Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,427 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Per hectare of cropland.

It's because of our damp climate and well.. agronomists advice right or wrong.

Gardeners and council use should be banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

25 litres

4.1 fat

3.62pr

Urea 25

35% autumn calvers in that. Will be starting to dry off in a few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Had a quick look on twitter, didnt see any tweets about pippas husbands helmet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

What your doing sounds really interesting think you might be ahead of the curve . Farm here is really struggling on lower n routine here and probably have left a bit of milk behind me this year because of it . Ureas running very low all year and grass quality rubbish . Feeding heavy now for last few weeks . It has been a bumper year for silage alright we had over 11t DM ha in some fields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

They're certainly there, A prominent cow man and a prominent pig man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Joking I know but Just had a scan myself to see what all the excitement was about, he seems to be running the irelands farmer acc. Can't really see anything in the responses other than the usual nonsense expected.

I'm definitely leaving milk behind.

But if this is not the year to try this, no year is. Anyway we all know what way the wind is blowing.

Now if everyone spread say the gypsum, sea shell, the others, etc. The price would go up and maybe availability limited. But anyway I definitely need rain now. Interesting though you'd spot more this way. The paddocks that got char are more evident and showing more than if I was a high rate of fert.

Molasses though is key I think to build up hearth. And that with the minerals builds up nitrogen in the soil. Although going on other years my milk urea was low. Only difference then was I had no fulvic acid or this magic magnetic yoke.

I'm not exactly scientific about any of this. 🙂

If a thing works I'll keep doing it and if it doesn't I won't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,710 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

I saw a prominent guy on twitter talking about spraying milk to help microbes in the soil. Any thoughts on that?

He was talking about 10L in 100L water to the acre

Running at 20L/day here. 3.93P, 4.63BF on 2,kg aday

Thoughts.

Wash out your sprayer well before use with baking soda and water. Use only tank milk, no high scc milk or treated milk.

I'd be inclined to go on a cloudy dry day. And even after all that if you get a good/great hit result don't assume it'll be that way the next and always. That good great first result could be just an element balancing and a result from a big shock excitement to the microbes in something different being applied.

There's nothing to lose in trying it out. But if you try it out give it a fair trial and don't pick your worst piece of ground.

I've an inkling if there's a hint of humic acid, peat in the ground it'll work better.

Edit : And the water choice is important. Rain water or non treated well water. And even then with the well water it's better if left standing for a few hours.

TBH I'd need to read up a lot more before I'd try something like that, otherwise I'd find it hard to evaluate what success looks like.

I've gone without N on half the MP since April 1st, hard to tell yet whether it's residual nitrogen keeping things going yet or whether the clover is doing its job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭Grueller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I be running around the same, land wouldn't be the best, but not stocked that highly

Thanks, Ya, young herd, 80% second calvers. Buying in a herd gives you a mighty leg up

PH of the water?

Out of interest what would you think the EPA would make of it?

FWIW the two lads I saw talking about it raved about it and when questioned on the environmental effects gave some details on ppm that stacked up from the quick glance I gave it

Post edited by Green&Red on

If it's rain or well there's no need to even think of looking at pH.

There'd be feck all risk. it's only a misting of diluted milk. The higher the biological oxygen demand of anything just means it's a highly effective food source for microbes. And your spraying it on the soil and leaf not dumping it in a waterway. That'll be consumed by microbes in the soil and leaf in under half an hour. Those extra microbes then will be another carbon source in the soil.

If anyone says anything, bamboozle them with carbon drawdown and climate change and soil resiliance to drought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,133 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Can't abide that clown of a prominent dairy farming couple, we'd all be on easy Street if the wife was doing the milkings the kids feeding the calves and anything and everything in between along with a team of students drafted in for calving, fair play re their work with the mental health side of things but present day he really can't be a true advocate for it, given his current farming circumstances are that far attached from the modern day realities of people trying to keep the wheels spinning on their own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

7FD15B10-5BD5-48B6-BE08-0A45FF3F91DF.png

It’s just ridiculous, purely trying to score a few points. I’m no fan of pippa but this is just silly shite

The Hynes let there v young teenage daughter out to calve a cow on her own, that’s v irresponsible imv. Calving cows are highly dangerous no matter how well you think you know them

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

An ethical question for lads that cross roads with cows.we do it here on a normal country road and we always stop the cows and let a car that comes along go through and open up again. I have seen other farmers let cars que up while their cows trundle along and don't seem to make any effort to speed up the cows or let cars go.to me that's inconsiderate and I think most people have better things to do than waiting for my cows to come home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭cosatron

Depends on the numbers, we have a small amount and get them across fairly fast but if I had big numbers I would stop them and let the cars go by. I also wait until there is no car in sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I let the cars off, why should they wait every day or a few times a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Lios67

Absolutely let the cars pass here too . It’s important to keep your neighbours on your side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Time keeping rush. If only I had got my ass out of the bed earlier, I would have avoided this..

Back in the day, we had three neighbours with cows on the road. One let his cows wander on their own along the public road into the milking parlour, even though all his land was on the same side of the road, he used it as a farm road. Further along another farmer would run through his cows to get you through. And lastly a farmer's wife whom I'm sure took delight in ignoring and delaying me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭roosterman71

The law states that those in charge of animals can force you to stop and wait while on a public road. Isn't that right? Therefore the cow takes priority when on the road and being managed by someone. Rightly so too.

Then it's just being friendly to stop the cows to allow traffic through. And really most of the time the traffic isn't going to be stopped for long at all.

It's the uptight, pain in the hole impatient drivers that I'd let sit and wait until every last hair from the tail of the very last animal was safely across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,732 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Neighbour here with over 200 cows after putting in an underpass …was just crossing a quite public by road …he always needed 2/3 people when crossing it ….now 1 cows in for milking without hold up and straight back to paddock aa rows let out ….I know there a big cost but near getting to stage now if your moving stock regularly on public roads no matter how quite there a must

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Quiet road here and would be crossing them on my own. Have a gate at the road so turn em up to the gate and then get ahead to to let them across. Would wait if there is a car coming or whatever. Once they've started I keep them moving and any thing that comes in that time would only be waiting a small bit tbh, twud take as long to stop them and clear the road as it would just to get em all out and across. A few cross busy roads around here and its a case of have em ready to go and all out then or you'd never get accross

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭straight

It looks like I may not be able to claim the greening in the new BISS. I think there's something about no clawback if you sell in 2023 or 2024. With convergence and the way things are going it's looking like a flat payment per hectare going forward. I'd say selling entitlements may be the way forward.

Nice calves at lisduff sale today. Nice power to them. Anyone splash the cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭straight

I meant to give a look but I forgot. Big money I suppose?

Yes and no. A leslie lot 10 went over 5000 and a raven lot 4 went over 3000. Yamaska and praser calves the most impressive