Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brawl breaks out at Dublin Airport

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Summer2020

Explaining facts does not = Sweeping under the carpet. DAA airport police are responsible for policing the airport's terminals and wouldn't have gardai within them as a matter of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Very bad response time. Indefensible really. Justice minister and Garda Commissioner out gaslighting the general public today.

Where were the guards coming from Coolock somewhere??

At the minimum, there should be full time armed response unit at the airport trained to deal with all kinds of incidents. Law and Order is in a slow decline and there is a myriad of reasons for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

Reports of guns/explosives successfully getting through airside, reports of laptops going missing from luggage during security, reports of airport staff assaulting passengers, reports of passengers snaking around in queues for over an hour, reports of toilets overflowing and stinking, and now reports of minorities attempting murder airside in the terminal freely for minutes on end without a whiff of security or police intervention

I'm sure the DAA, Gardai and the Government will reassure the population they are doing a great job with Dublin Airport as the main gateway to our country and that they are totally prepared for a terrorist attack

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭GalwayMan74

they should of let them beat each other to death.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Get Real

Agree. Not blaming individual lads and lassies that work at it.

But if your role is to police the airport, and you're called airport police. And you have handcuffs, powers of arrest and the DAA website says your role is to make arrests, detect crime within the airport grounds and terminals....

Have it one or the other. Either have the Gardaí there 24/7 and disband the airport police, or keep the airport police.

But then when something like this happens, don't go quiet and let it become a garda issue. Of course, they responded and should too, and made an arrest.

But I'm a bit confused as to why the DAA/Airport police aren't being asked questions and the guards are.

Not that there's much to answer tbh, alot can happen in 3 mins. I get that if there was an airport police patrol there, it probably wouldn't have happened, it simply would've erupted on the next floor up or in a separate part of the building, again 3 or 4 mins away.

Crucially, we don't know the background. I've seen guards arrest someone at my business, then during chats you'd find they interviewed him etc. Not 60 seconds later you could have some scumbag committing a crime, but the guards have left with Mr Interview seconds prior. Not their fault. Scumbags the one to blame.

Anyway, either have an airport police or don't imo. Not some token lads who are in the airport police but everything shifts to the guards. Give them power if necessary or get rid. Not this grey accountability.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,456 ✭✭✭touts

Any sign of the likes of John Connors or Pavee point today? No?? Surprise surprise.

The radio stations should tell them they won't be allowed on next time they want to spread their anti-settled community propaganda if they don't come on to answer serious questions about this incident.

Post edited by touts on

• Registered Users Posts: 7,565 ✭✭✭Floppybits

In fairness they probably haven't been asked to go in shows to discuss and knowing our media they wouldn't be asked anything about. Also in the reports I haven't heard that these people were part of the traveller community.

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭macvin

Here's another fact - they had been causing problems earlier.

Airport police and gardai should have been alert for further trouble.

But the alcohol consumed by some people in Dublin airport is off the charts and it causes far too much aggravation on flights every day of the year. The number of bars in the airport must be one of the highest in the world

• Registered Users Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

What is most embarassing is that I honestly can't think of another airport in Europe where I could even imagine this happening for more than 10 seconds before the lads find themselves carried out hogtied with a taser jammed up their hole (and that's the gentle scenerio).

Could you imagine how quickly and definitively the Guardia Civil would have dealt with this? But no, here we have the airport "police" shrugging their shoulders and vaguely directing any questions towards the Gardai, who are in turn shrugging their shoulders.

Between this and other recent carry on in the airport (theft of belongings, assault of passengers by staff, a test gun getting through security) along with countless antisocial behavior incidents on the DART, Luas, bus and rail system is it not perfectly clear that not having a dedicated, specifically trained Transport Police with clear mandate and teeth to do the job just isn't good enough at this stage?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,285 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

you believe having 4 bars and a whiskey bar spilt between 2 terminals makes it one of the highest in the world?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭downtheroad

Lifetime ban from any Irish airport for the offenders, passports flagged to be refused entry ever again, and publicise the punishment so that this type of nonsense doesn't happen again.

And if any clown from Pavee Point moans about their rights tell them 99.9% of citizens have the right to travel through our airports without being subjected to this behaviour.

There is no punishment in this country. Look at your one Catriona Carey, caught driving twice with no valid licence and gets a suspended sentence. Our courts basically tell people there is no repercussions for any illegal behaviour in this country.

