Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

French Open 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭sxt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

would you go away with your one-leg anesthetized - if something is actually locally anesthetized the nerves would be immobilised!

that's some rubbish lost in spanish translation.

Nadal very much had things go his way and it's pretty pathetic not to acknowledge that ->

Zverev freak injury when he (zverev) was very much in the match and Nadal making hard work of it

Alcaraz underperforms having beaten Nadal handily enough in Madrid

Djokovic underperforms against Nadal having won Rome and when heavy favourite due to recent form

Draw on the other side

fair play he won but he wasn't even fully tested as it turned out

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Dour match with an utterly predictable result. Still, he's two ahead of Novak now so not all bad!

Overall a pretty poor tournament I thought.

The draw really ruined the tournament this time

Ruud is not a worthy finalist and anyone who actually knows what they are looking at knew that in advance

Lowest ATP seed at 8 to make a final in how many years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

"So, how about people actually give Nadal credit where it's due. The man couldn't walk properly leaving Rome a few weeks ago, came into this tournament off the back of his worst clay court season, has one leg fully anaesthetised, but still beat everyone in front of him."

Yes, that's the point. How can you possibly square that with jumping all round the court? Whilst playing lads 10+years younger at top level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭BQQ

Hard to argue he wasn’t tested when he had to go through 4 top 10 players on the way

when is the last time that happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Horn_of_Africa

It's pathetic and quite sad that you still get people begrudging Nadal's victories.

He's won 22 slams, that's not through good fortune or the luck of the draw.

Pathetic is your attempt to discredit and diminish Nadals achievement.

The way I see it, any time a player goes through the World No.1 (regardless of the stage) to win a tournament, that win is well earned.

Fair enough on the anesthetisation, maybe it was lost in translation. But the overall point still stands, Nadal continually overcomes adversity to win in a way that Djokovic or Federer never had to.

Someone with a backhand like Ruud is not a top player really

His biggest title is ATP 250 level and it's a fact that he got a lot of points playing clay tournaments last year during the grass court season that no big players were at

Look it up

And he didn't go through Zverev,

Zverev mangled his ankle just before a second set tie-break

Ruud is world number 8, so regardless of your opinion of him, he is a "top" player.

Were you as dismissive about your idol Djokovic when he won Wimbledon last year, without having faced a single Top 10 player before the final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Horn_of_Africa

unnamed (1).gif

Vamos!

I said that djokovic won Wimbledon without even having to play well.

Said it again recently

Doesn't change the fact that Nadal in the match where he was struggling his opponent's ankle tore up and overall won it without having to play that well

A match he was winning. But don't let the facts get in the way of a good rant.

I said it before and I'll say it again. If a player beats the World No.1 en route to the title, it means he has earned it. You say Djokovic underperformed, I say Nadal made him play that way by thoroughly outperforming him. I know some people have difficulty accepting that Nadal can play well at times. It's not all, if ever, on his opponents racquet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭poppy37

Congratulations to Nadal, phenomenal record at Roland Garros and as expected the final was a damp squib. The draw was so lopsided it was always going to happen.

I would love if he retired though, his body has taken an awful amount of punishment and you would have to worry about the quality of life he will have after tennis. 22 or more grand slam titles isn’t much comfort when you can’t even play around with your kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭squigglestrebor

Glasso , hahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahah

I said that Nadal played pretty well that match against Djokovic but Djokovic didn't play well - check the posts

Djokovic's backhand was off in that match and he didn't run down average shots from Nadal that he normally world have. That was not down to Nadal's play. His energy was poor for whatever reason.

But that was only one factor in how things worked out for Nadal here.

He was ahead against Zverev but Nadal was struggling in the conditions and only 1 set up and the match was completely in the balance with the longer it went on more likely to favour the younger player struggling less with the conditions- if anyone is saying that it wasn't very much in the balance when zverev's ankle went then that's rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭JuanBerrosa

So he wishes for a new foot rather than this title ??

MY ARSE ... his foot is fine, this whole bs about the foot is a distraction - nothing else.

So well done Nadal, he will win the calendar slam for sure ...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

So many accounts who posts the exact same thing almost word for word 😵 Difficult to keep up with who's who.

Soderling way back in 2009 the last ATP grand slam finalist at any ATP slam since Ruud today who got to a final having previously won no higher than an ATP 250 event

If it was going to happen anywhere it was going to be this year at this tournament due to current ATP seedings and the French refusal to use surface weightings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭sxt

Rafa Is hoping to Play at Wimbledon!

https://youtu.be/1eD5wAf19xo

You know what, if Rafa starts Wimbledon and avoids players like cilic, Sharapova, and Felix in draw. Grand slam is a genuine possibility . Medvedev and Sasha not Playing.Rafa Is unquestionably the best player this year. Djokovic is heavy favourite but Rafa has his best Chance in years if fit to play

Either Djokovic or Nadal Will win Wimbledon. The same is most likely for the US open.

For US open,Im not sure Medvedev will be the same player after aus open,surgery, Wimbledon ban. Thiem is gone, zverev is gone . Alcatraz Best result in slam Is Quarters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Do you genuinely believe Zverev would have beaten Nadal, yes the match was tight, but, Nadal was winning and even if Zverev had gotten into a winning position, he would have found a way to lose, it's what he does, he flatters to deceive and generally chokes when the pressure is highest, Nadal is the opposite he finds a way to win and in all likelihood would have won the tie breaker and ran away with the third, we'll never know of course, but, going on the history of the two players Nadal was the likely winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,060 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Nadal is the greatest sportsman of all time

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Amenhotep

it's true , this cr*p about his foot is a distraction ..

Instead of people asking about how he can possibly still play at this level, they distract and say - look it's nearly the end of his career ... so eh .. look over there ... meanwhile he just cleans up ... after not being able to walk in Rome, the worst MAsters clay court season of his career he strolls to the French Open - TOTAL JOKE.

And now, after media rumours about him not playing Wimbledon ... all of a sudden he is playing Wimbledon - and he wins Wimbledon too, no one else can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Amenhotep

What do you mean a "genuine possibility" ?

This has been 100% certain since he won the AO .

Nadal wins Wimbledon

Nadal wins USO .

100% GUARANTEED .

IT'S A JOKE!!

it was in the balance still for sure

Nadal was suffering far more in the conditions as you could see

it was already a long match and set to go longer

that's not going to favour the person dealing worse with the conditions

Also Zverev's flatter game was penetrating far more on the day.

He was hitting far more winners than Nadal -> 40 to 21 at the point of the "ankle"

It was one set to Nadal and a tie-break.

Zverev has already broken his hoodoo in the Alcaraz match when Alcaraz came back at him.

He didn't choke there at all when the pressure was on.

He was still playing confidently and hitting winners in the 2nd set even after losing the tie break that he should have won

even tho both players serve had gone off in 2nd set

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,605 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I would have made Rafa a slight favorite v Zverev, but had the injury not occurred, I think that match would have been very interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,605 ✭✭✭✭walshb

As for SW19 I think Rafa has a chance, but I wouldn’t be thinking he’s the favorite. As always, to beat him you need to be in very good form.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,406 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Whatever about who won between Zverev and Nadal, but a possible extra 3 hours on the semi final would have done some damage to the body. If Cilic had got past Ruud his serve might have given Nadal problems, and his experience of the big occasion, but I don't think he can do 7 matches any more. Coulda, woulda, shoulda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭squigglestrebor

Zverev was 4/1 before he fell. I thought you understood odds? It wasnt really very much in the balance.