If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

Nothing to add, except to acknowledge this as a great post really capturing the fatigue of people in towns throughout the country, as the sense of cohesion that once existed, is systematically undermined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Your post started off admirably, discussing the things normal decent people are seeing with their own eyes. You then go on to say Eastern Europeans and other nationalities are not economically self sufficient, I'd argue the vast majority of Eastern Europeans, particularly Polish have proven themselves to be exceptionally economically self sufficient and furthermore the vast majority arrived here in Boom Times. As for "Other Nationalties" not quite sure what your getting at, so I'll park that.

You then correctly talk about Fatigue, actually it's exhaustion, but it's actually a more recent phenomenon because of the Blatant Hypocrisy that is evident and a two tier Support /Welfare and Refugee system being actively persued by this Government who actually appear oblivious to the fact they are causing social cohesion to break down with some extraordinary decisions. It's almost like, "Nero playing his Fiddle while Rome burns .”

But finally you then talk about the "usual suspects" stoking up white privilege, when infact its the very decent hard working people you describe so elegantly earlier in your post that are infact the "Usual Suspects", ordinary decent people who are certainly not racist, have worked hard, paid their Taxes, Showed compassion and understanding at the start of this, perhaps donated, pledged their homes and were prepared, like me to give this time, all this despite the obvious slow moving train wreck it's been.

These "Usual Suspects, including me, are Now livid at the Shenanigans going on, Abuse of Hospitality, Two Tier supports systems, outrageous inequality affecting actual citizens, an open door policy, not of Refugees but on taking the absolute Piss, Rules being waived, Zero verification or accountability, Free for all and most Galling, Government sitting idly by whilst other people struggling, crying about no magic money tree, all the while, literally throwing money at Ukrainian Refugees whilst the Country and Citizens crippled financially.

Is it seriously any wonder there's developing breakdown of Social cohesion when Government actually encouraging it all seemingly in the cause of Virtue signalling on the world stage, it's sickening.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭clytemnestra

Ok I will amend what I said - I agree that eastern Europeans are generally economically self-sufficient, and that too many of the non-EU migrants are not. There is also clear fraud and dishonesty involved when many display conspicuous signs of wealth and prosperity like expensive cars and holidays home to their faraway country of origin, despite occupying so much of the social housing stock in my area.

And to clarify - by "usual suspects" complaining about Ukrainians being privileged over non-EU migrants, I don't mean ordinary people. I mean the NGOs and the talking heads - I see Fintan O'Toole's latest is on that subject, now there's a man who has no sense of class analysis any more despite his supposed leftism.

Honestly I wasn't trying to be overly critical you make some excellent points, I was just confused, I actually believe the Majority of Irish people and indeed settled migrants have been decent, understanding and actually incredibly understanding but that has changed for what they and I see as astonishing double standards. It's actually not the Refugees as such that I think annoys people it's the obvious disconnect government seem to have with what they are doing whilst seemingly abandoning their responsibilities toward their own citizens and to be fair, some extraordinary decisions and indeed lack of decisions that I believe is causing unhappiness which is turning into justifyable anger and frustration.

At a very, very basic level people cannot get access to services and for years and they now look on at what is occurring and must be wondering what did we do so wrong.

Apologies if I took up the usual suspects comment wrong 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,958 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

There is no Ukrainians opening bank accounts with fake drivers licensees and no passports in days, it's another figment of your imagination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,599 ✭✭✭enricoh

NATO head honcho reckons the war will go on for years. I think it's pie in the sky that anything but a small minority of Ukrainians here will be going home soon. High petrol, gas, home heating oil, coal etc are here for the foreseeable also.

https://www.thejournal.ie/ukraine-war-lasting-for-years-5794409-Jun2022/

“Ukranian refugees, with possibly no passport, questionable drivers licences , essentially no fixed abode and a nice letter can have bank accounts opened, literally within days.”

A passport is necessary for opening a Bank Account. If it’s in Ukrainian only, it has to be translated officially, as the English names are spelt differently. Yes, an official letter on an official letterhead, signed by an official responsible for their accommodation and a PPSN are all required in order to open a bank account.

Pensioners don’t have to jump through hoops. We already had bank accounts. We know what is required to open one. We have already had to update existing bank accounts to ensure that we comply with all existing regulations. Same as non pensioners who have had bank accounts for decades.

O Dear your still clutching at straws. Can you please enlighten us as to whom exactly is verifying the Validity of Ukrainian Driving licenses at the moment, honestly I think we'd all love to know. Also don't forget a Ukranian passport is not even required to gain entry.

My actual main point relates to the ease being afforded to Ukranian Refugees (and more questionable arrivals as part of the EU directive) when pensioners and others being forced to jump through hoops to open Bank accounts and being left waiting weeks dangling by Irish Banks.

There are very clear Anti Money Laundering rules with regards to a person's Identity and indeed residency, you can huff and puff all you like, Bank accounts are being opened and rules being ignored or waived.

A very simple solution would be to allow refugees collect their SW at post offices, they can spend their money as they require, at a minimum an appropriate amount of time should have been considered to allow for verifications before permission granted to open bank accounts in the state.

Incidently despite your on going denials, I seem to recall an post and other financial institutions falling over themselves offering free banking, a feature most of us can only dream of.

I'm not really sure were you've been for the past few months but seriously your stretching it now.

There's literally hundreds of articles, Reports, news items, letters to editors, interviews on radio to dispute your assertion pensioners have not faced difficulties in switching and indeed many others that have had bank accounts in Ireland for decades.

The problems range from up to date identification, Opening joint accounts, Miss match on names and addresses, Covid legacy, lack of staffing etc. Charlie weston has written extensively about the issues so please stop the pretence in order to play to your Narrative.

