went with downsizing completely and have just taken carry-on to be on the safe side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭VG31

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

I'm flying Ryanair from T1 at 6:50am next Wednesday and have to check bags first - any thoughts on what's required timing wise? If I go off the guidance 3:20am feels like an obscene time, especially with small kids. I'd go to the airport at that time ahead of my wife & kids except that 1 of the bags is in her name so I assume she'll have to be there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

This guy must have got to Ireland with a 1L bag and small liquids so what the eff was he playing at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭whatawaster81

Sitting in the smoking section of the bar now in T1. Taxi picked me up in Tallaght at 11:45 am and was through security by 12:35. Used bag drop and was less than 10 minutes in security. Was expecting chaos. So rather happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Was through T1 and my god the airport is f*cking filthy. Looks like they have far too few cleaners.

Some advertisement for visitors coming to the country, but I suppose it gets them mentally ready for the Dublin City Centre experience.