Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiernan Kelly Incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,509 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,054 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

At the least it should be a lifetime ban.

Gouging FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

If Armagh concentrated on how to take penalties and hit the target properly instead of McGeeneys MMA shite they kept doing today, they might be in a Semi Final now. McGeeney isn't going to win an All Ireland no matter what team he's with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

For a county with just the one all Ireland to it's name, i always thought there was/is an arrogance to Armagh tbh. Considering the crap they were at today, there will be very few tears shed outside Armagh tonight. Thank god this crowd of thugs have been knocked out.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,832 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

If its confirmed eye gouging then out.

jaysus i dunno what could confirm it more than what we have all seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,832 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

I agree. Disgusting. Commity decisions so who knows (I'm a bigger fan of rugby and you'd be out for a looooongggg time for that)

But historically accurate. You can dribble all you want, it won't change the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,817 ✭✭✭corny

Yeah they have zero tolerance and rugby players are professionals but yet it still happens. There a thousand youtube clips I could play for you of lads losing it on a rugby pitch.

The gouging apart, I wouldn't condemn any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,652 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

You can ask them and demand they do.

see what sort of stones the GAA have to deal with this… my guess is they won’t do enough.

the perpetrator probably getting an apology hastily ready and a receipt from a psychologist and it will be ‘out of character’

eye gouging ughhhh, absolutely filthy behaviour…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Third brawl this year for Armagh- against Tyrone, Donegal and now today.

Tried to start one in the league game against Kerry but Jack o Connor kept Kerry out on the field and defused it.

A number of strikes off the ball today, the red card, the gouging.

Fairly consistent pattern here really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,820 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Anyone with a shred of decency will call this behaviour out plain and simple, not ramble about "Nordies"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,595 ✭✭✭Robson99

The amount of hits off the ball the ref and linesmen refused to act on led to a lot of it. Armagh could have been down to 12 players at one stage if the ref done his job.

The gouging incident should be a 2 year ban at minimum. Cowardly act

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Field east

It’s absolutly amazing how many fouls are “missed’ in GAA hurling and football matches when there are 14 official watching it from all angles and all - linesmen and umpires - are wired up to bring any foul to the notice of the ref in championship matches.

there is an assumption that if the ref blows up for EVERY foul he would destroy the flow of the match. The problem with this policy of not blowing for everything that when the players find out what fouls that they can get away with they will commit these fouls through the match. A good example of this is throwing the ball in hurling instead of passing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

The no.6 punched Conroy off the ball and, although I didn’t see it, a mate of mine in the lower hogan said Walsh got a strike to the head off the ball.

Thats why he was down for a period of time near the end of the game.

But aye this whole debate is just anti northern bias, sure it’s just an extension of the treaty discussions of a century ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭jacool

The GAA will fix this when they learn how to spell schemozzle.

One paper reported that he was going to get banned for the rest of the inter-county season!!

Please let them not be that ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Grats

Absolutely correct. Look at the praise heaped on John Keenan for letting the Limerick v Clare match flow!!! Everybody could see that he ignored many fouls which suited those players who play over the edge. Then we had the ridiculous carry on where Galway County Board found a loophole to get their banned player off. And Clare followed suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭rogerywalters

Hahaha id take a dim view on the gouging as well.

Yep just the way it is , most dangerous place in europe for women , well tied with Romania according to the Belfast telegraph.

jesus the move to make this about nordies is fairly embarrassing

its about one scrote and its about the general culture of tolerating over physical shite in GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭AyeGer

He is a tramp and should be banned for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Yes you can. You expect them to play the game and then shake hands afterwards. There is no need for that scrappy slappy messing around. Pushing and sly punches, one of the Armagh players close-lined a player.

Look at real tough men sports like rugby, boxing, martial arts etc. Generally they are respectful after the matchup is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Kelly should get a long ban. A few months at least, A scumbag act in what was otherwise a mellee caused by Comer. If you watch the footage back he was throwing himself into 2 or 3 Armagh lads as they came off the field.

The people here saying that Armagh are playing MMA type game and Kildare played the same way under mcgeeney are talking out their holes tbh. They are a physical team... as are Dublin.

Kelly got a haymaker of a right hook off one of the Galway subs straight after he gouged Comer. Served him right!

Armagh been involved in 3 of these type of rows this year. And you try to claim its one scrote?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Quitelife

The carry on of some of the Armagh players yesterday was bordering on assault off the ball as well and to say unsporting would be an understatement , god only knows what that number 2 was saying at stages to players, the Eye gouger from Armagh probably committed one of the worst acts ever in Croke Park ( which is saying something), should get a ten year ban minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Quitelife

I do feel though that the situation politically in the 6 counties for the last 100 years has created a battle hardened population in counties like Armagh when we in the South literally abandoned 6 county nationalists to the mercy of Loyalist Murder gangs and British forces who treated nationalists brutally and like dirt.Many GAA people suffered desperately and only those who endured it really know the impact of not knowing whether you'd be alive or in jail next week or not.Children saw horrible things and thats very recent stuff we in the south know bugger all about as we were told look the other way by our government & RTE.

If the people of Galway or other counties had suffered the same the shoe could be on the other foot, clearly playing GAA is more than a sport to people in the 6 counties who would probably die for their jersey whilst us in the south would have a softer outlook. Doesn't excuse the behavior of some yesterday but situations you endure and were raised in mould you .

2/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Treble double

An awful act but I would be slow to vilify one person and lay it all at his door, which would suit the GAA and Armagh. This person cant be made a scapegoat of to allow the rest of the squad and backroom off Scott free.

If this person thought it was a good idea to do what he did, it obviously is a culture promoted within the squad. This is Armaghs third involvement in a mass brawl in this competition. Questions have to be asked of McGeeney and the culture he is overseeing.

The likes of Donaghy in his backroom team doesn't help he was an awful mouthy cynical player in his time.

So you are saying they are more passionate as opposed to being scumbags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Fiyatoe

Another one added to the ignore list. WUM

the Dublin thread seems to be a breeding ground for strange angry men. Gusser09 and now this boyo.

very unusual indeed, I wonder what’s going on in their personal life that they’re so angry on here