I've simply pointed out and with no fear of contradiction there as been encourmous switching problems that even required the central bank to call in CEO"S of Irish banks to address the widely reported problems.

And yet, amongst all this chaos, Ukrainian refugees with unverified ID and a nice letter can have accounts opened, literally in days 🙄

Seriously correct me if I wrong but don't be making up stories to feed your narrative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭slay55

Was in at a bank last week switching from ulster to this bank

Ukrainians in and can’t speak English , only requirement for them is to bring in someone that can speak English

that’s all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,958 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

A very simple solution would be to allow refugees collect their SW at post offices

That's what they are doing, again there is no Ukrainians opening bank accounts with fake documentation. They have to prove their identity and place of residence like everyone else.

How you keep getting away with peddling outright nonsense is a mystery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The Asylum and Refugee system has been broken and abused for years, across Europe for decades now.

We have only seen the start of it,it remains a key plank of Russia to destabilise North Africa and try drown Europe with migration.

As one of the pensioners affected, I knew in advance that my bank was closing. So, I went to another with all the required documentation and had my new bank account set up, standing orders, pension payments, etc., in about a week. The exact timeframe won’t come to mind.

Remember, paper never refused ink. Us pensioners are not all stuck in the dark ages. Some of us can even use computers! And those of us who don’t, mostly have families that can.

They need a translator or someone who understands English so they know what documentation they need bring in in order to open a bank account.

I'm actually happy for you, I'm helping two sets of pensioners locally being given the run around and know of many others and not just pensioners as I've stated previously, I see what your at , focusing on the pensioners, the problem effected many others but seemingly and strangely not Ukrainian refugees not a wet week in the country 😏

you're one of the lucky ones. Claire Byrne herself on her show 2 weeks ago was complaining bitterly to Brian Hayes from BPFI about the nightmare and lengthy delays for hundreds of people (including herself) trying to move Banks, many with mortgages. Reems of paperwork and form filling, actual letter writing (pen and paper!!) needed in many cases rather than using email and Apps! Banks force us all to use online banking, contactless payments, e-banking and e-statements etc, yet when you want to change multiple accounts its back to pen and paper . Check out her podcast if you don't believe me.

I presume the fact they are already in the Branch they know exactly what little they need , but again, I've still not received an answer to a really simple question.

Who is actually verifying the legitimacy or otherwise of Identification being presented, not just at ports of Entry but Banks and indeed other outlets that require Identification.

I know the Answer but why is it so difficult for people to accept there is a very, very serious issue which in essence is being ignored.

Well , yes, that’s true

the person dealing with my switch had to step out the office to assist the Ukrainians

his phrase that he used when coming back in was , “ this will come back and bite us “

Maybe someone on here that works in a bank could confirm the lack of documents in which they can open an account ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Why do refugees need to get social welfare?

Why do they need to get pps numbers. The latter was purely to help fight wage growth.

The direct provision system was working well bar the legal challenge abuse.

Yes, I'd forgotten the Claire Byrne show have covered this issue as has Joe Duffy 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

What badly needs to be addressed is the fact that those living in hotels with three meals a day should not be getting full Job seekers benefit.

Then those housed in vacant homes are getting the same money and are feeding themselves etc

Our own people on Job seekers get the same amount but also have to feed themselves and pay bills

I see no reason to give refugees in hotels having three meals a day and no bills the full amount .

I am sure someone will be along to explain that Social Welfare dont have the staff to regulate this but is simply not good enough . But the inequality of this fact is absolutely glaringly obvious to so many now .

Also on newstalk radio just now , Ukrainians only getting offered 2 places of accommodation and not multiple to speed up the process

too many refusing as wanting different areas, closer to work , friends etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I dont know . But they certainly dont need €200 a week if they are having all meals handed to them .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

Meals should be provided to every one on jsa if this is the current setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

If true, it really shows us that is luxury seeking, more so than asylum seeking.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

The thing is with free accommodation, free meals and free 208 euro per week the VIP refugees are considerably better off than a good chunk of the working population. There is something grossly wrong with that.

You're incredibly dismissive of the problems involved. My parents (70s) both switched their bank accounts, both to cut down on the variety of accounts (simplify), and because of the differences in charges applied by the banks. Grand. Solid reasons for switching.

Both are extremely well organised having documentation going back decades, all their identification, etc. Perfect credit rating. Past history with each of the banks, and no red flags. Should have been a breeze. It was time consuming, clunky and full of errors.. because of the range of verification that the banks implemented at every stage. Multiple accounts, sure, it was a difficult overall process but it was made much worse by the checks involved. And yes, my parents are fairly tech savvy.

Now, my situation is different. I came back from China, and needed an account here. Took ages.. and I mean ages to get anything from the main banks. Ended up going with EBS because the main banks screwed up when it came to authorising and transferring the funds from China. In the end I went with EBS because they were simply the quickest to verify details, and do the transfers. That was with China, who are clunky and difficult but has been connected to western banks for decades.

Ukrainians are getting fasttracked to getting bank accounts. There's no way that they had to verify their details in the manner either my parents, or I did.. and Ukrainian banks aren't as well connected to western banks. So... why would Ukrainians be able to get set up so quickly, and without fuss?

There is bias at play here. For Irish people they have had to jump through all the hoops to get bank accounts (and there's no guarantee they'll get one), and the process is long winded... but Ukrainians get it within a few weeks or even days of arriving?

Don't get me wrong. I'm not blaming Ukrainians for this. It's the banks, regulatory bodies.. and the politics of the country to put others ahead of Irish people.