If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,265 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

How are people who are housing people/families getting on?

Ours have settled in well and thankfully we get on well. No problems or issues so far. Kids are liking the new school and fact they can speak English (not fluent, but ok) helps.

No real issues and the lady here got herself a job in local town. They're a house here in local village that's been offered to Ukraine people but been turned down and the family staying with us told us if nobody takes it they might ask to see if they could move in. We totally understand why as it would give them much more freedom.

Only been 4 weeks or so but so far so good. Bar few minor adjustments cant complain and we all have our space too which helps.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Well done ! We are still waiting to hear about anyone moving into our vacant house. We wait 2.5 months now since pledging it

How do things like meals work? Do you do one size fits all big meal or do they cook their own food at allocated times? How is grocery and other bills working out? You appear to have the space so doesn’t sound like privacy or time out space is an issue ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭dorothylives

From what I've seen in the media Clare can't cope with the numbers of Ukrainians being sent there. Lisdoonvarna was destroyed years ago when they turned a hotel into a DP centre, now there are hundreds and hundreds of Ukrainians too. There's no Lisdoonvarna festival this year because what accommodation there was is full of either refugees or asylum seekers. There are a huge number of Ukrainian kids in the very small schools there. The government essentially destroyed the area. That might sound very tough of me to say but it's true. The shortsightedness of turning a small rural town into one big refugee/asylum centre is awful.

I remember when the African asylum seekers arrived and locals were angry about it because there are only 2 hotels, owned by the same guy, and this group called Failte Isteach was calling people racists and lying that everyone in the area was very supportive. Turned out the people in and behind Failte Isteach didn't even live in the County. No rural transport for donkeys years now suddenly there's a new bus service, purely coincidental and nothing to do with numbers of Ukrainians put there. Yesterday we were told there's plans to give 1000K to Postmasters to encourage them to keep rural post offices open, again purely coincidental that the government suddenly did a U turn and nothing to do with Ukrainians needing to collect their Social Welfare payments. I suppose you could argue that it benefits elderly people in rural Ireland who now won't lose their place to collect their pensions and post some Christmas cards and they can get a bus into Ennis now too.

They weren't though. I think you know that they arrived here without either the Irish or Ukrainian governments being told first and TUSLA are extremely angry about what was done with those kids. Where are the parents? Who are these kids? Whose going to pay for their complex needs? Which parents of which Irish kids waiting years to access the same medical supports as these Ukrainian kids are going to get a letter rescheduling their kids appointments for even further down the line. Honestly, the way this whole situation has been handled is appalling. People, random strangers, picking up Ukrainians and bringing them to Ireland in busloads then leaving them for the taxpayer to fund is crazy. Coming here to seek refuge is one thing, transporting large numbers is another. I watched the news and saw the faces of a lot of Ukrainians being brought to Ireland who had no idea where they were or what was going on. They're the lucky ones. We might never know about the women and children who trusted the wrong people and are now in forced prostitution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Field east

Are these your opinions or have you talked to / interviewed those involved , including a good sample of the refugees, to come to your ‘findings’?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,958 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Lisdoonvarna was destroyed years ago when they turned a hotel into a DP centre

Mask just flew out the window there.

But could you define "destroyed"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,265 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Myself and herself usually do pre cook every Sunday anyway. Thursday and Friday be only other days we cook otherwise almost Saturdays we just do takeaway.

The mother is usually home before us to collect kids from school and by time we are home they have their stuff cooked. In that regard nothing gets in way.

Kids don't really eat sweets or anything like what I see Irish kids do.

Breakfast and dinner and that's all they have bar a sandwich for lunch.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

This is actually quite hilarious.

