Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

French Open 2022

that's the end of that.

not the way anyone wants to see it end

replay too horrible to show they say

Zverev was still in that match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

Was it bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,728 ✭✭✭✭walshb

He won’t be back

Kind of. Lucky he was falling onto the twist, as this would take some the impact out of it

yeah it was gross

**** sake, Henman…obviously obviously obviously!!!!!

If it's a sprained ankle he's fecked. That's a lousy way to go out, very disappointing for Zverev. In a way I'm happy he lost the tiebreaker because of it and not more what if's.

could easily be worse than just a sprained ankle tbh

looked worse than that

hopefully for him he won't be off the court too long

Wheeled off and comes back on with crutches..not better to be wheeled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Augme

What a god send for Nadal. While strongly likely to win not having to grind out an extra hour will be massive for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,704 ✭✭✭Xander10

Looked like a leg breaker at first sight.

Was surprised to see them haul him to his feet.

Pity to end that way. Feels like the Gods are with Rafa.

Mats mentioned it was near 3 hours and not into the third set. That surely could've been a new record in the current FO format. That finish is utterly deflating isn't it?

CILICGANG 😎

Would be so hyped if he made the final. Making the final in all 4 GS's would be a huge feather on his cap. I think the winner of the tournament is a foregone conclusion, but regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭sxt

Absolutely., It was an enthralling contest .Great too see respect between players and everyone.When you compare it to that jackass in the UFC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

This Ruud is a decent player, and seems to have an even temperament in matches I've watched him in. Which is all important, managing the head on court.

If he does prevail here, I think it'll be a better final for it.

Was it Nadal’s birthday today? Wikipedia has June 3, but never heard mention of it today. I always had July in my mind..

Great win for Ruud - impressive to see he could adapt to Cilic and not be bullied about. Took him apart in the end.

Never played Nadal, competitively anyway and apparently a student of his academy.

Nothing to lose in final, very focused and keeps trying. Could be a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,271 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Cowards on Eurosport "issues off the court" eh lads he is accused of domestic abuse , man up and talk about the elephant in the room ffs.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,807 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Didn't get to see any of today's action. Wow didn't know Nadal and Ruud had never played each other before. How many games will Ruud win in the final? 😬

Nadal will likely try to hit Ruud off the court early days and demoralise him.

But Ruud has shown already that he's made a stern stuff and doesn't throw the towel in. He seems very level headed and takes each point/ game on it's merits. He's also relatively young at 23, fit and with lots of stamina. He'll be no pushover.

Unless the hype does get to him, he is quite capable of taking a lot of games off Nadal.

I'm sure Nadal would have greatly preferred Cilic, that'd have been a walkover.

The styles are very similar but Ruud overall is like a less good version of Nadal (different forehand sides obviously)

Hard to see Ruud winning but since they have never played it's hard to know for sure

If Nadal can't hold his serve like yesterday could be an issue there for him!

Just as Zverev went off in agony in a wheelchair yesterday there was a bizarre exchange between Nadal and the umpire with Nadal casually holding up his shirt like a crop top with his belly out and asking "if I go for a piss now is it counting"!?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,807 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Incredibly difficult to pick against Swiatek here, particularly given how much of a beast she is in finals. She should win comfortably in straight sets, but wouldn't be surprised to see Swiatek being made to work for it. Above all else I hope we have a bit of a match and it's not a total blowout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,166 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Swiatek wins the final 6-1 6-3. I mean it’s just really impressive to watch.

Well, not much of a match obviously, but this is a good result for women's tennis. The #1 player in the world showing up, owning her ranking and dominating the field is what the WTA needs more than another random result.

Harsh drubbing for Gauff to be on the other side of but at 18 her career is still really only getting started. Unlikely this will be her last chance to win a grand slam either so I hope she's not too disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,271 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Genuinely not sure who beats her on Wimbledon if she plays like that.

Not the best match but won't do the tour any harm to have a dominant champion, she just needs consistent rivals now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭hamburgham

You’ve great hearing , I couldn’t make out what he said.

As an aside, I’m wondering if Nadal and his wife are having difficulty conceiving. Federer and Djokovic didn’t wait until they stopped playing before having kids and the Nadals have all that family support in Majorca. Nadal doesn’t celebrate as ecstatically after winning, as though tennis isn’t the be all and end all anymore.

was out in the end so didn't see it.

ranking backed up but also shows why there weren't evening sessions as can't expect the tv execs or ticket buyers to get behind a processionary 1 hour match

I didn't get it in real time lol

saw it somewhere later - that's the way that he put it.

tbh no idea what the private life of Nadal is... could be the case but he's unlikely to broadcast it

another issue for Ruud tomorrow will be his not-so-good backhand - Nadal will have no hesitation in hitting there all day

I think tennis is the be all and end all with Rafa. He’s insanely committed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Augme

Is there now a limit on the number of toilet breaks players can take during a match? So I assume Nadal was wondering if he went to the toilet if that would count, even though Zverev was the reason behind the break.