The Guardia civil are out on the street battering 7 shades of shite out of anyone who doesn't adhere or comply with their direction and they are well protected in doing so. I could only imagine the response if it happened in Madrid. Probably an airport lockdown and media blackout territory. Albeit, Spain doesn't have such feral ethnic countrymen.

The Guards are far too nicey nicey for the most part.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭Wheety

As you say, the Guardia Civil are protected. The Garda would be disciplined if they're even a little bit heavy handed.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

What the hell is any tourist going to think coming into the country and seeing that carry on?

“Doris I’m not sure if we’re in Ireland, or still in Las Vegas!”

Tourists expect that sort of carry on in Ireland, they have the Internet in other countries too y’know! 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 34,281 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Yes and they were nowhere to be seen. Presumably way too busy hassling drivers picking up relatives in the drop-off area.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Summer2020

I can imagine the outcry now if guards had gotten there in time and started battoning the offenders.

There'd be calls for suspensions and sacking of the guards in question from the media.The commissioner and minister for justice would refuse to publicly back the guards in question for fear of offending minorities.

Pathetic country we live in in many regards.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,025 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I hope the airline that these thugs were due to fly on was notified and they were refused entry

• Registered Users Posts: 34,281 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

You might enlighten me how someone being held to the ground and getting their head stamped on is not an issue of public safety?

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Are the Gardai still refusing to go back to their pre COVID shift pattern? A shift pattern which suits them but takes no account of crime ‘peak times’.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Don't pay your TV licence and you'll know all about legal reprocutions of course

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

My experience of Airport Police back in the day was they were fat and useless

• Registered Users Posts: 34,066 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I reckon some people here would actually defend their rights to get on the plane..sure it be grand. Once not on their flight though

• Registered Users Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭Hooked

I'm not even arsed at being outraged - what's the point? I'm just embarrassed to call this sh^th0le home.

Cops and security too terrified to show up. "People" in question won't see any sort of jail or punishment. Shur, it's their culture...

The circle of life continues...

I don't believe that to be the case. Dublin Airport Police are a very specialised force who deal with byelaws relevant to the airport and are also trained in firefighting / public safety and first responding.

your belief is wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,025 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Yep....

The more I read and think and observe and experience, the more sickening it is that I feel as regards this country and its response and attitude to scumbag behaviors.

I bet you those thugs went about their business completely unchallenged, free to do as they please, and if they feel like it, cause more trouble.

Edit: reports say some people refused permission to travel....so at least something happening

• Registered Users Posts: 16,497 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

If there was a bomb scare at the terminal, the airport police would be on the scene in a couple of minutes. This incident went on for 10 to 15 minutes. Where were they?

Not surprised in the least to see who was involved. And that romper stomper should be charged with attempted murder. Absolute dirt! All those involved should be banned from flying for life. Though one of the first comments says they usually travel by ferry. So maybe they should have their passports destroyed.

The sad thing is this is true. If you're a low to middle income earner who has fallen on hard times having previously never been in trouble of the law expect the book and the bookshelf to be thrown at you to take you down a peg of society and an easy prosecution.

The repeat trouble making dregs with a made up sob story make the money for the legal system, not poor auld first and likely last offender Billy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Why, then, have they opened a new airport Garda station? According to one news report:

The station's responsibilities include policing the airport, state security, emergency response to critical incidents and escort of State movements of VIP’s and valuable cargo

The airport police are responsible for policing inside the airport and they have the required powers to do so. they say as much on their website. A couple of lads having a punch up is well within their remit.

About the Airport Police Service 

The Airport Police Service (APS) is responsible for general policing and aviation security duties at the State airports in Dublin and Cork. We are also tasked with the safety of the State airports and the protection of civil aviation from unlawful acts of interference.

Our duties also include responding to emergency situations, traffic management and dealing with the preservation of good order to ensure all users of State airports can enjoy a safe environment while working or travelling through the airports. The Airport Police are "Authorised Officers" under the Airports and Aviation Acts 1936 to 2014 and as such have full policing powers within the State airports. Traffic management within the airport is the responsibility of the Airport Police. The methods of enforcement used for parking or traffic offences are clamping, towing and Fixed Payment Notices. Any vehicle parked in contravention of the Airport Bye-Laws may be subject to any of these methods of enforcement. To view the Airport bye laws click here. For general Airport Police enquiries please call: + 353 1 9444300. In case of emergency please call +353 1 9444666.

Saw this thread linked to on reddit earlier, seems the whole group were booted out of the airport afterwards and didn't fly.