We've had pages and pages of "our infastructure is bad refugees will make it worse" and now "we're getting extra public transport and assistance for rural post offices and its all the refugees fault"

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Citywest hotel. Get fcuked Irish people.

image.png

Is that the same hotel that was commandeered for Covid purposes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Its all good for Tetrarch capital, the shareholders will be pleased

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Yes . The conference centre was used for vaccinations . The hotel rooms were used for those isolating who couldn’t isolate in their own homes or for homeless who needed to isolate

Have they treated you to any of their delicious soups and borscht yet?

"the Citywest Hotel, the largest in Ireland, with over 764 rooms,[1] was built adjacent. A 4,000 seat convention centre was also constructed. The hotel, golf resort and related developments were placed in receivership in mid-2010 but remained open.[7] There were two 18-hole courses in the golf resort - both designed by Christy O'Connor Jnr - and it hosted the Irish Masters in 1994 and the Irish Ladies Masters in 1996. Though described as disused in 2017, the resort hosted a golf club in 2019, the licence of which was terminated by notice in 2020, taking effect in March 2021.[8] In October 2020 the owners described both courses as not being financially viable.[9]

The hotel has been used for self-isolation and quarantine, and the conference centre as a vaccination centre, during the Covid-19 pandemic. "

(Just for those of us who didn't know anything about CityWest hotel)

2 year license? Interesting. Guess it'll be used for Asylum Seekers after the conflict and refugee situation declines in importance.

Still.. seems a rather expensive option to maintain essentially what was intended as a high end hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,734 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Who needs tourism anyways? Its only worth a few billion to us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭enricoh

Yeah sod it altogether, we'll just replace it with a refugee n asylum seeker industry instead! It has bigger growth potential than tourism if we're heading into a downturn anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

The same hotel that made millions while. Being closed to the general public (covid) now makes even more staying closed to the general public for the next 2 Years at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

So they are basically saying that there's no end to the amount of people that come here for the next 2 years.

What happened to 6 months, then 12 etc...

Why sign a contract for 2 years straight away when for all we know the war could end next month. Why not do it in 6 month increments. Surely if this ends earlier than expected the government will still have to share out 2 years worth of cash because the hotel would have them up in court otherwise.

If Russia stops bombing the place it doesn't mean every bombed town or city and every home, school and hospital will be rebuilt overnight.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

I see their chair is also chair of unicef Ireland who are busy at the moment looking for donations for Ukraine, round and round the money goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

They are here to stay, don't be so naive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,497 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

More then just Irish people…

Citywest is utilised by business and tourists

Their health and fitness facilities are used by locals… gym, pool, sauna, fitness classes ( no longer showing on their website ) So Irish people paying for this, Irish people missing out on services that they want / need…brilliant.

Ya she is a excellent cook and we always get anything left over from her..

To be honest they are very grateful for everything but at same time if they do decide move out I can't blame them. We only be 400 metres away from them anyway

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,497 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Cap in hand to ‘ rebuild Ukraine’ has already begun with numerous NGOs and charity organisations wanting donations with emotive advertising…

Some of these NGOs like UNICEF are actually actively wanting and campaigning for Irish people to open their homes and resources to Ukrainians while asking on the same page to donate to the rebuilding of the Ukraine.. errr

Do you think just because bombing stops that everyones home will be rebuilt overnight?

Terry Pratchet

Some of these NGOs like UNICEF are actually actively wanting and campaigning for Irish people to open their homes and resources to Ukrainians while asking on the same page to donate to the rebuilding of the Ukraine.. errr

I imagine you'll do neither, but your still upset. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,195 ✭✭✭eggy81

Fair play to ye. It sounds like it’s been a rewarding experience for both parties.

Weren't there a number of local businesses planning on suing the government for loss of business over this? I seem to remember them being very angry that they'd have no tourist business for 2 years because of this. Seems a high price to pay, however many hundreds of thousands, possibly several million to City West hotel and sacrifice multiple businesses and jobs as a knock on effect. Again, most of us have no issue with helping some Ukrainian refugees but this is madness. But hey, they cook lovely food, so maybe there might be some new Ukrainian takeout food places opening where the ones forced out of business are.